We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacon Rojo

Tacon Rojo
Calle Ataulfo, 18, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
931861397
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Tacon Rojo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 5,908 restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Tucked away in the Gothic Quarter, not too far from La Rambla, seek out this place, the food was amazing! Very friendly service, great atmosphere in a small intimate setting, a must for those who like their tapas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    97
    25
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth the hunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's a bit tricky to get here and Google maps will mislead you to several different places. But it's worth the hunt. The food and the cocktails were excellent, and the service was very accommodating and friendly. Highlights included a drink made with Pisca(?) that tasted like a French 75 with a twist, some kind of regional variant of mozzarella that was creamier and tastier, and tangine that melted in your mouth. Also, don't hesitate to try the cured cow -- sounds odd but it's almost as wonderful as jamon iberico or serrano. And don't skip out on dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Last night in Barcellona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Terrific spot - but easy to miss. Forget about ordering your food - let Luis do it for you. Very accomodating - like family. I wholeheatedly would say - on a night you are looking to escape las rombas - head to Tacon Rojo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“personal service, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved everything about Tacon Rojo and can highly recommend this small cosy boutique style restaurant, with delicious well-presented tapas, great cocktails, mouth-watering deserts and friendly atmosphere. we were made feel very welcome thanks to the wonderful hospitality of the owners. taking this opportunity we would like to thank you all for a truly amazing experience. We will definitely be back one day, hopefully very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas in the Old Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to Tacon Rojo based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed! Somewhat off the beaten track, a short walk from the Rambla. Surprisingly under-discovered, we had a intimate and delicious meal. The tapas was excellent. The Burrata was of the highest quality and comparable to any we have had in New York plus the Baronques were to die for. We strongly recommend for a fun and delicious meal - well worth finding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacon Rojo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tacon Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacon Rojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.