We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tapas in the Old Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacon Rojo

Tacon Rojo
Calle Ataulfo, 18, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))
931861397
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Tacon Rojo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #257 of 6,673 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas in the Old Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to Tacon Rojo based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed! Somewhat off the beaten track, a short walk from the Rambla. Surprisingly under-discovered, we had a intimate and delicious meal. The tapas was excellent. The Burrata was of the highest quality and comparable to any we have had in New York plus the Baronques were to die for. We strongly recommend for a fun and delicious meal - well worth finding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    50
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Superb tapas bar in the Gothic Quarter. Small but very cozy. Fantastic food, cooked from fresh ingredients with care.
The owner - a great guy from Argentina.
Do not miss out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food & Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are planning to go to Barcelona i really recommend you all to go to Tacon Rojo. It's a small but very nice restaurant / cocktail-bar located between the beach and the La Rambla. The cook Paulo serves you fine tasting and well presented tapas and Louise serves you the greatest cocktails you'll find in Spain. He's a very good hosted and you'll feel your selfs immediately at home! Thanks for your hospitality Monique and i felt like your friends instead of paining customers !:) Thanks for the generous cocktails and the great laughs see for 100% when were back in Barcelona!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
“Best wine bar in BCN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I went to this small, cosy wine bar on my first night in Barcelona and became regular for the remainder of my mine and my wife's trip. Huge range of quality wines, superb cocktails and scrumptious tapas! We were made very welcome by the hospitable and friendly Argentinian barman Louis. The bar has a lovely chilled atmosphere during the week becomes lively (good lively) on Fridays and Saturdays. I can't recommend this bar enough!

Jack

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been here several times now and everytime the food is of a very high quality, as are the wines
Service is very good too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacon Rojo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tacon Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacon Rojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.