We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Negro Carbon

Negro Carbon
Pla del Palau 16, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
931 768 934
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,123 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food was excellent and cooked to perfection. It was good value for the quality of food (I think it came to about 60€ in total for one starter, two main meals, two large red wines and a couple of beers). It's a spacious restaurant and the waiters were very friendly. Seemed like a good place for big groups too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    62
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Restaurant ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst restaurant I have ever been to. Where do I start?:

1) They forgot our starters and served us the main course. When asking where the starters were they couldn't say.

2) They cooked all our steaks wrong... I asked for medium rare amd got well done. In fact most of us asked for medium rare, and we all, but one, got well done.

3) The worst part was the way the waitress spoke to is... she was very rude, sarcastic and mo manners. Ended up having an arguement with the manager and all she could say was, "forget about it... i'm sorry". Really?!?!

Overall worst experience and food I have had in any restaurant in the world... avoid at all costs!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
türkiye
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“3.50€ mojito before 22.00”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was a lovely place on the corner. We decided to give a try to mojitos which was 3.50€ before 22.00 and it was the best mojito in Barcelona. If i come back, i will try meat also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food (<15€)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurante to have a good lunch.
Food is good and seams like home made healthy food.
The salads and the "empanadas" are very good!
Try also the "patatas bravas"!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stumbled across this unassuming little venue on our stroll back from a fish restaurant on the harbour, and liked the look of the place enough to return the following evening.

I'm so glad we did. Guided to a table at the relatively Barcelona-early hour of 9.30pm for dinner on a Monday night, we were pampered from start to finish.

Choosing a selection of tapas to share as a starter, my partner and I enjoyed a plate of onion rings, tomato bread and a pork cheek roulade with russian salad. Our appetites only heightened by this good food, we chose, after a small while, to plough onto main courses.

Argentinian veal and beef rib have never been so good. What this restaurant does, is meat. And it does it very well. I thoroughly enjoyed every morsel of it.

Two of us, dining our fill for less than sixty euros - superb value. Be sure to visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negro Carbon also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Negro Carbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negro Carbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.