We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very trendy boutique hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Barcelona to your Saves list
Generator Barcelona
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Carrer de Corsega 373-377 | between Gracia and Eixample districts, 08307 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Get 25% off or more!
Ranked #83 of 705 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very trendy boutique hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The place is very well made, it is definitely on the luxury side for a hostel, it even has multiple hotel rooms including shampoo and towels like most hotels. The place looks incredible its like you are in a piece of very modern art, there are so many amenities like a foosball table, tv room, huge bar, cafe and more. If you are traveling with friends it is a great place to go. If you are traveling alone it will be difficult to meet people as it is too big and too nice. Most people there are not traveling alone, you will be a minority.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Barcelona, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for having your time to share your experience after staying in Generator Barcelona.

It is really great to see your comments, because you help a lot to new guest to understand what we offer, including services and facilites. Your description is a good summary about us.

We hope to see you again in Barcelona

Regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    112
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
17
41
70
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miyagi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

As many people said, this hostel has a convenient location, comfortable beds, functionally-designed rooms, clean sheets, a cheerful lounge and an energetic bar.
Moreover, all staff members were very kind, pacient and understanding.
Especially, one of the staff, Bea was very helpful. In fact, when my wallet was pickpocketed in the town, I told her and she advised me what to do and calmed me down warmheartedly.
I really appreciate her, without her help I couldn't have managed it.
Definitely, I'll stay here again when I have a chance to visit Barcelona.
Again, thanks a lot Bea.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Barcelona, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in Generator Barcelona.

All the comments about the location and services are very helpful for new guests.

I have already shared with the team, especially to Bea, your positive opinion about the staff. they are very happy to read them.

Thanks for your time and we hope to see soon in Barcelona

Regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed in a 6 mixed dorm room, when I arrived the employees were very helpful and nice, everything is accessed with your key, so it's safe. The hostel has parties and music every night which is nice and the decoration is awesome.
On the other side, breakfast is horrible, if it's not included in your reservation you have to pay 4€ for a terrible breakfast, so better go elsewhere. The bar/restaurant is super expensive, paid 3€ for a regular beer and the food is not good.
Location is very good and well connected.
Overall it was a good experience except for the bar/restaurant and breakfast.

Room Tip: I guess it's luck, I stayed in the 1st floor and it was fine, depends on your roommates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneratorBarcelona, Manager at Generator Barcelona, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in our hostel.

I have already shared with the team the positive comments about them, it is really great to heard it.

Apologize if you didn't like the food, I have already reviewed them with the area manager in order to offer a better products offer, because for us is very important this service.

Thanks for your time and I hope next time you come, you will enjoy the activities and the food too.

regards from Barcelona

Enrique Portales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I wouldn't call myself a typical hostel-goer. I can definitely afford a nicer hotel, but usually choose to stay at a simpler and more reasonably priced hotel so I can spend more money on dining and other activities. A friend recommended Generator to me because it is a new concept of an upscale hostel, combining the best of a boutique design hotel and a youth hostel. Generator had a more traditional hostel section of the building, and another area with private rooms, which I elected. My room was well designed, spotless and had a comfortable bed. The social areas of the hostel were great and the location in the city was unbeatable.

Room Tip: Private rooms are very nice, look like a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Bright colours and cleanliness. This hostel would have to be my favourite in all of Europe! I was in a 6 bed dorm and it was perfect, a little more room would of been nice. Facilities were new and easily worked. Food good and staff friendly! overall just amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Trendy hostel and hotel in Barcelona, the Generator is a great place to stay. I had the chance to stay with them in Denmark and loved the experienced. Barcelona was no different. We stayed in an en-suite room and even though the room was small, the huge window and beautiful view really made up for it.

Decoration is really trendy and the whole place has a nice vibe to it. As the Generator in Denmark, this one was very clean and people were attentive. Great localization, close enough to everything, but immersed in a true Barcelona neighborhood.

If you ever come to the city, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Barcelona, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guests,

Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in Generator Barcelona. it is good to know that you have enjoy in two Generators, incluiding Copenhagen.

I appreciate your opinion about the style and location, we have tried from the beginning to show a little bit of Barcelona within the building, the desing team did a great job and we realise thanks to comments like yours.

thanks for your time and we hope to see you soon in any of Generator Hostels.

Regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Generator Barcelona was a great place to stay overall, though it was a bit of a metro ride from the beach, montjuc and the barri gothic.
We stayed in an 8 person dorm, which was a little small on walking space between the beds, but had lots of storage, good lockers, two sinks and separate bathroom and shower facilities. We never had to wait for a shower, as there is a very clean extra shower room as well. There's lots of space to hang out in common areas as well, so the size of the room wasn't too much of a problem either.
Best of all, the beds were very comfortable, had their own light and outlet, and the sheets were changed every day.
The hostel also had lots of events and two eating areas as well as a breakfast cafeteria with cheap food and drinks, and was open later than many neighbouring establishments.
A little disappointing was the lack of kitchen, but the food sold there was reasonably priced, as long as you're expecting to buy most meals out.
The location was nice, just up from ave diagonal, which was a fancy shopping area, so it felt safe, even late at night. It's walking distance from the sagrada familiar and parc guell, however we found we took the metro a good deal, and bought the 10 trip metro pass for our four night stay.
Overall, the stay was lovely, the staff, rooms and restaurant were great, but you might want to look at where you want to go in Barcelona before committing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Barcelona, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Asha,

Thanks for your time, it is great to read your comments that I have already shared with the team.
I am very please that you liked the room facilities, also the activities we organised achieve the goal when guests like you join them.
I am sorry about the lack of kitchen, we offer a fridge and a microwave for guests use and at the same time the bar menu is focus in offering a big variety in prices and products.
Thanks againg for your comments and we hope to see you again in Generator Barcelona

Regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Barcelona

Address: Carrer de Corsega 373-377 | between Gracia and Eixample districts, 08307 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 705 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Barcelona 1*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Generator Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.