We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food disappointing--wouldn't serve at my house!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ziryab Fusion Wine and Tapas Bar

Ziryab Fusion Wine and Tapas Bar
Carrer de Grunyi 4, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)
+34936673786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 6,679 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: The Ziryab Lounge is a cocktail and Shisha Bar, where you can try some delicious cocktails - both classics and our own special blends... And lay back and enjoy the relaxation. There are some small snacks such as olives, cheese bites, flavoured dips with pitta or quality cheese and ham platters. You can try a fruit-flavoured water pipe, the hubby bubbly or Shisha - with the available flavours of apple, mint, grape, banana, melon, strawberry... And lots more flavours. You can also try it with a shot of anis in the water or slices of lemon to make it more refreshing, and countless other options and combinations to make yours a fun experience. Ziryab is a great place to go before going out to dinner, or perhaps after your meal! It's open late, has great music and a great vibe, is perfect for couples on a romantic date or for groups, and don't forget to check out the sister restaurant, Ziryab Tapas and Wines on Carrer dels Ases No 16, just a 4 minute walk away!
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Food disappointing--wouldn't serve at my house!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were going to a performance at the Catalan Palace of Music in the old city and Ziryab was nearby. And we were looking for vegan food. Wonderful server and candles added a nice ambiance to this small intimate place. Babaganoush was quite good and hummus was fine. But I wouldn't serve the roasted vegetables or spinach salad to MY guests at home. Based on TA reviews I was hoping for much better. I don't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    95
    34
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Authentic restaurant with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The restaurant is located in the old cozy part of Barcelona which the ambiance of the restaurant reflects and mixes with Arabic influences. By the time we got there it was already dark and the entrance was lit up by a couple of burning torches. The food was very good and provided a wonderful break from regular the patatas bravas and meatballs with tomato sauce. The service was great and the staff very accommodating. The back of the restaurant and tables in from of it also provided a great opportunity to smoke some shisha after a long day of walking about the city and shopping. Wish we had stayed in Barcelona a couple more days so we could've gone back to Ziryab.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Really nice!! Service great, food great and person playing guitar in the corner, great!!Nothing more to say but I have to add at least a 100 characters for trip advisor! Great!



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great little place:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were 8 people hungry for tapas and a "cosy" night.

Ziryab is a very small and intimate restaurant, hidden in a small street. Food was very good. We ordered the chefs selection of Tapas, and everything was good. When it was over we wanted a little more, so maybe there could have been a little more food. Good red and white wine at good prices, and a great Mojito and Gin Tonic:)

Service was a little slow, but that is also kind of the DNA of the place. Easy going, personal and friendly.

All inn all a great place and a great night with friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Owner at Ziryab Fusion Wine and Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi there, thanks for this comment, it's useful. I know sometimes the service can be slow - i think it's the layout of the place that makes it a bit tricky - winding narrow staircases :) we've really been trying to work on it, and we will continue doing so to try and improve this!! Surprise platter needs a bit more food on it? Interesting comment. It's hard to get the balance right as many people don't finish it. Ill see what we do about this and try and assess it better....
Really happy that you enjoyed overall and that you took some time to give feedback - much appreciated!
Ziryab team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Traditional and exotic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have just eaten in the Ziryab Tapas Bar and it was a fantastic experience which combined some traditional tapas with an oriental twist. The staff were courteous, friendly and added to the ambience and aesthetics of this small and personable bar. A definite must if you are ever in Barcelona.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Owner at Ziryab Fusion Wine and Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi there JP,

Thanks for leaving this wonderful comment. I like that your describe Ziryab as personable and that the service was good. In Barcelona I've always found service a bit hit and miss, which is why we try and work on that a lot at Ziryab, hiring the right kind of people and working hard on training and on friendly service methods...

Really glad you had a nice time, come and visit us again soon!

The team @ Ziryab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziryab Fusion Wine and Tapas Bar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Ziryab Fusion Wine and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziryab Fusion Wine and Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.