We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, spacious apt, but VERY noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fuster Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fuster Apartments to your Saves list
Fuster Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Valencia, 358, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice, spacious apt, but VERY noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fuster apartments very much suited our needs. The apartment was VERY large and spacious, very high ceilings and modernly furnished. The location is perfect for Barcelona, the Exiample district is close to the tourist sights, but not so close that you cant escape - perfect for seeing how the locals live. The main issues we experienced was noise from the street. Our apartment was on the second floor and the master bedroom room overlooking the front street was EXTREMELY noisy... Needless to say it sounded as if cars were whizzing by you and conversations on the street could be heard until the wee hours of the morning (I'm usually a very deep sleeper and barely slept a wink). Also generally felt the apartment was a bit dirty (particularly the floors) - cleanliness could very much be improved.

Overall perfect for a family, just be aware of the constant street noise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked this apartment on line as the end point of a 12 day Carnival cruise of the Mediterranean with 4 days to spend in Barcelona before flying back to the Westcoast of Canada. We were two couples and the apartment met our needs very well for our stay in Barcelona. Situated on Valencia in the Eixample area the apartment is close to a number of tourist sites, Sagrada Familia, Placa de Catalonya, Passeig de Gracia, and if you like to walk the city there is more nearby. La Ramblas is a bit of a walk but manageable. We liked the ambiance of Fuster with its large European solid core wood door and stone polished entryway to a small lobby. The lobby has a very high opening reaching up to the top (about 4 stories) of the building and natural lighting through a skylight. A small, tiny elevator available to help transport luggage to any floor was quaint and appreciated. Each floor has an open window in the hallway that allows you to peer down into the lobby and each apartment has a separate entry with a three stage tumbler to the deadlock on the door. Our apartment faced Valencia street and had a small step-on balcony to watch happenings below or simply people watch. The floor plan of the apartment consisted of a hardwood hallway to a living/dining area with colorful stone mosaic floor tiles that carried through to the two bedrooms, kitchen and part of the hall entry. The kitchen was well equipped throughout with: coffee machine, a unique kettle that boiled water instantly, cutlery, dishes, cups glasses, wine glasses, dishwasher, stove, fridge and a washing machine, attractive stone counters, cutting board, pots and pans for cooking. In fact there was pretty much everything one would need for preparing and making meals. The high ceilings gave a spacious feel to the apartment interior and the decor added to the ambiance. The bathrooms were tastefully finished, on the small side, one was across the hall from an interior bedroom and the other was like an en suite to the larger bedroom facing the street. Both had European styled facets, one overhead rain shower and one on a sliding adjustable bar. Each bathroom had a step up to the toilet and the shower area while the sink was at ground level. A digital TV with reception to local channels, a few in English, was in living area, an MP3 with IPod connector and speakers and a blu ray DVD player were also available in living area. Free WiFi on each floor was very reliable and we used it for VOIP phone calls home as well as email etc. We found the staff and owner very helpful and came quickly to resolve any problems we encountered in the suite. The owner indicated that some apartments were being remodeled and apologized for any noise that might disturb us but we really didn't hear a lot of noise. Upon our arrival the electric company had been doing upgrades in the area and the power to the building was shut down for about 3 hours when we first arrived. The owner was highly apologetic and a bit frustrated that his building was affected - clearly it was a situation beyond his control and the power did come on sooner than expected. The only caveat about Fuster was the level of street noise at night that interrupted our sleep in the bedroom facing the street, the other bedroom away from the street was very quiet. We now understand that this is quite common for accommodations that face onto a street - next time we would ask for an apartment higher up than the 1st floor or an interior apartment. The 200 Euro damage deposit was waived for us, perhaps because of the problems with electrical power. There is an excellent shopping market nearby Fuster - turn left as you exit Fuster's front entry and walk down two to three blocks and you will see a market facing onto Valencia and inside there are several fresh produce stalls and fresh seafood, meats, cheese etc. If you go to the very rear of this market you will see on the right as you exit the market another shopping store that sells all kinds of groceries and has an escalator that leads down to another floor of groceries. You can buy wine, beer, pop, water at very reasonable prices there and most everything else you might need for cooking in the apartment kitchen. On departure, we took a taxi from Fuster to Placa De Catalunya which cost us about 6 Euros total and then bought a ticket from the Kiosk for the Aerobus shuttle to the airport for 5.90 Euros each. Much cheaper than taking taxi from the city to the airport. The walk to Placa de Catalunya from Fuster is about 20 minutes so you could walk it if weather permits. We would stay at Fuster Apartments again if visiting Barcelona.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up or on the interior likely quieter and avoid nightlife noise on the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the upper midwest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Fuster Apartments. Our apartment was well furnished with a good kitchen, two bedrooms, two balconies and bathrooms, and a nice living/dining room. The front bedroom opened to Valencia which is a bit noisy, but that's what you get with a central location.
The only criticism I have is the 200Euro damage deposit was required in cash; not the best option when we were leaving the Eurozone the day we left. The booking site said 200Euro deposit, but they did not specify cash.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here from December 29th to January 4th, the apartments are as shown in the pictures from the other websites, really modern and comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen and WI FI all over the house.
The only problem was the fact that the apartment wasn't cleaned thoroughly when we arrived, it could've been cleaned better, but i'm sure that the owner will improve that as soon as he hears of it
All in all, great place to stay while in Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fuster Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuster Apartments

Address: Valencia, 358, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fuster Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fuster Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuster Apartments Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuster Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.