We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Barcelona just to stay at Mercer Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercer Hotel Barcelona to your Saves list
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Norcross, Georgia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go to Barcelona just to stay at Mercer Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Truly a perfect stay! Upon arrival we were greeted by the excellent staff at the Mercer Hotel. The service began even before we stepped inside the hotel. Our sightseeing was planned within minutes and we were escorted to the beautiful deluxe and junior suite rooms we booked for our stay. We were amazed by the stylish design of the hotel and the rooms were both so luxurious. Part of the hotel is built into the side of an ancient roman tower which makes it so unique and is so fitting for the beautiful Gothic Quarter. The furnishings and linens were more than five star and the roof top pool made us want to just stay at the hotel and forget the sightseeing! No questions asked...just stay at the Mercer Hotel..you will thank me. Is there a rating better than excellent??

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Maneger of the hotel, I am proud to know that your stay with us was brilliant. For all of us, the most important is provide our guests with a memorable stay and I am glad to know that succeeded with you.

Thank you again! and I hope to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    58
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
326
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We had two nights here at this beautiful hotel following our cruise. We did have a bit of trouble with the taxi to the hotel as the driver was not familiar with it & spoke no english at all. He did find it & then was kind enough to not charge the usual amount for our bags.
Check-in was great with the glass of prosecco in the garden & the paperwork brought out to us there to sign etc.
The moment we entered our room ( deluxe 203) we loved it - everything has been well planned & no detail left out: amazing furniture, bed, toiletries, robes, slippers in little cotton bags etc etc. We loved the design of the room with the vanity/basin in the room - great shower & toilet completely separate. We realise some others have commented on this style of bathroom & have not liked it but we loved it. Of course you would not choose this type of room if you were not travelling with your spouse!
Service was amazing as everyone has previously stated - charming & friendly.
We found the location great as we could walk around this gorgeous old part & also walk to the beach etc.
The terrace on the roof was very nice & we had a drink up there which was good, however the night we arrived we were very tired & decided to have something to eat there instead of going out - it was then we discovered that the prices were a bit steep - 22euros each for bread with a small amount of roast beef & a handful of potato crisps - I am gluten intolerant & so could only eat the couple of slices of meat & the chips - we live & learn! We also found that the breakfast was very expensive - 35euros . I had seen on the website that you could order separate dishes( not on there any more) - so we were able to have a delicious omelette for 10euros - all in the beautiful courtyard garden with roman wall & arch & lovely flowers.
We also had free bottled water & soft drinks in our room - we did however miss our cup of tea in our room as there are no provisions for this - that would have just added to the perfection of this hotel.Overall we really loved our stay & would return should we ever come back to Barcelona.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Madam,

I want to personally thank you for your excellent review of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Maneger of the hotel, I want to tell you that the feedback of our guests is very important for me, is the only way that I know to improve. After that, now I can tell you that last week we had a meeting with all the Breakfast Staff to communicate all the last comments and I believe that we find the solution.

Thank you again!

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great location in the Gothic Quarter... it is a charming area, and walking distance from several attractions. (Note: it's a bit difficult to find the first time and your cab driver may drop you off a bit further from the hotel - but follow the map that the hotel will send you and the cab can drop you right outside the front door). The hotel is a built in a beautiful historic building and they have merged the old and new very well.
My only disappointment was the size of the rooms. We had booked a "superior room"... it was TINY. The bathroom was not a separate room... instead the basin was part of the bedroom. There was an enclosed WC area, and the shower area had a glass partition. Not what I had in mind, for the kind of money we shelled out. It is definitely not the kind of room for sharing with anyone except your significant other.
That said, the service was fantastic. The staff was warm and friendly... always greeting us with a smile, eager to help us with any requests, etc. The concierge even managed to get us a table at Tickets, which is usually booked-out months in advance.
So overall, our 3-day stay was enjoyable. Not sure I would pick this hotel again, if we were staying for a longer duration though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for share with us your comments about our hotel.

As the General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I take note of your comment about the size of your room and I apologize for the inconvenience that has been able to cause but I want to tell you that the room is not small, the smallest superior room have 28m²/301.39ft² and we have only one, the others superior rooms continues with 32m²/344.45ft² and 35m²/376.74ft², sizes that in others hotels in Europe could be junior suites.

After that, I take note about the excellents comments from our staff members and I assure you that they will be comunicated to all the staff.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

What a great hotel.
Amongst the narrow streets of the old part of Barca, it's in easy walking distance of many of the key sights and close enough to a metro to get you to all the others!
The staff are lovely - friendly, welcoming and happy to help. Room was fabulous - spacious, clean and quiet. Great cocktails in the bar or on the roof, very friendly service in their Tapas restaurant next door. And even a bottle of bubbly on my wife's birthday.
Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your excellent comments about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, they encourage us to improve.

As the General Manager of the hotel, I am proud to hear that you would stay again with us without a doubt. Many thanks!

I hope to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just got back from our short break from Barcelona, stayed at Mercer Hotel for 3 nights. This is the best 5 * hotel we ever stayed. It's so beautiful, a historic building with a modern touch. Location of the hotel is walking distance to all major attractions. The services in all areas are excellent, we booked the Switched Off Barcelona and Gourmet experience packages, it was well organised and we enjoyed every single minute of it! All staff are very cheerful, helpful and professional. Our room is clean, big and quite, come with a private terrace. Truly 5* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all I want to tell you that as the General Manager of the hotel I feel very flattered when I read reviews like yours. Thank you so much!

After that, I want to tell it that we appreciate a lot all the comments of our guests because they encourage us to improve. Many thank again!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Fantastic hotel in great location right in the heart of the Gothic Quarter. Difficult to find first time but after that its secluded location is a winner. The renovation of a historic building shell to modern hotel is tastefully done. Was upgraded free of charge to a junior suite which was the icing on the cake. Roof top terrace and small pool much appreciated after a hot day of walking. Main restaurant is genuine Michelin star but only complaint is that the restaurant is spartan and lacks atmosphere. Impeccable service and great wine list. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

I want to personally thank you for choosing the Mercer Hotel Barcelona for your 50th birthday celebration.

As the General Manager of the hotel, I am glad to know that your stay with us was excellent. For me and for all the Mercer's Staff is very important that our guests receive the best hospitality services possible this is the reason why I take note about your comments about the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Thank you so much and I hope to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel's architecture, location, design, and decor are stunning but it is the service that sets it apart. Everyone you meet will go above and beyond to make your stay perfect from giving you a full history on the property to telling you where to go in town to keeping your complimentary minibar stocked. This was our honeymoon so we splurged when staying here as it isnt cheap but we still hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your excellent review about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As the General Manager of the hotel, I am proud to know that your stay with us was brilliant and our service stunning. Many thanks!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon,

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona’s Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledò, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercer Hotel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.