We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, less expensive than I would expect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musik Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Musik Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Musik Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Sant Pere Mes Baix, 62, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 303 Barcelona B&B and Inns
1 review
“Modern, less expensive than I would expect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was unexpectedly more modern than I thought. It's as if its been recently remodeled or something, very nice. The room I stayed in had plenty of light switches to create an ambient mood if you so please. Additionally, upon check-in you will receive a small 1/8" cable so that you can hookup your phone or laptop to the speakers in the room and listen to your favorite music. There were recessed speakers on the bedroom and bathroom ceilings. Hotel staff was extremely helpful and frankly, my experience in Barcelona would not have been the same without their recommendations. I only stayed in Barcelona for two nights and I wanted to make sure I enjoyed some techno club action. Reception recommended a club called Moog. Boy was I in for a treat, had an unforgettable time. Before going to bed, they reserved a cab for me in the morning (which was punctual) to get to the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musik_Boutique_Hotel, General Manager at Musik Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear "RecordingDave",

We would like to thank you for choosing Musik Boutique Hotel and for leaving such a lovely review on our page!

We really appreciate your opinion and we would be very happy to welcome you soon again at our hotel.


Kindest regards,

Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    58
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
128
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

new hotel with nice rooms in minimal design. the reception and the lobby area is little bit small and the breakfast buffet as well
is near the ol town but the road in front is little bit dirty due to old shops from china and pakistan
the had wi fi in all the room and music which was different and nice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Chose this hotel among many others after reading the reviews of guests previously staying at this hotel - so our expectations were pretty high. Quietly located in a little street right off a main street, this hotel absolutely met all of our expectations. The reception staff was always very welcoming, attentive and helpful - an absolute joy to talk to.

We stayed in a standard room, which in my opinion was the perfect size for two girls with a lot of stuff. Rooms were in a perfect conditions and staying on the 6th floor we had a view of the cutest little rooftop garden and some of the tall buildings on the beach. The bed was large and very comfy. Very clean and delicate room with tasteful decorations - not too much and not too little. A fun extra treat was the audio cable we got at reception so we could plug in an iPhone and enjoy music throughout the whole room (including bathroom!), so that was a great way to get in the mood for nights out. Rooms are soundproof and we never heard anything from neighbor rooms even though we know they were also listening to music as we could hear it in common areas. Our bathroom was lovely, modern and clean. Shower cube was large and had great water pressure. Complimentary Wi-Fi in room is something I expect in a hotel, but never take for granted - coverage was flawless in our room.

The breakfast was very nice, not busy at all and always fresh no matter what time of the morning we got there. A nice selection of cereal, fresh pastry, toast, eggs, fresh fruit and juices. In other words, everything you need for a long day of sightseeing or beach fun.

The location was perfect as it's in the middle of everything, however, the street is very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping at nights (I'm a very light sleeper). It's close to a metro station, but we walked most of the places as these are just 10-15 minutes walk away. The tourist bus also stops close-by and the reception sells the tourist bus tickets which is brilliant as you'll avoid the long queues at the tourist office.

All in all, I would like to thank the lovely staff for making our stay so great and for making sure we will never choose a different hotel when in Barcelona in the future. In the meantime, if in doubt - take this review as a sign that you have to stay in this lovely little hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina D, General Manager at Musik Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear "norway_cathy",

It's such a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at Musik Boutique Hotel!

All of our staff members are sending you a big "Thank you" for leaving such a nice review on our page.

We really try hard to make all our guests enjoy their stay so we feel really lucky to receive guests like you who appreciate the attention and all the details!

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Let me start by an important point: If you come by car, get driving instructions first! The tiny street, no wider than your car, is accessible only by taxi, and my Tomtom GPS refused to find the access to the nearby parking garage each time.

So here it is: The only way to get there is via Via Laietana and Av. de Francesc Cambó.

And be warned: Parking in the public garage down the street is expensive (not the hotel's fault), and they close at 10pm for the night.

But otherwise I didn't regret choosing Musik Boutique hotel, the rooms are new and carefully styled, air conditioning makes no sound at all but works impeccably, and the multi-lingual staff was very welcoming and helpful.

There is no restaurant, but breakfast was excellent and rich, at a very good price. For dinner, I recommend walking back to the market hall on Av. Cambó where the Cuina de Santa Catarina serves excellent food in a lively environment. A whole live lobster at Euro 24, can you imagine!?

The location is perfect, many Barcelona attractions are within walking distance.

I will be back ...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina D, General Manager at Musik Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear "rneugerbauer",

We really appreciate your wonderful comment and we would like to thank you for the helpful tips you left for our future guests. The parking information and the restaurant suggestion are both very precise! As for guests' information the closet parking garage located 200 meters from the hotel's door costs 25 euros/ day.

We hope to see you again at Musik Boutique Hotel!

Best regards from all our staff,

Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The location was excellent. Quiet location in the historical center of Barcelona and close to the major interesting touristic points .The Nice New Modern Rooms was really clean .The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina D, General Manager at Musik Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear "emmab016",

First of all, thank you for choosing Musik Boutique Hotel as your accommodation in Barcelona, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us!

Second of all, thank you for leaving your opinion on our page - nice, short and clear!

We hope to welcome you again at Musik Boutique Hotel.

Kind regards,

Alina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at Musik Boutique only because I could not rent a car on a Saturday and had to extend my stay in Barcelona by one day. Normally I would stay in a somewhat less expensive hotel.. That said, I found the Musik Boutique almost flawless. The host at the desk was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extensive enough to meet my needs. The lighting in the room was the best I’ve ever had – including adjustable reading lights on either side of the bed. The room was clean and well appointed. The location is great. The only downsides I can think of are these: it is not not a stately old-fashioned interior (i.e. classic but run down), but very modern; I did not see any outdoor area for relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This beautifully renovated property in the heart of the old city offers quiet and luxury on a small, personal scale... perfect for any traveler. Rooms are beautifully furnished, beds comfortable, and feature individual climate control and a wired stereo system to which one can plug in a phone or other portable music device. Bathrooms modern and functional, some with robes and all with full amenities. Travelers can easily walk to the airport bus stop, or the tram (both less than ten minutes away) as well as all the attractions central to the old city. Staff was friendly and helpful and the lobby features a bar and sitting area, in case Barcelona's cafe scene somehow pales. Note: currently hotel does not accept AMEX.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina D, General Manager at Musik Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear "St_CroixSanddollar",

Thank you very much for taking your time and leaving such a wonderful comment on our page.

It's very nice to know that you have appreciated our details and attention and we will be happy to welcome you again at Musik Boutique Hotel!

All the best,

Sincerely,

Alina D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Musik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musik Boutique Hotel

Address: Sant Pere Mes Baix, 62, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Musik Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and great taste come together to welcome guests to Musik Boutique Hotel. Enjoy the comfort, quality and the latest trends of Hotel Domus Selecta´s Musik Boutique Hotel in the fantastic city of Barcelona. A hotel that exudes the spirit of the city: the historical spirit of its eighteenth century façade, and the ultra modern minimalism of its interior surroundings. And we attend to every detail to make our guests feel at home. Style, quality and exquisite taste are the key to its modern rooms, each of which is equipped with the latest technology such as an iPod music player and LCD TV. In addition, this fantastic corner of Barcelona is one of the best parts of the city, in the district of La Ribera, near the Cathedral, and only 10 minutes from Las Ramblas. A unique location for fantastic vacations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Musik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musik Boutique Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musik Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.