We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 629, Eixample, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #84 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Not knowing Barcelona before booking this hotel, I wanted to find something central. With Barcelona's rapid transit system and incredible bus transportation, it is not worth booking at this hotel, central though it may seem - which is not really the case. The prices are astronomical compared to other four star hotels in the vicinity. This is disappointing for a hotel in the Intercontinental group, which generally has superb hotels. My advice, look for something else and if you are staying at this hotel, don't stay on the ground floor!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Yasmin,

Thank you very much for your recent stay. I do not know if you are mistaken our hotel with another one, as we are 450 meters far from Plaza Catalunya, main square of Barcelona. I am really sorry that you did not enjoy that much your recent visit to Barcelona. From your review, I understand you were staying in one of our king smoking rooms. I cannot understand why you were not satisfied as it is one of our most demanded rooms, being really close to the pool, very bright and on a quiet area. What I can suggest if what you are looking for is a smoking room, is to book one of our feature rooms with private terraces where it is allowed smoking too for your next visit.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    158
    36
    16
    8
See reviews for
77
216
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived in Barcelona a little later than expected so we got a taxi from the airport which took about 25 minutes and cost e30
We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely clean, friendly and relaxed hotel. It's in a great location just 5 minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya where you can get the hop on hop off bus, stole down the prestigious passeig de Gracia, join las Ramblas which takes you to the port and loads more.
My room 003 over looked the pool and courtyard which I really liked, so not off the main reception.
My room was huge with a massive comfortable bed. It had a place for suitcases, table and chairs, a desk, TV, radio alarm clock, tea and coffee making facilities, A Coffee machine ! and a mini bar with complimentary bottles of water x2 and orange juice x2 what more could you want?
The bathroom had a walk in shower, the usual loo with a slow closing lid! nice sink and toiletries all very modern.

The pool - small and a little cold but so lovely to dip in after a long day of sight seeing! The double sun beds were amazingly comfortable. I would give this hotel a 5 if it was adults only! Sorry kids !
The drinks - try the cava yum ! the sangria is ok but expensive, if you like sangria go to a restaurant on passeig de Gracia called Qu Qu it's double the size and the best we tried in Barcelona! Avoid a restaurant called Navarre on plaza Catalunya (separate review) service, food and sangria all horrible. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and if I go back to Barcelona I would stay here or the Miramar!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear reallylv2travel,

What else can I say that you haven't said yet about our hotel! As you very nice stated, we are very close to the city centre, just minutes walk. I am really glad you like your room. As all of them, it has everything you need, even refreshments that help you after a long day out visiting the beautiful city of Barcelona.
The pool at room temperature, what can be quite nice when there are 35º on the terrace and diving into the pool cools you down straight away.

We really hope to see you next time you are on the city.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

First of all is that the hotel is not on the plaza Catalunya but 7/10 walking away in another street.
Check in OK, but not specially welcoming either. They advertise their rooms as with a superb view of Barcelona. We received room 109 with view on????????? open space build in between several rooms/buildings with just a small window. Due to this the room was very dark and you need to switch the lights on day/night. Room size is rather small. Coffee facilities are stored in a cupboard and you need to move it somewhere else to make coffee/tea. This is a task as there is only one electric point in the room. If you want to charge your laptop you need to restore everything in the cupboard which is now occupied with your clothes. They were doing constructions in one of the adjacent buildings, starting 8 am which not really attributed to the quality of our room comfort.
I referred to this at the check out and received the remark that the constructions were not done in the hotel, but probably in one of the buildings next to the hotel. Probably they were aware of this but decided to rent to rooms anyway. As a member of IHG for many years, we did not get the impression that they care about loyal clients anymore.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, do not accept room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Marja-Alain,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at this hotel which is a lovely artisan hotel.

Centre of the city and walking distance to restaurants, main sites and the metro.

Free wifi and nice courtyard areas adds to the value of the stay and customer service very much top quality.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Demon,

Many thanks for your feedback. As you very nicely stated, we are situated on the city center of Barcelona and very near the underground station, were you con easily get to any of the main attractions. Our solarium and terrace, makes the stay even better, as it is a nice area to relax after a long day around the city.

We hope to see you on your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Having read the favourable review we booked a " 1 DBL BED DELUXE WITH TERRACE " as we prefer to sleep with an door/window open instead of A/C. A room with a terrace in the back of the hotel seemed to be a perfect choice.

The gentleman at the reception tried to give us a room on the 5th floor mentioning that the hotel was completely booked. When we reminded him of our reservation of the room with terrace and some discussion amoung the staff they "discovered" the last terrace room and we happily took it.

The bed turned out very small and way too soft. After hours of tossing and turning we both woke up with our bodies aching. Thankfully the room had a sofabed which we had made up for us. For the next 4 nights we took turns, one of us slept in the sofabed, while the other one was "punished" to stay in the " DBL BED DELUXE ". Not exactly our idea of a romantic getaway.

Unlike the terraces to our left and right which were nicely tiled, our "floor" consisted of an iron grid. Underneath is the exhaust of the air conditioning of the kitchen which blew up hot air. While it's nice to see that happen to Marilyn Monroe in " The Seven Year Itch " it's quite nerve-racking when it's happening to yourself every few minutes when you try to relax after a whole day of sightseeing. Also underneath is an open window to the kitchen. At 05:30 hours the kitchen staff start with loud clattering of dishes and as loudly exchange news of the night before. This continues until after the restaurant closed at night.

None of the terrraces was equipped with an umbrella so there is no shade on any of these terrraces in the afternoon. On the fire escape plan (picture attached) the terrace was crossed out, leading us to the assumption that room 105 was never to be rented out as a terrace room.

The rest of the hotel was okay. It was very clean and is very centrally located.

We did not receive what we had booked and paid for and the hotel staff had to be aware of this when they gave room 105 to us. Barcelona is one of our favourite cities, thankfully with many good hotels. This was our first stay at the Hotel Indigo and after this experience we will not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear CJL_Vienna_Austria,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am glad to know that our location worked for you and that you found our hotel clean.

I am very sorry that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of your room, particularly the noise challenges and the bed condition. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Biggest plus for this hotel is its LOCATION. Bang in the middle of the city, all the best shopping and eateries are walking distance. As a tourist you are out most of the time,hence it makes a great place to stay. Food was just about average. Ideally walk out near the hotel to get better stuff. Staff was really nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear mformalay,

Many thanks for your feedback. We are really glad the team took such good care of you. As you very well said, we are right on the city center, what makes our hotel very convenient for tourism.

We hope to see you next time you are in the city.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Barcelona and enjoyed our time there.
The Hotel location is great and most attractions are in easy walking distance.
The rooms are lovely and have a very modern décor.
The breakfast was excellent and Carlos took good care of us each day and especially for me as a Coeliac.
My only disappointment was not being allowed an early check in except if we had paid 40 Euro.
We had been travelling for 34 hours and were in need of a shower and a rest!
Recently in London we were allowed to check in at 8 am after flying for 27 hours.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Wendy,

Thanks very much for your recent review. I am really glad the hotel and the team went up your expectations. In special, Carlos, to whom I'll congratulate from you. As you beautifully state, our rooms have a modern decor, trying to recreate Gaudi's art.

We hope to see you on your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 629, Eixample, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona is the second largest and most visited city in Spain. Stay at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya and discover Barcelona's prime location, amazing beaches, famous architecture and exciting atmosphere.Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya is fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect from a fine hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.