We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location, modern design hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 629, Eixample, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #76 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great central location, modern design hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in April 2013. The hotel is a short walk from Psg de Gracia & Plaza de Catalunya and is thus easily accessible using either the Airport train or bus. This also means it's a short journey to get to most places in Barcelona either on foot or using public transport.

The hotel is brand new and I think as a result we experienced a couple of teething problems but when we spoke to reception they dealt with the matter promptly and professionally and despite this I would still recommend the hotel.

The outside space & general internal design of the hotel is modern, sleek and clean. We did not use the swimming pool but any hotel in this position that has one and space to lounge next to it is always going be good.

The mattresses in the room are memory-foam which makes for a comfortable nights sleep.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    127
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
61
175
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Queen deluxe room with breakfast. Room is good size, with a comfy bed, coffe machine, safe, complimentary minbar (2 bottles water + 2 bottles juice), flatscreen tv but most of the tv channel are on spanish. The bathroom were a bit small but clean, and of course lovley bathroom products from Rituals. The hotel has an excellent location, 5 min walk from Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas, shopping and resturants. The hotel has a small outdoor pool and plenty of sunbeds.
We had breakfast at the hotel (15eur), great for early birds when everything is fresh but when we ate at 10 o´clock there were empty plates and breakfastwaitress never refilled the bread. Breakfast buffé were ok for the price (when there were food) bread, muffins, donughts, milk, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, spanish cheese and ham, bur we missed eggs and some vegetables.
We also tried out the roomservice the first night, cheap but food were cold and tasteless. Would not recomend it.
Yes I would stay at the Indigo again, location, a nice room and the pool is all you can ask for.
Breakfast and roomservice needs improvment, but there are plenty of resturants just around the corner!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a romantic city break. Take the bus from the station and hotel is a 5 minute walk from central stop. Reception staff polite. Room spacious and boutique. Bathroom roomy. Didn't use pool or terrace but it looked lovely. Wod recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the second night I spent in this hotel, the first one was the night after their opening day. The location is superb, either if you are going to BCN for business or tourism. It is a 5 minutes walk to Plaza Catalunya. From the outside it is not really impressive, but rooms are modern and comfortable. Front desk personnel is very friendly and helpful, both on your arrival and on departure. Value for money is good, and I hope it will remain like this...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very well located (near Plaza Catalunya) the décor sets you in a good mood the moment you step in.
Very qualified staff, friendly and efficient.
The restaurant (DOQ) was also a pleasant surprise.
Rooms are decorated with good taste, with photo murals inspired in the city of Barcelona.
An experience to be repeated for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

An excellent newly established hotel, located just off Placa de Catalunya. Good location; only a 5-10 minute walk to the top of La Rambla. Perfectly situated for Passeig de Gracia where Casa Batllo is only a 5 minute stroll away.

We stayed for five nights and didn't have any problems with our stay. This hotel is 4 star and cheaper than the majority of others located within the La Rambla area and around. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was small but functional with a stylish walk in shower with large shower heads. The main room was coupled to a smaller little room with a sofa and desk. We had an inward facing room looking over the inner courtyard and swimming pool, therefore our room was very quiet..

Room is provided with: Free WiFi which worked fine in our room, a kettle and Nespresso machine with a selection of teas and coffee, a safe, radio clock with ipod docking facility, desk with minibar, tv, towelling robes and slippers, showergel shampoo etc.

We didn't eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the facilities there.
All in all an excellent stay for couples on a romantic break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked through an external website and the price was very fair but my main reason for booking Hotel indigo was that it had a pool. To my disappointment I found out the pool doesn't open until the 20th of April after getting ready to go for a swim. There was no mention of this anywhere in the hotel or on their website. The decor in the hotel is nice but the rooms are quite small. I didn't eat here because there was so much choice nearby. To be honest I won't be back because I really wanted a hotel with a pool and I had a big choice but I obviously chose the wrong one.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Dublinboy1,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize our pool facility is not open during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 629, Eixample, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona is the second largest and most visited city in Spain. Stay at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya and discover Barcelona's prime location, amazing beaches, famous architecture and exciting atmosphere.Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya is fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect from a fine hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.