We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally situated to explore La Rambla and Gothic area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Pau to your Saves list
Room Mate Pau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ideally situated to explore La Rambla and Gothic area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Room Mate Pau is a good value hotel perfectly situated to explore La Rambla and the Gothic area of Barcelona. Easy access to the Metro as well.
Staff are very friendly and always happy to help. Ask about tourist must-dos and the local Tapas restaurant "Taller Tapas" (it's a chain but you can get a free glass of bubbly via the hotel when eating there...also good, friendly service)
The hotel is clean and modern. A great room overlooking the street. Simple buffet style breakfast in a nice breakfast room with adjoining terrace.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our fourth floor street side room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear AA,

Thank you very much for your opinion, is really useful for us in order to improve our facilities and service.

Please fel free to contact us next time you plan to visit Barcelona!!!!

Best regards from all the staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    213
    23
    2
    6
See reviews for
68
380
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived early Friday morning, we were made feel very welcome. Emma in reception was so helpful. We upgraded to an Executive room for only €10 per night, well worth it. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. It was modern, functional and very well laid out. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the shower excellent. The hotel's location is fantastic. Within a very short walking distance of all major streets and tour, local and airport buses. Emma gave us a map of Barcelona and suggested were to visit and pin pointed exactly where we were to all places of interest. The whole experience was better than expected and I will definitely stay in the hotel again. My only one gripe is that they have a kettle in the room to make coffee or tea.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room for only €10 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you very much for your opinión, we will take a note about the kettle in the room! Eventhough we have some in the Front Desk to borrow.

Please feel free to contact us next time you plan to visit Barcelona!!!

pau@room-matehotels.com

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel provided exactly what I needed: a great place in a great location; a great price. The lobby is quite small, but you are in Barcelona! There is a computer available for guests to use in the waiting area. And the entire staff was AMAZING!

The bed was comfortable; a phone, safe, and refrigerator were also in the room. My only negative is the window shade; it was not opaque, but translucent and it was on the main street. Noise from the street really wasn't much of an issue though.

The room actually made me think of Gaudi a little; the chair/table/divider had holes. Everything was white and so clean. Lighting was adequate.

The room had a room for the shower, a room for the toilet, and the sink with bathroom amenities (lots of amenities) behind the cabinet door.

You are one block from where the airport bus stops; you are two blocks from La Rambla. If I were planning another trip to Barcelona, this is where I would stay. Loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for one in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Jw,

Thank you very much for such a good comment in our hotel.

We much appreciate the time you spent wirting it.

Is really useful for us in order to improve our service and facilities.

Please feel free to contact us next time you plan to visit Barcelona,

Best regards from all the staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lovely cosy little hotel in a brilliant location. Rooms are not big but well appointed and comfortable. Great shower, lovely soft lighting and very comfy bed. Breakfast was more than sufficient for me but if you're after a selection of cooked items you might be left wanting more. The lounge where breakfast is served is a little underused in my opinion and would be a great place for a few drinks if there was a bar there. But it is in a brilliant location so from the guests point of view there is no shortage of places to have a drink. All in all, would definitely come back and will recommend to everyone visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much Julija,

Your opinión is really useful for us to improve on our services!

We are happy to know you had a nice stay, thanks again for choosing room mate.

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for a weekend break and found the hotel to be excellent value for money. The location is very central, literally round the corner from the Areobus stop direct from the airport so once off the plane you are in your hotel room in no time at all. The hotel itself is modern, I would say it's a more stylish and well equipped version of a Premier Inn. The Room Mate brand have definitely got it all right! We had an Executive room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard and we found this to be spacious and conformable and everything felt very stylish. All the members of staff were friendly and helpful and willing to give advice on directs to sights. We didn't eat in the hotel for breakfast as other reviewers said the food was poor but there are plenty of cafes in the vicinity to have a delicious breakfast.
I would say my only criticism would be that the toilet paper and towels felt quite cheap, seriously not the end of the world and I would most certainly stay again and recommend to others. I would also be interested in staying in other Room Mate hotels in other cities.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are more spacious and request a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Ema,

Thank you very much for your kind comment.

This year we are opening in Istambul, and other european countries! Have a look to our website!

Hope to see you soon in Pau,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Overall, we were very pleased with hotel. It was clean and the staff were helpful and pleasant. There's no bar but you can buy reasonably priced alcohol and sit on the terrace.
It's also quite stylish in an economical way.
The only downside was the breakfast. If you're after a cooked breakfast then don't build your hopes up. There was some scrambled egg and bacon but it was pretty much stone cold, two days in a row. And the toaster literally takes about 10 minutes. The coffee is from a machine. Quite a good one but still a machine.
Don't be put off though. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Fishtail,

We recently did some changes in our buffet breakfast, hope next time you come you take breakfast!!!

Thank you very much for taking your time in writing your opinión on your stay.

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Wow! Had never been to Barcelona before but I can say that staying at this hotel contributed significantly to my enjoyable experience here. Yeah sure they had the markets and the architecture and the food but staying at this place put us within walking distance to all of it. Train station within a minute, main walking promenades within 2 minutes and the aerobus shuttle to the airport around the corner meant we were never far from where we wanted to be and we often stopped back for rest from over walking. Staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were modern and clean. Highly recommended hence the 5 stars.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Jumpingdinner,

Thank you very much for your opinion. We much appreciate that you had such a wonderful stay!

All the team hopes to see you son in Pau!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Pau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.