We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Pau to your Saves list
Room Mate Pau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great staff and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Modern hotel in excellent location. Decent buffet breakfast and free wifi. Located near La Ramblas, metro station, Aerobus (airport) bus stop and with a lot of the popular attractions in walking distance. The staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We were able to check in early 10am (emailed the hotel the previous day to see if this would be possible), given a free room upgrade without asking and also a late check out. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Customer:

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate PAU, I want to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time and explain to all readers of Tripadvisor your expertise in Room Mate PAU during your stay in Barcelona.

These assessments help us to know that our daily efforts in each of ours departments they are reflected in customer satisfaction and above all help us to continue in improvements to offer all our customers the best experience in their stays in Room Mate PAU.

If you return back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    185
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
60
334
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent balance between quality and price. The location is perfect, nearby El Corte Ingles, Apple Store, etc Very clean and the rooms are very nice. To be considered excellent only missing an improvement in the breakfast.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank the comments you made about their stay at Hotel Room Mate PAU.

The whole team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to return back to Barcelona.

Best regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want to get the best of Barcelona, you must stay here! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. My friend has sensitive knees and the young man at reception, Oliver, helped with a big bag of ice even if it was past midnight!
The hotel is recently renovated in minimalist style, it all looks very stylish, rooms are very confortable and clean, they are not very big, but they have everything you need. There is a nice terrase in the interiour courtyard, also decorated in minimalist style.
Breakfast menu is not very extensive, but it has all the essentials to provide a good start of the day.
Extremely convenient location right in Placa Catalunya, that is in the center of all touristic attractions between 2 major quarters: to the south you have the Bari gotic, the oldest part of town. To the north you have Eixample, the Gaudi neibourhood where you find Casa Batllo and Sagrada Familia. Most things are within walking distance, but there is also great metro connection to all parts of town and a direct bus that goes to Parc Guell. All best tapas restaurants are close to the hotel on Rambla Catalunya or Paseig de Gracia, and trust me, you can never get enough of the amaising catalan and spanish tapas!
Around Parc Guell, the Gracia neibourhood is also a must see, especially if you are looking for very different shopping. There are little local designer shops all around, eg Verdi street.
Another absolutely great thing about the location is that there is a direct connection to the airport, called Aerobus. The ticket is only 5.70 eur and it takes exactly 30 minutes.
Overall our stay was very confortable and we enjoyed this hotel a lot after the long sightseeing days. I highly recommend it, it is perfect for a city hotel!

Room Tip: If you want quiet and don't care about the view, choose a room with windows to the interior cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Diane;

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your stay at Room Mate PAU.

The whole team and specially our recepcionist Oliver, welcomes your comments and gives us strength to continue improving day by day in our service.

Also thank you very much for your suggestion are very important for us to make continuous improvement and provide our customers with excellent service and facilities.

Sincerely;

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely super hotel in a prime spot.
The rooms were very modern and clean.
The staff were all young and very polite and pleasant.
We had the breakfast which was very good value with a good choice to keep you going most of the day.
The hotel is quite quirky with a shaft which runs from the 2nd floor to the top with eyes as the theme (difficult to explain until you have seen it)
What would I improve?
1. The ability to make a hot drink in your room.
2. The shower wet room was brilliant, however the door seal was poor and the floor in the room was soon soaking, I do believe this is soon to be sorted as it is an issue in most rooms.
In conclusion: If I was returning to Barcelona soon I would not even bother looking for anything else.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir;

We would like to thank you for trusting in ROOM MATE PAU. We hope that you had an enjoyable stay at PAU´s and that you will keep us in good memory.

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor, they are very helpful for us to constantly improve and provide a memorable stay for each of our clients.

All the team wishes you the best and hopes to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with my wife and friends. We were delighted by the warm and friendly welcome we received from the girls on reception and their smiling faces and helpful nature was maintained throughout our stay.
The hotel is very modern, light and airy with decor to die for. It is conveniently situated on the placa Catalunya with easy access to some very high class shops on one side and the Gothic quarter, Cathedral and La Rambla on the other (a word of warning to holidaymakers new to Barcelona: I was very roughly pick pocketed in the Gothic quarter, just off La Rambla. It very nearly turned violent and is rife; not the hotels fault though).
The breakfast room is minimalist and clean and the breakfast adequate if not haute cuisine.
The bedrooms are spotless, as is the whole hotel and the bed very comfortable. The shower is probably one of the best I've used, I almost felt assaulted by the deluge of water. One minor criticism, no tea & coffee in the bedroom; almost a must for a Brit.
All in all an excellent hotel that I would definitely use again and highly recommend. Thank you to the staff for a great stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest;

On behalf of the whole team of Room Mate Pau, we want to thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that our daily service has helped you to better enjoy your stay with us.

To return back to Barcelona, please feel free to contact us again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Pau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We choose this due its location, 25 meters walk to Placa de Catalunya. Rooms are clean, spacious in my opinion and very reasonable priced. Breakfast was 'ok', not a lot of selections that I liked. I just dont like eggs that come out of a bottle and are heated for an extended period of time, but i didnt expect that either.

Our flight was possibly delayed back to AMS due to snow, but staff was extremely accommodating and assisted us in calling airline

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest;

I would like to thank you the comments you made about your stay at Hotel Room Mate PAU.

The whole team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact me whether to return to Barcelona.

It is a pleasure to inform you that in a few moths we are openning a new hotel in Amsterdam!!!

Best regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is my best experience for a long time. Modern, stylish interior with some nice innovations. Extremely pleasant staff. Good location close to the El Corte Ingles, metro and taxis. Decent price and lot of nice restaurants around.

Room Tip: I had 206 and loved it. Nice view to the street, small balcony, quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jukka.

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate Pau want to thank for your nice comments about your stay with us.

In the words of our philosophy, we want our customers to feel at a friend's house, as in their own home. The whole team is very pleased that our daily functions have helped you to feel that way at Room Mate Pau.

To return back to Barcelona, please feel free to contact us again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Pau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.