We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned ,cool decor, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Pau to your Saves list
Room Mate Pau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well positioned ,cool decor, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Well positioned close to the Ramblas and metro but not a noisy street. Very cool modern decor and breakfast and bar area airy and light with great outdoor area to sit.Good variety of buffet breakfast in Spanish style. There isn't an actual restaurant though. Rooms are quite small but well laid out and everything is very new. There is a small desk space and good wardrobe space. Good free internet. There was a very annoying bright blue light on the wall at night which seemed to be part of a radio ,which i had to cover with tape. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is no minibar in the room but therre are drinks etc available from the lobby --I think it was a vending machine but i didn;t use it. I would certainly stay there again or at another in the chain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Customer:

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate PAU, I want to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time and explain to all readers of Tripadvisor your expertise in Room Mate PAU during your stay in Barcelona.

These assessments help us to know that our daily efforts in each of ours departments they are reflected in customer satisfaction and above all help us to continue in improvements to offer all our customers the best experience in their stays in Room Mate PAU.

If you return back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    186
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
60
336
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wonderful little hotel right in the heart of the city, next to Placa Catalunya. The location is unbeatable, with the aeropuerto bus stop about 30 meters from the hotel, making it a very convenient place for a base. We had a suite, which is still fairly small by international standards but very cleverly designed. The bed was huge, the bathroom very spacious, and there is a genius sit down thing at the end of each bed. Very clean, minimalist and modern. Our room faced the streets but it was very quiet at night. Great service by Andrea at the reception desk, who was extremely helpful and friendly. Only downside was the lack of hot water at 6am in the morning on my second day. I ended up waiting 20 minutes till the water 'replenished'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of the entire team ROOM MATE PAU and specially at Andrea, we want to say thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure for the whole team that our daily work is reflected in making our guests to enjoy a pleasant stay in ROOM MATE PAU.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in again, if you want to return to Barcelona.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My girlfriend and i decided to take a little break from the pre xmas madness and visit Barcelona for a few day's. We decided upon the hotel due to it's close proximity to the main public transport and attractions. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a wonderful and friendly young lady and checked in within minutes, The room was small but no space was wasted making it feel bigger than it was. The bed was out of this world,best i have ever slept in and the shower was also fantastic. The bar/restaurant was basic but again excellent, The cocktails were especially good.
The service in the hotel was very very good, and once again when we needed any advice that wonderful girl on reception was on hand(she works the evening shift). We have stayed in higher rated hotels and only had half of the experience we had here, so from now on this is my home away from home in Barcelona. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Danny & Emma. 412

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Customer;

On behalf of the entire team that made ​​Pau Room Mate, I want to thank you for your nice comments about your stay at our hotel.

Certainly discussed two major new items we offer to our customers, such as a comfortable bed and a good shower.

Thank you very much also for assessing our bar and cocktails and the service of our entire team.

To return to the city of Barcelona, do not hesitate to contact me again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Pau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is very modern. The rooms are small but have surprisingly a lot of storage space. The have easily the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on...i want to take one home ! The bathroom has an amazing walk in shower with a large shower head. I could stay in there forever. The hotel is just one block from the main square....Catalunya and two blocks from La Ramblas...the main promenade. The staff are very young but professional and extremely eager to help. The breakfast room is spacious with lots of comfortable tables as well as a lovely outdoor courtyard. The food was excellent, especially their mutligrain croissants...i couldn't stop eating them. It is the first time I have stayed at a Room Mate hotel but I will be looking for one whetever I travel. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Dobie

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your stay at Room Mate Pau and especially for the excellent words for the work and role of team workers.

Thank you very much for your suggestions, we are looking to fix it and offer an unforgettable stay to our customers.

If you want to return to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Sincerely;

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Located less than 5 minutes from where the airport bus stops; from La Rambla; from the Gothic quarter; from the Eixample quarter, this hotel also offers excellent accommodation. We only had a standard room, but this provided all you could possibly need, including a very comfortable bed and excellent shower. The room had no view, overlooking an inner well, but was imaginatively designed, quiet, clean and well appointed including a fridge, a safe and precise climate control. All the staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend taking the City Sightseeing Bus and the metro is a quick and easy way to see the sights. We did not have breakfast included in our stay, but there are many cafes close by where you can grab a coffee and pastry. Barcelona has so much to offer for all age groups and interests that 3 days were barely long enough. Finally, Lonely Planet Barcelona guide was a great help in planning our visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest;

On behalf of the whole team of Room Mate Pau, we want to thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that our daily service has helped you to better enjoy your stay with us.

To return back to Barcelona, please feel free to contact us again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Pau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room has a modern, sleek design. Front desk service was excellent and friendly. The location was very good, just next to Placa de Catalunya, literally just meters away from the A1/A2 airport bus stop. It is also right next to the big El Corte Ingles shopping complex. Most of the major attractions are within walking distance. The hotel was just 3 months old so everything looked new. The courtyard next to the breakfast room has interesting sculptured seats.

The Executive Double Room is only 19 sq meters which may be too small for two persons, but it is perfect for a solo traveller. The downside is there is no tissue box and bedroom slippers, and you also have to go to the lobby to buy drinks as the minibar in the room is empty (but the drinks are cheap).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for the nice comments you have shared with all users of Tripadvisor about your stay at Room Mate Pau.

The whole team is very happy that you enjoyed a wonderful stay and that our daily service has helped you get it.

Thank you very much for your suggestions for improvement, allowing us to improve every day to offer our customers an unforgettable stay in the city of Barcelona.

To return back to the city of Barcelona, please feel free to let me know.

I am looking forward to seeing you soon again in Room Mate Pau.

Best regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Pau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs, GB.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very friendly and helpful young staff. Rooms a goodish size, modern and well appointed. HD TV, free wifi etc.Surprisingly quiet , given the location.
Breakfast area and contents, a bit hit and miss. Nice courtyard to sit outside .
Location absolutley superb, immediately adjacent to Corte Ingles on Placa Catalunya , so ideal for Airport bus and metro. Great for a weekend break as everything is just a stroll away.

Room Tip: 410 was very peaceful, so you could get a good night's sleep-if that's what you want and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for trusting in ROOM MATE PAU.

We hope that you had an enjoyable stay at PAU´s and that you will keep us in good memory.

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor, they are very helpful for us to constantly improve and provide a memorable stay for each of our clients.

All the team wishes you the best and hopes to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Pau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.