We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Pau to your Saves list
Room Mate Pau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights in October. Lovely welcome and staff really helpful. We had a third floor room that looked onto the road but the double glazing was so effective it was lovely and quiet. Could even see one of the cathedral spires from the room. Really good central location las Rambles, PLace de Catalunya and all the best shopping on the doorstep! Sightseeing buses also round the corner couldn't get a better spot. Really unusual and very modern decor very clean we didn't have breakfast too many nice places to try. Air con and heating worked really well - we used both!

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad place I think quiet in the courtyard but also at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Customer:

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate PAU, I want to convey our sincere thanks for taking your time and explain to all readers of Tripadvisor your expertise in Room Mate PAU during your stay in Barcelona.

These assessments help us to know that our daily efforts in each of ours departments they are reflected in customer satisfaction and above all help us to continue in improvements to offer all our customers the best experience in their stays in Room Mate PAU.

If you return back to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Regards.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Pau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    185
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
60
334
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want an amazingly convenient location, large,very comfortable bed, quiet and efficient air-conditioning, friendly, helpful staff and spotless cleanliness, then this hotel is for you. If you insist on good coffee and tea, really hot hot-water, a shower that doesn't leak, privacy in the bathroom and an interesting breakfast, then this is not for you. We booked through SNCF and got a standard room facing the street, not large and with the vanity unit/wash basin in a cupboard in the bedroom. The breakfast is simple but perfectly adequate - fruit, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, ham, toast, pastries. There is a very large supermarket in the basement of the department store next door so if you wanted to buy a picnic it is very handy. All in all, we felt that the really important things were excellent, especially the bed and the location, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor about your stay at Room Mate Pau and thank you for the nice words about our service, cleanliness and facilities.

We also welcome your suggestions for improvements to continue to improve and provide our customers with excellent service.

To return to the city of Barcelona, please contact us again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Pau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Small, intimate hotel that I would describe as "urban chic"! Fantastically located a minutes walk from the hub of Catalunya Square and very close to La Rambla and the Gothic Quarter. The Barcelona tourist, open top hop on/off buses are conveniently located in Catalunya Square, as well as a metro station and the airport buses.
The staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful. Unfortunately our shower flooded when we first arrived and we were moved to a lovely suite immediately!!! The bed was so comfortable and VERY large, and I had the best nights' sleep for ages. We even had a modern, free standing bath in the bedroom in addition to a separate shower. It felt luxurious! Doors led out onto a large terrace, with a view of a church spire nearby.
We emailed the hotel asking if we could leave our luggage for the day after we returned from a cruise, and even though it was a week since we had stayed at the hotel, we received an email back immediately saying that they would be delighted to store our luggage for the day!!
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location, design and very friendly, helpful staff, especially if you can get to stay in a Junior Suite.

Room Tip: Stay in the Junior Suite for a spacious, luxurious feel. Especially with the big free standing bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Ms. Joanna.

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate Pau want to thank for your nice comments about your stay with us.

In the words of our philosophy, we want our customers to feel at a friend's house, as in their own home. The whole team is very pleased that our daily functions have helped you to feel that way at Room Mate Pau.

To return back to Barcelona, please feel free to contact us again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is at a very convenient location on P. Cataluyna near the Corte Ingles, old city, Passeig de Gracia and Gaudi residential work, and the metro stop. The aerobus to and from the airport stops right around the corner. It is a modern, very clean and friendly place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Leeane.

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate Pau and especially around the reception team, we thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that our daily service has helped you to better enjoy your stay with us.

To return back to Barcelona, please feel free to contact us again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Pau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The small hotel is extremely conveniently located close to Passeig Gracia, the Rambla and Gothic Quarter. The hotel room was adequate in size, modern and clean. The bed was excellent, and the shower was very large. Unfortunately, we had a few problems with a leaky shower door, resulting in water leaking out onto the carpet as the bathroom and bedrom are not separate. With a towel blocking the water, this minor issue was easily fixed. Another benefit was no traffic noise as the room was not not facing a major street. Very quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel is good value for the price. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest;

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. The entire team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Room Mate PAU.

Thank you very much for your suggestion, we are looking for improvements to resolve the issue soon.

If you want to return to Barcelona, do not hesitate to contact us again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate Pau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This boutique hotel is conveniently located about 5 minutes away from Passeig Di Gracia and Las Rambles and 10 minutes away from Gothic Quarters.

Staff spoke English and were generally quite helpful and chirpy.

The first impression of the room was that it is REALLY TINY (about 17sqm) and I wasn't quite used to it. However, this is one of the most well-designed hotels I've ever been to, it has all the components any 4* hotel provides. Internet connection was good, and breakfast (I couldn't say its much of a spread), but whatever was provided was really good.

Some minor drawback include faulty shower holder (so we have to hold the shower instead of fixing it on the wall), and they don't provide water or a minibar IN the room.

Overall a nice stay and would recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

On behalf of the entire team ROOM MATE PAU, we want to say thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure for the whole team that our daily work is reflected in making our guests to enjoy a pleasant stay in ROOM MATE PAU.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in again if you want to return to Barcelona.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here with work for a week ...far better option than staying near the conference centre! Even though I was busy during day with work it meant that if i had some free time I was right in the centre of barcelona.. near the many shops..restaurants..tapas bars...
Rooms are modern and clean. I spent 2 nights in a executive room and then 3 nights in a suite. Wow..the suite is amazing ... roof tops views ...outside sofa .. and outdoor jacuzzi! The room was also significantly bigger.
Breakfast is ok .. fine for grabbing a drink and roll.
On final day I had some free time and this was the perfect location for wandering out ...investigating city .. walked down to beach ... everything close.
Will definitely stay here again. Great price for this city.

Room Tip: I would go for a high room or courtyard facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PepeFuxa, Director General at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer;

On behalf of the entire team of Room Mate Pau, we want to thank you for the comments that you have shared with users of Tripadvisor.

As you explained, in Room Mate Pau, you can enjoy and work and especially in our suite!

If you decide to come bacj again to Barcelona, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Room Mate PAU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Pau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.