We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Serra

Papa Serra
Carrer Hospital, 46, Barcelona, Spain
+34 644355865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 545 Activities in Barcelona
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooking classes, market tours and customised adventures that will open more than your eyes to the gastronomic heart of the city that Anthony Bourdain of No Reservations described as “the most exciting place to eat in the Western world.” A fun, relaxed and memorable experience for groups of friends, families or singles, as well as company team building days.Engage all your senses as you tour Barcelona’s best markets including the world-renowned La Boqueria and haggle with the Catalan stallholders for the freshest seasonal vegetables from the fields of Andalucia, the creamiest Spanish cheeses, seafood direct from the Mediterranean, Spain’s famous Jamón Ibérico, oranges from Sevilla, and almonds from the hills of Catalonia.Then learn how to transform these ingredients into delicious modern and traditional Spanish dishes - personally created by your chef.And finally, enjoy the fruits of your hard work over Cava – don't dare call it Spanish champagne, a selection of Spain’s best wines such as Tempranillo, Garancha, Syrah and Mazuelo, and Catalan Vichy - the world’s #1 mineral water. Come on a Barcelona Culinary Adventures and see why Papa Serra called this place home.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“An excellent experience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Creating a meal with Joel was a marvelous experinence! My husband and I went to Barcelona on our honeymoon. Andrew and I are both foodies, and he booked the cooking class as a gift for both of us-- we had an amazing time!!! Joel met us at the Boqueria with a bottle of Cava, told us about the history of the market, and led us on a shopping adventure! Then we went back to his place to cook for the whole morning. Joel is experienced, skilled, friendly, knowledgeable, relaxed, and fun to shop and cook with. Our classmates were fun too-- the conversation was almost as good as the food. We have already used some of Joel's recipe's cooking for my father in law and step daughter, and we look forward to using the same recipes and more from the same class on Christmas Eve! FANTASTIC food. Here's to a fun, creative, and talented chef!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Must do in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our trip started at the market, where Joel found the ingredients he needed. Then we all walked over to the apartment where we all cooked a 12 course lunch. The recipes were explained to us and we paired of and got started. Joel is a very knowledgeable cook and fun to work with. He helps you when you need help and just visits with everyone. The lunch was delicious along with lots of local wines as well as after lunch wines! Highly recommend going to the Papa Serra site before you leave home to make sure you are included in the class! He sends the recipes home with you via your email, perfect. I can still enjoy all the delicious tastes of Barcelona!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“bon profit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our experience with the Barcelona Cooking Adventures was an absolute highlight of our recent three week trip around Europe.

The guided tour of the market was an experience in itself, made even more special with a few glasses of cava. Joel completely based the menu on our personal food preferences, whilst opening up our eyes to a few delicacies neither my partner or I had sampled.

The class itself was very hands on, with instruction offered not only in making the dishes but on general cooking and knife techniques.

To finish off the class we sat down to a lovely meal with our host, accompanied by many a glass of Spanish wine. We were also emailed a personal cookbook full of the recipes we created in class, accompanied by photos of both ourselves cooking the dishes and the final products we created. A nice take home touch to go with the experience.

Money well spent for 5 hours’ worth of culinary delights. I would highly recommend to fellow travellers.

Thanks Joel!

Melinda and Justin

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“An amazing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I usually don't write reviews, but this experience was so good that I couldn't help it.
Joel is an amazing chef, a great guy who takes what he is doing very seriously.
I truly think that if you are a food fan coming to Barcelona, you must take this culinary adventure!.
In addition to learning a lot, this experience is tons of fun, especially if you like to drink :).
Highly recommended!

Omer K.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great experience - a true taste of Barcelona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Being greeted at 3pm on a boiling hot afternoon in August, outside one of Barcelona's most famous markets, with a glass of chilled Cava really set the scene! Chef Joel has added his own flavour to a lot of classic Catalan dishes, and his wonderful temperament creates the perfect environment to learn a few of these mouthwatering dishes for yourself.

There were 8 in our class and we were split in to pairs, each allocated two dishes to be shared together at the end of the session. The kitchen is small and of no great quality, but it's a great way to get to know your fellow cooks when bustling around such a small place. Joel is there to oversee and offer any assistance when required, but otherwise he lets you get on with things, reminding you to "taste, taste, taste, how else will you know if it's good"!

I thought all the dishes could easily be replicated at home without buying a hundred new ingredients - unlike some cooking classes! - but Joel does stress that fresh is best, so make sure you're eating whatever is in season. It'll be cheaper and taste better!

Overall I thought this was one of the best cooking classes I have been to. Despite the equipment being a little rudimentary the class is well run, the recipes easy to follow and the class sizes small and friendly. I was full of delicious food by the time I left, around 8.30pm, and had had a most enjoyable afternoon. The food was authentic with Joel's own twist so you really felt like you were escaping the more touristy operations. Plus the class is held just behind La Boqueria, so a great, central location.

Recommend for friends, family, singles travelling alone or anyone really looking for a fun, easy way to get a taste of Barcelona. Joel also has a great list of recommended restaurants to get you away from the tourist traps!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Serra also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Papa Serra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Serra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.