We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hipstel

Save Saved
You added The Hipstel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hipstel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 668 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Beirut
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Hipstel was the cherry on top of a great vacation !
It's very well located in the center and the building is very cool and the price is v.good.
Clean and comfortable beds with AC and free internet. The ppl there where very friendly.
I would definitely recommend this hostel for a cheap and cozy stay in Barcelona!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    124
    44
    29
    10
See reviews for
9
27
145
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Hippest place to stay in Barcelona ,
Cool Young, and central Hostel , the building was amazing, and it looks like the best part of the city!!! Not in the TO MUCH touristic Ramblas , it the main Modernist part of the city , where scent of Real Barcelona is all over u look .
Olee

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hostel really lives up to its promises! Me and my friend had a great time in Barcelona and spent five nights at the Hipstel. We arrived a day early but that was no problem, it was arranged that we could stay in the same room. Rooms were air conditioned and the beds really good. Things are well kept clean, it seemed there was always a cleaning lady around. Lots of laid back other travellers to chat with during (the included) breakfast, the ambiance is really good. Staff members were nice and friendly and told us a lot about the city. On top of all this, the location is great, in the city centre, close to the Ramblas, subway stations and Placa Catalunya. I would stay here again if I am to visit Barcelona again (and I probably will!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Hipstel Hostel. It's really in the city center, you can walk easily till Las Ramblas. All the rooms have lookers, and the bathrooms are clean, the only thing it's that they are not separated, so you don't have too much privacy. But who it's used to be in mixed rooms can easily deal with that. The kitchen it's quite good, fully equipped and it's clean.
The breakfast it's simple but good, really enough.
It's just a pity that the common rooms close at 23h, but it's understandable because of the neighbors. The people from the Hostel are really nice and always available to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent hostel! Good location. Very welcoming and friendly staff. The 10-bed dorm is spacious and have very, very comfortably beds. Good showers and toilets and common areas and professional cleaning staff that kept the place really clean and tidy. Breakfast was also included.

Couldn´t possibly ask for more but put in an extra toaster and a sign above the door and everything will be perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hey thanks Andra and staff! My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. Very friendly welcoming staff that are accomodating. The facilities are new and perfectly located for an easy wealk to Gracia and la Rambla. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the common area if you want a early sleep and/or you are a light sleeper:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nice place, helpful staff, near the metro and cheap.
Communal places are off limits after 11 and the kitchen was a bit small but that was the only negatives I think!
This was my 1st time staying in a hostel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hipstel h, Gerente at The Hipstel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
hope to see you again soon,

greetings,
The Hipstel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hipstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hipstel

Address: Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 668 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hipstel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you planning your trip to Barcelona and want to explore a different way of staying? Join the Hipstel-Family!The Hipstel is more than just a hostel - It is a home away from home.Located in the city´s most emblematic area, the hostel provides you the perfect base for sight-seeing along the day and partying all night long! Our friendly staff will be more than happy to offer you a good insight into this magical city When will you join?A quick overview of what we offer you:• Breakfast service included (extra charge)• Free coffee• 24/7 reception• Free Wi-FI• Amazing dinners!• Private and shared rooms• Bedlinen included• Towels for rent 2€• Free walking tours• Free city maps• Free activities• Free lugagge room• Common rooms• Big exterior terrace• Board gamesThe Hipstel offers private rooms as well as various sized dorms for affordable prices. Depending on your personal needs, you can either book a private room for you and your company or you just check in to a dorm to get in touch with loads of interesting peole from different countries all around the globe. The rooms are spacious, bright as well as secure . This will ensure, that your stay is going to be 100% comfortable. All our rooms are with shared bathroom. You will find air conditioner, big lockers in dorms, keycard access, bedlinen and blankets included in the rate, towels for rent at reception. Our staff will take care of every detail and your room and common areas will be perfectly clean and tidy. Location InformationThe Hipstel C\ de València 266, Barcelona 08007Due to its location next to the the city center, pretty much every hot spot in Barcelona can be reached by feet. But no worries - if you prefer to go by Metro, there is one stop directly across the corner of the Hostel. Within a few minutes you can reach Barceloneta metro station, where you can find the most popular beaches, or Park Güell, one of the hot spots in the city.Also, our location allows you to come and get to main airport and stations easily and cheap. There are bus stops as well as train stations closeby.In a nutshell, we are really proud to say that our location is pretty much unbeatable – can’t believe it? Just check it out on a map! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Hipstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hipstel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hipstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.