We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Koxkera

Restaurant Koxkera
Marques de Sentmenat 67, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
93 321 41 34
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Restaurant Koxkera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #225 of 6,659 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unfortunate choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

In a city full of good food, Koxkera was certainly disappointing. The English menu isn't translated properly, leading to confusion when one of the dishes we were served wasn't what it was supposed to be. My wife's steak was terribly dry and lacked flavor; we're also fairly convinced it was pork, despite the owner's assurance that it was dry-aged beef. Everything else was mediocre.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbalague, Propietario at Restaurant Koxkera, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are sorry, it clearly seems that we didn't make our job as we usually do.

For sure we not cooked the steak according to your taste, but i can guarantee you that we don't lie to anyone, simply it's not our style.

We have translated the menus ourselves (some parts with google translator :)), so, yes, probably the translation isn't perfect. That's why we always try to do our best to explain to our customers the dishes (with our English :))

If you have the opportunity, and want, to visit us again we are pretty sure we would not disappoint you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    85
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

A little gem outise the center, nice relaxed atmosphere, the service is impeccable. We had very nice paellia and arroz negro, both great, and a marvellous cheesecake at the end. If you are done with the touristic places this restaurant is worth a visit!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, lovely food and amazing sangria! Definetly worth a visit.
We were welcomed by a very friendly host. We shared a seafood platter and the had a paella each befordring ending the metal with a creme catalan.
All very good and the price reasonable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A lovely well run restaurant with a friendly helpful owner. We had supper there last night and it was a most enjoyable evening. My wife had the clams and I had the Chili mussels, both dishes were outstanding, we both had Zarzuela as mains and these were also very good. The atmosphere as very pleasant and friendly. Would recommend this restaurant anytime.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We arrived to this restaurant based on the reviews on tripadvisor. We received a very warm welcome by an amazingly friendly stuff. The place is located off the main tourist attractions and I guess that's the reason that it's not so crowded. The food was excellent! fresh mussels, with excellent sauce. The Paella was one of the best dishes I've ever had with well cooked rice and lots and lots of seafood. Even the dessert - Catalan cream - was wonderful. And I booked online and received a 30% discount! so for a very full meal for two - which my Significant other failed to finish - we paid 40 euros, which is a real value for many.
Overall - Excellent food, nice and authentic Catalan atmosphere, very friendly and welcoming stuff. I would definitely recommend it! very worthwhile to take the time and visit this place if you're in Barcelona. Cheers

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Koxkera also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Koxkera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Koxkera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.