We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Spanish food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Koxkera

Restaurant Koxkera
Marques de Sentmenat 67, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
93 321 41 34
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Restaurant Koxkera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #141 of 6,216 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $20 - $40
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Temse, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic Spanish food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had Paella here and it was really good! You can really feel that you're in a typical spanish restaurant. Service is quit good, though sometimes we had to wait a bit too long.
But still, very friendly staff.
I would definitely come back for some delicious paella !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    72
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic night in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening at this restaurant, James the waiter was excellent, the food very enjoyable and the ambience just right, even though it is also a great place to take the family. Highly recommended by this Australian couple.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“another good tip from tripadvisor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

consistent quality at very reasonable prices. abundant portions. the waiters were very helpful and nice, contributing to our very positive experience. fish recommended

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

In searching for a good paella we made a special trip to this restaurant tonight around 8, even though we did not have a reservation, they were kind enough to sit us immediately, the service was very attentive. We ordered squid, mussel, paella and hake fish, then they casually asked us whether we want water and bread, of course we were charged for that. First come fried squid, no taste whatsoever, also there is a hair inside one of the squid batter, then mussels came, whic is decent. For the main entree, the hake fish was quite good, but the paella was just a disappointment, it was so salty, we could not finish,ed, in conclusion i wont be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“A serious restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a serious fish restaurant serving seriously good food, and doing so at very reasonable prices.
When we arrived for dinner the place was about half full, and we noticed that there was only one waiter serving. But this man was a consummate professional. He was somehow attentive to everyone, he was properly knowledgeable about all of the dishes on the menu and ready to discuss them with us at some length. He had helpful suggestions to make about good and less good combinations of dishes, and was ready to recommend suitable wines
It was his idea that we shared our starters, of which the highlights were some of the best chiperones I have eaten, and sizzling fried shrimps with very hot little chillies that somehow managed to draw out rather than smother the flavour of the shrimps.
For mains my wife chose an excellent paella; whilst our friend had the turbot that was one of the blackboard specials, which he pronounced to be equally excellent. I chose another special in the form of Viscayan style cod. The sauce with this proved a little salty for my taste, but this was a minor flaw in a meal that was generally of the highest quality, rounded off with traditional crema catalana.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Koxkera also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Koxkera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Koxkera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.