We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Africa Tamarane - CLOSED

Africa Tamarane
C/Riereta, 26, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
+34 931 27 13 05
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Africa Tamarane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: African, Tapas, Vegan, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Real West African food from Sierra Leone. Our main specialities: fufu, pounded-yam, akara, palm wine, ginger beer, fried plantain, jollof rice,okra stew, peanut sauce, african beers and much more. If you really like spicy food, you can order your food with our african spicy sauce. CAN YOU?
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I ate here twice within a week. The first time was a little quiet, not much business, but the food was excellent. The second time was a Saturday night and the place filled up quite nicely but it slowed service a bit, however the quality of food made up for it. Nice, clean ambience with African music playing. The owners, Kutubu and Monica were excellent, warm, friendly hosts! Go check it out! It was actually my favourite restaurant food I had all during my vacation to Barcelona!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    28
    11
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal here, however as the only customers in the place we felt a little conspicuous.

Our meals were nice, although the options for vegetarians are limited. Try the ginger and hibiscus cocktail, it was a highlight.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
“One of the best african restaurants in barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

last week we was in this restaurant, ooh my god the food was so nice in fact every things was so perfect we realy have a good time,we will soon be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Food should cost more than it does”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This restaurant specializes in food from Sierra Leon. The staff speak English and they are eager to teach you about the food they make. The food was extremely good, and even the house red wine was one of the best I've had for the price. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“An all African experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Africa Tamarane, it´s not an average restaurant...it´s got much more to offer than it´s fantastic traditional food in a cosy ambient. It´s a dive in the African culture! local drinks of different countries, African tv and books, table games... if you just fancy to chill out sipping a drink.
Who would guess one can be all over Africa without leaving the Raval at the heart of Barcelona???

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Africa Tamarane also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Africa Tamarane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.