We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel with great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HCC Open Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added HCC Open Hotel to your Saves list
HCC Open Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diputacio, 100, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel with great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this hotel on a special- we were somewhat dubious about it because of it's mixed reviews on TA. Happily I can report that we had a great time.
From the outside the hotel isn't an eye grabber- however when we arrived the front desk was great and efficient, our room was waiting for us, and everything as advertised was there.
The room itself was standard for Europe- beds were great and comfortable (some what small but normal for Spain) , bathroom spotless, and AC working great. The soundproofing was also very good.
Breakfast was included and was fresh and delicious each morning.
The really fantastic thing is that this hotel is so centrally located- 10-15 minutes to any major train station, or La Rumba- so walking around was a breeze. Also the staff were amazing on providing detailed maps and descriptions on how to get to where you need go. They were even nice enough to help us find a restaurant with scallops- which was a bit of a tough find.
All in all I'd say a solid 8/10- I'd definitely recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: They give you a voucher for a free glass of wine which is valid at any of the HCC Hotels, some of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    165
    41
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
116
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

HCC Open is located in the heart of the Eixample area, a less touristy, more calm area than the Ramblas and the shopping area. It is near all the activities without all the noise and crowds. The women at the front desk were reactive, accommodating and friendly. While they didn't speak French, they spoke English well and if you know a little Spanish, you'll get along fine.
The room is fine: clean, the double bed is really two twin mattresses pushed together (typical all over Spain), with all the amenities.
I only ate breakfast in the restaurant - buffet style. Unlike the reception, the wait staff were not friendly, hardly looked up, but if you need anything, they'll get in for you quick enough.
The price could not be better. I know Barcelona well, and I'll come back here. You'll centrally located, near two metro stations, breakfast included for well under what I pay normally.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor if you want the most quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was one week ago in this hotel with my girlfriend and we stayed here for a couple of days. We really like this hotel, the relation quality-price was very good and it is located in the center of the city, near plaza españa. Staff was very nice and helpful, they gave us interesting information about what to visit in Barcelona. I would come again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Staff is helpful, but not very happy to be. If they've told you something once they put up a fight to tell you again. Our wifi wold be disconnected every time we left the hotel and they were SUPER IRRITATED to give us the password again- which, btw, was ever changing. It took us MORE THAN AN HOUR to check in because the front desk staff was having problems figuring out how to imput the price we had been quoted that morning by the manager. There were 5 adults standing downstairs with all of our luggage (2 of them being my 80 year old parents) and it was 11pm. Even though it was clear we were staying there and just finalizing the paperwork they would not allow JUST my parents to go into one of the rooms to lay down. Rooms are clean for the most part, I think..... I stayed 3 in a double room and slept on the roll away but pretty sure I came home with bug bites ALL OVER myself from the roll away. No one else got them and that was the only difference in the trip. Clean, but the floors in room looked a little funky. They gave us a free breakfast deal but when I woke up early and came down to eat before my cab to the airport I was told I could not take an extra mini croissant with me as all food had to be eaten in the dining area. (I get it, that's their policy. However, I was the first and ONLY person in the area and it was clear I was leaving the hotel- and it was a MINI CROISSANT- give me a break.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just off the main tourist area, the Open lets you experience the local culture without giving up access to the main downtown tourist attractions. If you want to walk, everything is within 15 - 40 minutes. Cabs to most areas are less than 10 Euro and the subway stop is two short block away. We had breakfast included and there was a nice variety of choice. There are lots of good restaurants and cafes within a ten minute walk.

Staff are friendly and accommodating. We had a great holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends or come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my friend on a sight-seeing trip. Staff were friendly and provided us with a city map on arrival which was really helpful. Beware because we travelled out of season and some of the attractions were not open such as the Tipidabo funfair and the fountain light show. The room was basic but clean. We had no problems. I asked to borrow an iron and this was delivered to the room for me. Breakfast was nice but the toaster was a bit slow! My friend loved the croissants with the nutella! There was a selection of cakes and pastries, fruit,cereal and yoghurts. Overall we were really happy with our choice of hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice hotel, pleasant staff, clean, basic breakfast but not too bad. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Only a 10 minute walk from the bustling Plaza de Espanya.

Here you have one of the main bus stops for the open top tourist buses and you can also buy your tickets at a kiosk here. A brilliant shopping centre, which used to be a bull ring (and where The Beatles played in the 1960's). It includes a handy supermarket, great shops and plenty of eating places to chose from. Also in walking distance is a park with a colourful Joan Miro statue.

But also use the subway stops close to the hotel. I was only in Barcelona 4 days and didn't brave the subway until day 3. But once I did I wish I had done it sooner, so cheap and simple.

This hotel is a great base to see other things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HCC Open Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Open Hotel

Address: Diputacio, 100, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Open Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the middle of the Eixample district, beside Plaza España and the Fira trade fair grounds and just a few minutes from Plaza Catalunya. It occupies a new building, which was constructed in 2004. Hotel HCC Open is one of the latest additions to our hotel chain and therefore combines all the amenities you would expect of a modern hotel. This, together with its perfect location, make it an excellent choice for a pleasant stay in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HCC Open Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hcc Open Barcelona
Hotel Hcc Open
HCC Open Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HCC Open Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.