We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HCC Open Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added HCC Open Hotel to your Saves list
HCC Open Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diputacio, 100, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just off the main tourist area, the Open lets you experience the local culture without giving up access to the main downtown tourist attractions. If you want to walk, everything is within 15 - 40 minutes. Cabs to most areas are less than 10 Euro and the subway stop is two short block away. We had breakfast included and there was a nice variety of choice. There are lots of good restaurants and cafes within a ten minute walk.

Staff are friendly and accommodating. We had a great holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends or come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    165
    42
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
117
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my friend on a sight-seeing trip. Staff were friendly and provided us with a city map on arrival which was really helpful. Beware because we travelled out of season and some of the attractions were not open such as the Tipidabo funfair and the fountain light show. The room was basic but clean. We had no problems. I asked to borrow an iron and this was delivered to the room for me. Breakfast was nice but the toaster was a bit slow! My friend loved the croissants with the nutella! There was a selection of cakes and pastries, fruit,cereal and yoghurts. Overall we were really happy with our choice of hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice hotel, pleasant staff, clean, basic breakfast but not too bad. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Only a 10 minute walk from the bustling Plaza de Espanya.

Here you have one of the main bus stops for the open top tourist buses and you can also buy your tickets at a kiosk here. A brilliant shopping centre, which used to be a bull ring (and where The Beatles played in the 1960's). It includes a handy supermarket, great shops and plenty of eating places to chose from. Also in walking distance is a park with a colourful Joan Miro statue.

But also use the subway stops close to the hotel. I was only in Barcelona 4 days and didn't brave the subway until day 3. But once I did I wish I had done it sooner, so cheap and simple.

This hotel is a great base to see other things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We liked the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was large and comfortable. Ours even had a bike for fitness :) There is a airobus stop not far away from it so it is easy to get to the hotel from airport. The location is nice as it is quiet but it takes some time to get to the city sights

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week. It's not a bad hotel to base yourself whilst in this fantastic city, but next time we'll stay closer to the vibrant old town. It's located in a fairly quiet neighbourhood, at the wrong end of the Eixample district with not a lot going on. Urgell metro station is just around the corner though (few minutes walk) and in fairness the trains are frequent and quick.
Staff are pleasant enough, as was the room, but nothing really stood out. I suppose one's expectations can't be too high of a 3 star hotel. It was clean though, and that's important.
The daily charge to use the wifi is scandalous, it really should be free these days. Didn't sample the food so can't comment on that but I remember the charge for breakfast being exorbitant too.
In summary you won't be disappointed if you stay here, it strikes me as a reliable hotel, but if you can afford it stay in a nicer property closer to the action.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at the HCC Open in Barcelona for 4 nights in November. It was a delightful experience. All the staff I encountered were very friendly and seemed to speak English (better than I could speak Spanish anyway!), the hotel, as well as the room was nice and clean and had everything you would need for a comfortable stay in this wonderful city.

They have a very large range of food available for their buffet breakfast, and a selection of hot breakfast food can be ordered too. You can take as long you like in the restaurant too, nobody breathing down your neck to move on.

There is free WiFi throughout the building, including your room and you can use it on more than one device.

You have to pay for the safe in the room, however, it only cost me about 6 euro for the 4 nights.

No need to pack loads of travel stuff either as most of it is provided (towels, shampoo, soap, hair dryers etc) and there is several supermarkets within less than a 3 minute walk. The only things missing from the room which I thought would have been nice to have available, was a Kettle/Coffee Machine. There isn’t a Iron or Ironing Board in the room either (I think this could have been brought to your room on request though).

The hotel locations was brilliant, easy walking distance to everywhere, or if you fancy using the underground you just have to walk one block to Rochfort station. (little tip here, get yourself a travel card to match the days you are staying, I got one for four days, it pays for itself, and you can use it on all public transport, even on the train from the airport. (if you book it on line you can pick it up from tourist office at the airport too).

All in all I would defiantly use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cymru
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recently spent four nights at HCC Open Hotel. The hotel location is good.A short walk to the metro station. If you like to explore the city by waking its a pleasant twenty minute walk to the Ramblas . The Boquera market is must to visit. Excellent tapas bars in the market are better value than the cafes and restaurants that line the Ramblas. The Ramblas is well known for pickpockets so beware. The Excellent Olympic port and City beaches are a further 20 minute walk from the market.
The hotel is excellent value.We booked with Easy Jet and breakfast and transfers from airport were included. The breakfast was excellent.All the hotel staff were helpful and friendly . There is a very good Catalan restaurant near the hotel.
If you visit the Parc de la Ciutadella beware of the people collecting for deaf children they will ask you to sign a petition with you name and address,ask you for a donation and ask to see your Identification pass or credit card to verify your signature. It is a scam.
In summary a very good hotel in a stylish city embracing the many good things needed for a good holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HCC Open Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Open Hotel

Address: Diputacio, 100, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Open Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the middle of the Eixample district, beside Plaza España and the Fira trade fair grounds and just a few minutes from Plaza Catalunya. It occupies a new building, which was constructed in 2004. Hotel HCC Open is one of the latest additions to our hotel chain and therefore combines all the amenities you would expect of a modern hotel. This, together with its perfect location, make it an excellent choice for a pleasant stay in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HCC Open Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hcc Open Barcelona
Hotel Hcc Open
HCC Open Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HCC Open Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.