We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, decent location, could use some upgrades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Acevi Villarroel to your Saves list
Acevi Villarroel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel, decent location, could use some upgrades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The hotel has nice clean and large rooms and is in a decent location (about 2 blocks from the nearest metro station and is just outside the main tourist areas). The area is reasonably quiet in the evenings. My father who is a very light sleeper slept well and that's not always the case. Wifi is free and fast and I love that every floor has a public use computer (I only brought an iPhone and its sometimes good to use the bigger screen).


The Bad: The hotel rooms lack amenities I personally consider as very basic. Our room did not have a flat screen TV (we had a 1990's style 20' box TV), a microwave or coffee maker. While the area is quiet, the rooms could do with a little more sound proofing, we had noisy neighbors one night and we could definitely hear them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    219
    59
    15
    14
See reviews for
82
188
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Never been to Barcelona so this was pure chance. Looked good on reviews and we were not disappointed. The location was ideal for either walking or Metro. The room was modern and set out well. Staff very helpful not only answering our questions but suggesting alternatives. Definately be back. Barcelona worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you to spend few minutes to give your opinion about our hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona nad we collaborate for that.
I am happy that you got what you expected when you booked the reservation.
I hope to receive your visit again,

Kind Regards,
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

near the metro, nice room, king size bed, nice bathroom, wifi free in the room perfect, excellent service at frontdesk. Parking only convenient for small cars (20euros +tax) pool very convenient after an excursion day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveling with my boyfriend and four other friends throughout Spain and Barcelona was our first stop. Definitely wanted to stay in the gay area, but also wanted to be close to the sites and attractions. This hotel certainly fit the bill. The rooms are comfortable and roomy, but the beds are typically European - two twins pushed together. We were certainly hoping more from the rooftop pool, but it's pretty much a two foot deep wading pool. Oh well, we weren't in Barcelona to hang out at our hotel. Also wouldn't recommend going to Barcelona in August. It's kind of dead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in mid September. The hotel is very convenient for public transport (airport bus, Metro, bus routes) and 15 minutes walk from Las Ramblas. The rooms are modern, large and functional. Beds are large and comfortable, and bathroom is fitted with bath and separate shower. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly, and although the hotel is essentially aimed at business guests they looked after us well.

The only criticism would be that the aicon was either on (and cold) or off, and therefore the room got pretty hot, even in September.

Bottom line is that I would return to this hotel.....a recomendation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and we hope to get your visit again in the future.

Yours Faithfuly,
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling scot
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I booked a short break in Barcelona and stayed here for 3 nights. Room was a reasonable size with TV and stereo and a large modern bathroom. All clean and faiy quiet. The only thing was air con unit was quite noisy. We had drinks in the hotel and also ate there one night food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was not great though - I assume they don't have a day chef but not a big problem. It is in a nice area and about 10-15 mins walk from diagonal or la rambla. Bar staff and reception staff very helpful. All in all I would stay there again if in the city and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We work hard to give the best of us to our guests.
We try to improve everyday learning from our guests opinions, and to do that we are changing our buffet breakfast adding new products and offering more variety of food.
I hope you have the chance to see those changes if you come back to Barcelona.

Yours Faithfuly,
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel was perfect for us because it was just down the street from the Urgell Metro stop and there was lots of eateries and grocery stores nearby. We got a good rate online and were very pleased by our room. A kingsize bed and tiled bathroom was roomy enough for two. The internet connection was good and the air conditioner worked very well. One problem we had was the air vents blew right on our heads so we flipped around and slept with our heads at the other end, problem solved.
We didn't eat in the hotel, but it looked good and the prices were not bad. We did eat at some of the local places - avoid the Dino Cafe - and kabob shops were great! There is a Lidels grocery store around the block which has great prices on water and snacks.
To find this hotel, take the metro to Urgell. When you exit the metro, there will be a bank on one of the corners, walk towards this bank, up the street of Villarroel. The hotel will be on the right, in about 3 blocks. To go to La Ramblas, take the metro to Catalunga, change to the green line and exit at Liceu. It takes only about 10 to 12 minutes. The metro is fantastic and the trains run on time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Address: C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#124 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining, a spa and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona
Acevi Villarroel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acevi Villarroel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.