We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather a 4* hotel. Perfect medium budget solution.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jazz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jazz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rather a 4* hotel. Perfect medium budget solution.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

The hotel is situated in the very center of Barcelona. A suitable location practically for every type of vacation in the city. Just a three minutes walk from one of the central squares of the city - Plaça Catalunya.
The rooms are stylish, on the second channel on the in-room radio they play really nice jazz and blues. The hotel may rather be rated as a 4*, if they put bathrobes and sleepers))
The stuff is very helpful and cooperative.
So if you are looking for a medium budget, but comfortable and pleasant stay in Barcelona - this hotel probably is one of the best options.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,687
    987
    117
    21
    14
See reviews for
369
1435
100
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We pick this hotel to stay because it's 1) great location - so near metro, shops, restaurants
and airbus stop (very convenient to pick up luggage after check out)
2) base on trip divisor's reviews
3) it's reasonable price and good star ratings

We only had a weekend break in Barcelona so good location's a must. We didn't regret a bit after check-in. In fact, we arrived at 10.30am at the hotel, and wanted just to leave our luggage and check-in later in the afternoon after 3pm. However, the receptionist was very friendly and said there's already 1 room available so she let us check-in right away!

We were very pleased with our room, it's new, clean and we love the interior design. Apart from the mini free shower gel & shampoo, surprisingly, the hotel even give you 2 sets of tooth brush with small pack of toothpaste & sponge. We wonder why it only has 3 stars, should deserve more.

We understand some reviewers of this hotel don't like the underground noise. But for us, we were so tired after the day trip so we didn't really heard much after bedtime. (we stayed on the 5th floor)

We went to the top floor of the hotel to check out the swimming pool, and the view from top was really nice and we started to imagine what will it be like if we visit this hotel in hotter weather ( am sure we will dive into the swimming pool)

The hotel provide free wifi access, which is so convenient with our I-phone since we used it to check the detailed map and nearby restaurants.

The hotel doesn't provide kettle ( I found this is very common in Spain) so be sure to bring a mini one if you can't live without a cup of tea or coffee. It does have a mini fridge.

Don't forget to ask the receptionist about the map (it's smaller than the big and bulky detailed map they gave you at the tourist information center). And on the map it will show you the 3 suggested sight-seeing tours from Jazz hotel, all within walking distance. Ask the receptionist, we had a young lady and she's very knowledgeable about all the local information.

We can't wait for our next stay at Hotel Jazz!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is a new 6 year old hotel, so it is exactly what you see in their web site, clean, modern. The location is amazing. You are in the middle of the 3 main roads- passeo del gracia, rambla and rambla catalunya. We walked everywhere. For tourists Park Guell and magic fauntain are the only two places you need transportation. Of course it is not a 5 star hotel, but que quality is much better than what I ve seen in a 3 stars.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

The hotel's walking distance location to major shopping and the touristy Las Ramblas is a major plus. But if you are looking for a warm, cozy environment this hotel is more austere modern chic. That's not a knock, just an observation. A minor quirk noted by others is the fact that the underground subway trains can be felt and heard from lower floors like ours. It didn't keep us awake, as it did others, but it is worth noting.

The staff were helpful and after we checked out stored our bags for safekeeping with tags until we were ready to depart for our next city hours later. That is a nice touch since the bags were both checked and stored out of sight. Some places you worry about your bags being taken due to lax procedures.

Our overall impression was good, but if you don't mind the lack of warmth it is a good place to stay in Barcelona; comfy bed (split into two twins) and good facilities. The second floor bar and computer area was also a nice addition.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Hotel Jazz is an excellent base for exploring the sights of Barcelona. Good transport links from the hotel - airport transit stops less than 100yds away, metro/bus links are very useful.

Our room was very modern, exceptionally clean - all in working order. Good sound-proofing. The only downside was that our room was stuffy (we stayed in January), so could imagine this being a problem in the Summer.

We decided against the hotel breakfast - as this was too expensive compared to the nearby cafes / restaurants (good deli round the corner serving fresh pastries & coffee for under 2 EUR each).

Free WiFi in the Hotel room & bar area was very useful.

Roof terrace was great (pleasantly warm even in January!).

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

A welcoming smile and complimentary upgrade on arrival; delicious and substantial buffet breakfast with lots of choice - better quality and value than anything else we saw in cafes around the hotel; central location but very quiet; luggage kept for us after we checked out but carried on sight-seeing; very helpful staff when we wanted to print-off flight details we had mislaid; everything was faultless.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My 17-year old daughter and I spent an oval weekend in Barcelona in January. The Hotel Jazz in c/ Pelayo turned out to be the perfect place to stay. Its location in the centre and it’s proximity to the metro station at Plaza Universidad made our needs for getting around much easier. The hotel design is very stylish, and the hotel feels like a safe haven: you actually need a key card to ascend with the elevator. The staff is very forthcoming in a professional way: when the cistern in our bathroom broke, we were transferred to a suite within hours. They also provided us with information material about Barcelona, and tips about good places to eat. The only thing we missed were an information folder about how to operate the air conditioning: the suite was very cold, and it took us a while (a night actually) to discover that we had not programmed the air conditioning panel correctly. When we asked, we were given instructed how to programme the panel, and then the suite turned very warm. To future guests: ask the staff instead of trying to find out by yourself!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona, Catalonia
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jazz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.