We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel near to the las ramblas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jazz to your Saves list
Hotel Jazz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel near to the las ramblas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is located close to the top of La Ramblas but in a quieter area.
The hotel is modern, rooms large and with a rooftop pool.
Very comfortable nights sleep and good location.
So much to see in Barcelona that we did not use the hotel services very much as we were out a lot.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and found this very good size and with a nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,814
    1,067
    125
    22
    13
See reviews for
416
1,582
111
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hotel jazz is a very modern hotel, it doesn't have much character. The staff were ok but not overly helpful, as I had contacted them a week before our arrival to see if we could check in a little earlier as we were travelling to Barcelona by train arriving at 8 am, they said there was little they could do and this would not be possible, we could leave our bags which was good but it meant no shower to refresh and no safe to put valuables in. Our room was inward facing and was very dark, we had to have the lights on all day, although the bed was comfortable. On the plus side, the hotel is in an excellent location just 5. Mins from place de la catalunya and the top of las ramblas. The terrace on the roof was a nice feature to relax on after a day of sight seeing, although the pool was very small.

Overall it was a good base.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location. 7 minutes walk to La Ramblas and Placa de Catalunya, so great for bus/walking tours or shopping. Clean simple design.

Above the subway...so you will feel the vibration a bit...we were on the third floor and still felt it every couple of minutes.

We stayed for 4 nights. 2 afternoons after our tours...the cards won't work in the elevator, so we couldn't go into our room and had to get the cards renewed at the front desk, and the next afternoon, the elevator was repaired, and we were pointed to the stairs. Staff was indifferent and unapologetic. Thank god we were only on the third floor.

We got a room across from an "office" which is where the housekeeping keep all their stuff, and we could hear them talking loudly from our room at all hours. And 2 nights, at 9pm, they knocked on our door and when we opened, only said:"Sorry, no check out." Why not check their list first to see if the rooms were occupied before randomly knocking on guest doors at night? Especially if we're only 2 female friends traveling. The night they didn't knock was when we put a "Do not disturb" sign on.

On the last night, we came back to find the housekeeping staff have damaged the balcony door handle...meaning we couldn't open it for fresh air as the windows can't be opened. The staff admitted it was loose and the front office couldn't get it repaired that night and offered us another room, but since it was our last night and we had to pack for a 6am check out, we stayed in that room and couldn't sleep well because it became quite warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fourth floor up....nowhere near the elevator or "office" which is where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during NYE.

The hotel is located next to Universitat Station, Placa Catalunya is a 3 min walk and La Rambla is a 5-7min walk. The beach is possible to walk to approx 20-25 mins but much easier to catch the Metro. Lots of clothes shops and restaurants close by

The hotel is modern contemporary. Its neat and tidy and lots nice. When you check in and go to your room, you will not be disapointed. Im not sure of its star rating but 4 star would be adequete. It doesnt have a gym or spa although it has a beautiful roof top swimming pool and bar. Note there are many other luxorious looking hotels dotted around but generally I found that inside the rooms they tend to be dated. Our room didn't really have any sign of wear thus the hotel is well maintained.

Price is very competative for location and decor. The service is excellent. The reception staff are attentive and always greet you with a friendly smile and hola.

The wifi here is completely free so bring your laptop/iphone. Used it through out my trip to post pics on facebook and keep in touch with friends.

Restaurant is great, we had evening drinks here and breakfast. Breakfast has a fair amount of choice and all the food tasted great.

Will be back again.

Adios

Room Tip: I recommend staying on a high floor, you may have read on other reviews about noise from the metro w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and we both loved the hotel. The staff were friendly, the hotel was well located and the rooms were clean and modern, I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I don't often post reviews on the hotels i've stayed, but this hotel is perfect with nothing negative to say.
I did quite a research before deciding on this one and it has met all our expectations.
Location = walking distance to placa catalunya, las ramblas, el triangle, the barri gothic, el corte ingles and Universitat is around the corner if you want to take the aerobus.
ROom= spacious, cozy, gr8 ambiance, modern furnishings and a/c is working even during winter.
BAthroom facilities: clean with ample toiletry kit.
Reception: " always" greets you with a nice nod and Hola or simply Hi.!
Checking out: transparent without all the cheats.
Internet service: Free, wifi service inside and out.
Breakfast: can't recommend bec. we haven't tried it yet.

Room Tip: get a higher room facing the street if you want a god view. don't forget to check out the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barga Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Jazz is situated in the Ramblas district very close to the main commercial centre and convenient for the underground. It is within walking distance of the Art Nouveau houses of Gaudi and of the mediaeval Gothic district. We stayed 4 nights for an off season city break: we didn't take the breakfast option as there are many artisan bakeries nearby (try Crusti where you can watch the bread being prepared and baked as you sip coffee and eat your fresh pastries) We also found good local dining at reasonable prices (€10-15 for 2 courses with wine and coffee)
The hotel is newish and has an attractive roof terrace with (very small) pool.
Our room was spacious but marred by poor maintenance: the basin was crazed and the table top stained, the toilet roll holder was broken when we arrived and despite requesting repair nothing was done; the wall of our room had been very crudely repaired after previous damage.....all little things on their own but un-necessary at this standard of hote.

Room Tip: ask for a room above floor 5 to reduce the inevitable street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona, Catalonia
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jazz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.