We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Jazz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jazz to your Saves list
Hotel Jazz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Modern Jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We liked it a lot. Four nights in late November. Location is convenient to Aerobus + Pl. Catalunya, Rambla, and the Gothic quarter. 25 mins nice walk to Pl. Espana conference center. 30 mins lovely walk to Segrada via Eixample. Facts: Curtains offered perfect blackout. No noise from adjoining rooms. Modern trendy and functional design. AC system was effective and very quiet. Lots of lights, and easy switches to control them. Floating hardwood floors. Reserved a "Jazz room" which had two beds side-by-side sheets tucked in separately (we had to untuck!). No coffee machine but many coffee shops within meters outside. No free H2O but supermarkets within 30 seconds outside. Complaints about noise in other reviews here we felt were overstated - we heard a low rumble periodically, that was perfectly tolerable. We were on 6th floor street side. Flat screen TV with CNN + BBC World. Staff were efficient, friendly and competent. Smart card room key to operate elevator adds to security. Place is cute and convenient. I'd go again. Roof top pool was open - would be terrific if we'd had 10 degrees C more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    1,067
    125
    22
    13
See reviews for
416
1,583
111
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Just back from six nights in Barcelona. This hotel suited our needs perfectly. The Airport shuttle drops you off about a two minute stroll away and you can pick it up back to the Airport about a five minute stroll away. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is excellently located. You are right at the top of La Ramblas and have access to everything via foot, metro and bus. Room was a good size, nicely decorated and the bathroom was good with a nice added extra of a box of bits and bobs like dental kits etc that you might need. The only slight down side is that we had a room on a lower floor looking out at a small back courtyard. So no view and a bit dark, but then were weren't in Barcelona for the view from our hotel room! Restaurant menu was also a bit limited, but you are surrounded by hundreds of restaurants and coffee shops, so no danger of going hungry. Roof top pool is small but is a nice extra. The weather was nice enough for us to be able to sit up on the roof area for a short while in the middle of the day and it would be really nice in even warmer weather. Traffic noise does travel up though, so not particularly peaceful. Do watch the prices in the restaurants and bars. We got fleeced the first day, but got wiser after that. You get charged more for sitting outside (even in November) than inside. Make sure you see the price of what you want before you order. We paid €4.20 for a coffee the first day and then discovered we could get it for €1.30! The main area for fleecing appears to the La Ramblas, so eat and drink in the many places either side. The Cathedral designed by Gaudi and still being built has to be the highlight of our visit - don't miss it. It's worth queuing for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This hotel is a must for anybody visiting Barcelona who want to be close to everything.
The hotel is perfectly located - 2 min walk to the tourist buses, metro, train and La Rambles. The reception staff are very helpful and gave advice about where to go and how to get there etc.
The rooms are spacious, comfy, clean and modern. Great value for money.
The restaurant/bar is modern, comfy and reasonably priced. Room service also available.
The rooftop pool is great and shows great views of the area surrounding the hotel.
All in all a great hotel which is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Other views talk of the metro noise which is very slight - a room higher up would be a good idea if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our Honeymoon. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a corner suite. The room was perfect: modern but warm. We loved it.

The staff at the Jazz Hotel (as well as the sister properties) was great. Extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with.

The roof of the Jazz was fantastic. There is a small heated pool and a bartender who makes a killer mojito.

Location: Perfect. About a 2 minute walk from las ramblas. I wouldn't want to stay any closer than that. Also very close to the tour bus stop if you're into that sort of thing.

I think the price was paid was a steal. Modern and spacious hotels are hard to come by; don't miss this one!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the Jazz after a long cruise and could not have been happier. We had very large king room that opened to the outside. There was a little street noise as with most hotels on a busy street, but hardly noticeable after a busy day out in Barcelona. The hotel decor is very contemporary, just my style. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We were there during a very large protest taking place in Playa de Catalunya. The staff helped us navigate our way around all the chaos. Perfect location for walking ( approx. 10 mins.) to Las Ramblas and Passeig de Gracia. The metro is also right across the street for longer adventures. My wife and I cannot wait to go back to the Hotel Jazz. Definitely one our new favorites.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The hotel is well rated for a reason. It has a friendly staff that offers good service. The rooms and hotel are very clean, with very nice daily cleaning service. The room has a large king bed, desk, nice bathroom, laminate flooring, very contemporary and comfortable. Big door opens to the street (a bit noisy as most hotels along busy roads), or courtyard (probably less noise but maybe less privacy from other windows). A bit of vibration from the adjoining metro, but practically negligible. Fantastic roof top with pool and lounge chairs. Immediately next to Metro University (convenient and an Aerobus stop from the airport, a bit under 6 euro a person and 2 minute walk to hotel). Perhaps a 5-6 minute walk to Rambla and 10 minutes to Gracias. (As long as you stay near Rambla or Gracias, you cannot go wrong with hotel location). The building itself is contemporary, so it is very nice; some other hotels are in older buildings with great architecture, so it is a matter of taste. But in short, it seems like Jazz offers the same accommodations as other hotels of this class, just a good 30+% less expensive, so it is really a great deal. If they improved their breakfast buffet, it would be that much better. However, 7 nights here, and turned out very well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This hotel exceeded our expectations! The front desk staff was extremely helpful and pleasant which was much nice after a long trip! The room was very comfortable with a refridge, safe and great huge bed. Close to everything and worked out very well. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona, Catalonia
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jazz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.