We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location+Breakfast+Wifi=Good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #70 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location+Breakfast+Wifi=Good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed only 1 night here but loved the location, about 1/2 block from Pl. Catalunya. Getting here from the airport couldn't be easier; took the Aerobus from the terminal right to Pl. Catalunya - walked from there a block or so to the hotel. The hotel itself is not on Las Ramblas but 1 block over so it's quiet yet only a stones throw to the heart of the city. Rooms are noticeably small but efficiently laid out and well appointed. WiFi was free and easy to connect to without the need for constant logging in - and was faster then expected which is always a plus. Breakfast was very good, free and plentiful with a mix of European and US items and some Nespresso coffees. Front desk staff at least in our experience was friendly, efficient and helpful. No complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    554
    111
    31
    17
See reviews for
134
779
80
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were not impressed by this hotel for the price we paid per night. we were mis-lead by photos on the Tablet website when we booked and thought we were getting a much nicer room, when in fact the room was very sparse and basic in design. it was clean and nice, but the noise from the traffic was constant. we requested a high floor quiet room and still it was so loud through the night, I wouldn't stay here again unless it was for a very low price. The entrance and downstairs lobby area are very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flic En Flac
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel Pulitzer offers you great location and nothing more. For that price it is NOT a great bargain. The building itself is very nice, but rooms tired and needing MAJOR redoing. Service is a real Russian roulette. You could see a smile and swift service but mostly you do not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After getting off the Aerobus in Placa Catalunya, it's only about 100 yards to the hotel. Check-in was fast and easy, and our room was modest but comfortable. Modern art and decor in the rooms, and a spacious bathroom were pluses. The breakfasts were a huge highlight...fresh squeezed orange juice, jamon iberico, fresh espresso, delicious bread, manchego...just a great way to start the day. Location right at the top of La Rambla, with easy access to nearly everywhere in the city, either by walking or subway. Rooftop deck is also very cool. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Pulizer is in a great location, right off of the Placa de Catalunya. We had a great stay there. We were in the suite. It was roomy, had a great, large balcony, and a wonderful shower and bathroom. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts great. They were very accommodating; they made us egg white omelets for breakfast. If you're not going for a five star hotel I highhly recommend the Pulitzer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Small boutique hotel centrally located. Rooftop bar was excellent! Lobby bar is very comfortable.
Rooms are narrow and dark and a little tired. Very disturbed that the lamp on nightstand had a frayed cord. Had to call the lobby for an opener for water bottle. Was told there was one in the desk (there wasn't) or in the refrigerator. What a surprise, didn't even know we had a refrigerator. Refrigerator is in the wall and looks like a vent. Discovered the "desk" by accident on the 2nd day. Safe was located in the desk. On our 2nd night there was a loud group of people on the street under our balcony that kept us awake until the wee hours of the morning. I would have hoped that the hotel would have asked them to leave but nothing. I had been looking forward to staying here but was a little disappointed. Thank heavens the rooftop bar was still open...it was the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentisbeare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you are looking for a comfotable hotel that is ideally placed for access to the city attractions, metro/bus/walking this one maybe hard to beat. The accommodation was faultess; with a great shower! Helpful staff. Short walk to the key areas of the city and 100m to the airport shuttle bus. Will definalty stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the road at front of hotel for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Address: Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Boutique Hotel full of light and with a cool and cosmopolitan atmosphere. In an historical building in the heart of Barcelona, just few meters walk form Catalunya Square, The Ramblas and the famous Paseo de Gracia, Hotel Pulitzer incorporates the last technologies and materials and marry them with its historical roots. Its interiorism has been internationaly admitted and the great customer service is definitly our trademark. We want to share with you our personnality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona, Catalonia
Pulitzer Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.