We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pulitzer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #59 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Scotts Valley, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location - right by La Rambla. Our first night was tough because we were placed in a smoking room. Fortunately we were able to spend the second two nights in a non-smoking room. We enjoyed cocktails in the large lounge area that is beautifully decorated. The hotel is nice, but needs a little TLC. The paint is worn in many places and the floors are damaged.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    663
    507
    111
    29
    13
See reviews for
116
706
74
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Evan it was a bit disapointing to have no view at hall from the room as our window was facing a wall. The room was clean and well furnished.
We liked the bathroom.

Parking located underground where you can pay special price with hotel card 20EUR per day if i remember well.

Plenty of food and places around to get nice breakfast or anything you like at any time of the day or night almost . So we paid for night only without breakfast or anything and we were hitting the streets from the morning to grab street bites.

Lovely city, very nice hotel for a first time in Barcelona as it s really in the middle of the tourist area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed at the Pulitzer for 3 nights. Overall it's a lovely modern hotel, the communal areas are very nice, I liked the bar & lounge area! Staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were smaller than I expected but nicely appointed; very clean and the beds were comfy. Hotel is located on a busy street but we were on the 4th floor and could not here the street noise. It's a good hotel for the price but I also stayed at the Hotel Neri on the 1st leg of my trip and would most likely stay at the Neri again over the Pulitzer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Hotel Pulitzer was in a great location. We took the bus in from the airport and it was a short walk. The bathroom was awesome! Great shower, great products, even a robe and slippers. The bed was super comfortable. The hotel was very clean. The staff was helpful.

We were there in late November, for 4 nights, so the rates were great. I am not sure during high season what the rates would be, but I felt like we got a great deal. In our case, it was an amazing hotel for the price.

We were also able to use their sister hotel next door for internet access. The hotel also had free passes to a nearby gym which was nice. We left town via train. It would have been possible to take the metro to the train station. We decided to take a taxi because our traln left early in the morning. I believe it was less than 10 Euros.

The rooftop bar was closed due to the season. The lobby bar was cool.

The only negative (and it is minor) is that our room was very oddly shaped. It was a decent size, but most of the room was very narrow, so it was hard to find places to put suitcases.

Overall, I definitely recommend the hotel. Its location was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is in such a golden spot! Plaza catalunya just around the corner, and close to all shopping. Close to La Rambla too. Best thing is that the hotel is on a small, quiet street. If you get a room higher up the building you're perfectly fine and free from noise from the streets. It's very clean. Has good showers and beds. Nice lobby. Really full, rich, breakfast. Restaurant has good food, although only a bar menu at night. Gym is included (but in another building).
This will be my choice of hotel when revisiting Barcelona. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley u.k.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

excellent location,very clean,bathroom supplies superb!There "easy food" served in the comfortable bar-lounge was very good.Will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I was there for 1 night only, as I wanted to see as much of the city as possible, which I was able to do since this hotel is so amazingly located. Clean, modern, friendly staff, with great room deals. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pulitzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer

Address: Calle Bergara 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star boutique hotel, light and airy with a cool, cosmopolitan atmosphere.A historic building full of character located in the heart of Barcelona, right next to the Plaza Cataluña, restored using the most innovative design materials and next generation technology.A popular meeting place for local personalities, the well heeled as well as the bohemian crowd.The Pulitzer is unique. Our hallmarks are our hotel interiors, which have received numerous national and international awards, and our exceptional customer service.The latest trends and our stylish personality take pride of place and we would love to share all this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer Barcelona, Catalonia
Pulitzer Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.