We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona House to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Escudellers, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for a week in Barcelona, very nice room and you get all your toiletries + a hairdryer. People had commented it was quite noisy so we requested a quiet room, we had an inward facing room so the only view we had was a brick wall and a corridor, but it was definitely quiet. As for hearing other rooms, I could only hear when in the bathroom.

Despite all the lights in the rooms in various places they are VERY dark rooms, Couldn't even put my make up on properly. Air con works very well (only with windows closed) and lots of TV channels (all Spanish)

The staff were lovely, English speaking and would help you with directions and booking things.

The area outside is not perfect, a few dodgy characters but nothing that took away from being directly on the Rambla and perfect access to the metro.

Would stay here again but would probably try and get a room with a balcony, could have done with being able to spend a night in watching the world go by (but that's partly my fault for asking for a quiet room!)

They do have a tapas bar next door but we did not use it, very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    251
    100
    28
    15
See reviews for
63
220
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently stayed for a couple of days in Barcelona House and stayed in one of the biggest rooms with a huge accessible bathroom. The room was very clean with comfortable beds. A few paintings on the wall would have brightened the look of the room. The other thing missing was the shower curtain in the bathroom, though the rod was there. The staff was very helpful. I will certainly recommend this hotel iIf one is looking for a simple, neat & clean place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, nice en suite. But the windows do not keep out the street noise. Written by people spring outside at 4am.
Checkin was a bit slow phone had priority over me with only one person on the desk.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The location can not be beaten. Just off the Ramblas, next to Placa Reial and close to Metro. Absolutly perfect! They did a nice job remodelling, the lobby and room look very nice. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was nice with a perfect shower (high pressure).
However, the comfort is lmited. The hotel is very noisy, the bed is terrible and a/c can not be adjusted (centrally monitord). Also the WiFi in our room (4th floor) did not work, we only had a good connection in the lobby.

Would stay here again for location, but due to low comfort (mainly bed/noise) i will probably try something else next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location is perfect. Close to most of the main attractions, a very short walk to the metro (~2 minutes?) and right off Las Ramblas. The staff are brilliant, very helpful and accommodating. A reasonably priced, modern and clean hotel. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Do ask for a quiet room though (high floor with a "courtyard view") as the rooms overlooking the street are noisy at night due to the location. Double check this on arrival as we had to move rooms during the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room though (high floor with a "courtyard view") as the rooms overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just down a passageway off of La Rambla, this is right in the middle of it all. Head the other direction for a 10min walk to the El Born area which is also amazing for food, bars, or just a lovely evening stroll (and a little less crowded than La Rambla). Since it's on the southern part of LaRambla, it's also a quicker walk to the beach, ~15min.
This hotel is very modern, clean and new looking. Rooms could be a little more spacious, but ok for the two of us. We didn't go to Barcelona to stay in our hotel! My only complaint is that the walls were thin enough to easily hear anything going on in the rooms next to or above/below you. I'd also recommend an interior room as the area outside the front gets pretty rowdy at night.
A great restaurant is just outside the hotel, called La Fonda.
I was relieved to find they had WiFi after reading somewhere else that they didn't.
I'd definitely come back to this hotel for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Interior rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here in march for 5 nights the location was excellent walking distance to all clubs bars and restaurants and the main shops etc. We did find it fairly noisy at night so it wouldn't be best for older people its defiantly well suited for younger adults who want to party/be central, the rooms were clean and the staff seemed helpful enough

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona House

Address: Escudellers, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barcelona House 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Barcelona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Barcelona House Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.