We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with great transport links” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #48 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with great transport links”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is everything you need for a city break, we even made time to use the spa.

Its opposite the train station which cost 2euros from the Airport, and 1 minute walk from the metro.

Our room had a lovely large bathroom with separate shower

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    924
    166
    34
    20
See reviews for
364
1,247
138
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. The reception staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful with all our questions. Truly amazing in a city where the people do seem to be a bit unfriendly. We had a corner room on the 8th floor with nice views. Loved the big windows, but it did get hot in the afternoon without the drapes pulled. Reviews say to get a higher room, but our view was just fine. Our reservation specified a room with a king bed, but we were given two twins instead. Wasn't real happy about that, but since it was for only 3 nights, we didn't complain. Beds are very, very hard!! I actually thought I was sleeping on a box spring because I could feel the springs. They just put a sheet right on the mattress, nothing else. The room was decent size, lots of storage, with a nice big bath. Double vanities, separate toilet/bidet room, tub, and huge walk in shower. Nice big bath towels (no wash clothes!). Floors and bath all marble. Very clean except for mold around the shower and the corners of the bathroom needed a good sweeping/cleaning.

Noise is an issue. We could hear traffic from the street, but at night it didn't keep us awake. The hallway noise is disturbing when guests come in very late. You could hear them walking on the marble floors, and could hear normal conversations in the hallway as well. Also, the doors do slam quite hard unless you take caution to not let it slam. At 2:00 am, it is disturbing. I don't know that there is a room where this wouldn't be an issue.

Location is far from the "main drag", and a taxi is approximately 10+ euros to go anywhere. If you want to use the train, the station is across the street, about 2 blocks walking distance. There are a few restaurants and fast food establishments in the area, but I didn't see much in the way of shopping.

Breakfast wasn't my taste, but my husband liked it well enough. The hot food was mostly cold, and on the second day there were no eggs to be had. Cheese and meat options were really good, as was the fruit and juice selections. That's what I ate, and it was more than enough for me. Not really worth 13,20 euros, but certainly convenient. The breakfast staff were efficient, although could have been a little more friendly. This seems to be the case with a lot of people in Barcelona. We had dinner in the main dining room on our last night. Very nice service, and the staff was terrific. In this case, I loved the food, and my husband not so much. We both had the spiney lobster risotto. It wasn't the best risotto I've ever had, but it was quite good and I enjoyed it. The house wine selections were very good, too. Husband ordered a jacketed potato, which we assumed was a baked potato. But no, it was just potato wedges. I ordered the steamed vegetables, which were perfect. All our servings were HUGE, more than one person could eat. Because my husband wasn't fond of the risotto, the staff treated us to an after dinner glass of champagne. So thoughtful of them! Truly appreciated.

Wifi in the hotel worked quite well. Sometimes it was intermittent but overall very good. Husband had a bit of trouble logging on the first time, and Pablo appeared at our door in a matter of minutes to help. That is service!!

Now, my one complaint. The first night we got in late after our tour, and retired rather early because we were exhausted. Next morning, we left early, and didn't come back until after dark. Second morning we slept in a little, and when I woke up I noticed both beds had sheets with dried blood on them. They weren't stains, they were fresh. On my bed it was under the pillow and there were also food chunks that I could scrape off the sheet, so I knew they hadn't been washed. On my husband's bed, it was farther down the bed, and were mostly blood smears. We obviously hadn't noticed when we went to bed either night. I was a bit dumbfounded to say the least. It was very apparent that the sheets had not been changed after the previous guest, because neither my husband nor I had eaten in the bed, and neither of us had any bleeding issues. I walked down to the front desk and told them. They said someone would take care of it. Later that afternoon the maid came in to clean the room, and I asked her to please change the sheets. Apparently they don't change sheets unless you ask them specifically! Ick!! Later, they slid a "pre-printed" note under our door apologizing for the "issue". This incident really changed my perception of the hotel. So many very good things about things, I really wanted to give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel soundproofing is awful. I spent 2 nights in the hotel. The first There was a concert in plaza catalunya (1km away from the hotel) and we were able of "enjoy" it till 3 a.m. The second night there was not concert, but this time we were able to "enjoy" the cars and street noise.

On the other hand, be aware if you book a suite with independent living room because you could receive just a big room and they will say that they have 2 kinds of suites.

Finally, they cleanliness could be improved. There were some nasty sticky stains on furniture.

Room Tip: choose other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya at the end of April. The train from the airport takes approximately 15 minutes and drops you at the main train station (Barcelona Sants) which is located across the street from the hotel. Very convenient. Recommend buying a T10 travel card at the airport train station as this will take you to and from the airport as well to the major tourist attractions downtown which is a short Metro ride away.

We had a reasonably priced breakfast at the hotel restaurant (Visual) which is located on the top floor. The selection and food quality is excellent not to mention the spectacular views.

The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and clean. There is a door between the bathroom/closet area and the bedroom so great for privacy. The front desk staff are very pleasant and accommodating.

Would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Directora de Alojamiento at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Murton1,

All the team of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, specially at the Front desk, wanted to thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Barcelona and we will be more than pleasured to host you again in teh future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was comfortable, with a great modern bathroom of granite and marble. Reasonable rate via hotels.com. Staff was terrific, helpful, multi-lingual, and friendly! There was a very slight delay in getting into our room, and we found an "excuse me" small bottle of champaign in our room in the evening -- an unnecessary, but very pleasant, surprise. Perfect location just across from the Sants RR station for our train reservations the next morning. Convenient to metro and able to walk to the Place d'Espanya, the "magic fountains"; etc. Would have given the hotel 5 stars if the room had been a little larger and the fitness center had better/more recent equipment.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Directora de Alojamiento at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Randy K,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. All our team is happy to hear them.

We will be glad to welcome you again in your next visit to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent three nights at this hotel and it was a very good experience. All the staff were helpful, polite and friendly. The room was comfortable, spacious and had a spectacular view (we were on the 16th floor). The breakfast buffet was very varied & good quality. As the restaurant is on the 23rd floor, it offered views of the city in all directions. We also ate dinner there one evening which was of a very high standard.
The hotel is very well positioned to see the city with good connections for rail, metro and bus as well as being within walking distance of some of the sites of interest.
All in all I would recommend this hotel as a very good base from which to explore.

Room Tip: Go for one of the higher floors to maximise the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Directora de Alojamiento at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Carole C,

We are so grateful for your comments regarding Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.

Glad to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is very clean and modern, but it is located about 15 minutes walk from restaurants and attractions. It is just across the street from the main train terminal, so that is handy if you are traveling by train. There are several good restaurants located in the old Bullfighting Ring that has been transformed into a mall that is 15 minutes away. Also, there are a number of attractions just a few minutes further.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Directora de Alojamiento at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear FDMChianti,

Nobody but our guests can describe better than us our location.

Thank you very much for your comments and we will be more than pleased to welcome you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.