We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great customer service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to spend a few days in Barcelona. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom spacious. Customer service is a real plus - from the front desk to the bar staff, everyone was cheerful and polite. My husband was thrilled with the small cake he received on his birthday from the management!

The only reason the hotel didn't get 5 stars is its proximity to the centre of town. There are a number of metro stops close by so getting around is easy enough but I like to walk everywhere and it just wasn't possible from here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia V, Director General at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Gran Torre Cataluña.


The whole crew at the hotel would love to thank your comments about the great customer service!!

Should you be coming to Barcelona anytime soon, do not hesitate to call us...

Best regards,

Patricia Vieitez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    873
    154
    32
    20
See reviews for
345
1,180
131
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I took my other half here for a suprise birthday treat and it was the best few days I have had for a long time :-) we will be back same time for his next birthday!! The breakfast is amazing especially the continental breakfast mmmm!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia V, Director General at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

We do appreciate your comments about the excellent breakfast! But above all we love these words: "we will return again in the next birthday"!!!!

We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!

Kind Regards,

Patricia Vieitez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here last April and it was great place and very close to the station. Also very close to various other touristy places. We had dinner in the top floor restaurant and it was great food and the staff were lovely not forcing anything on us when we were confused what to order. And the views were just awesome. Highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Do plan a dinner to enjoy the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia V, Director General at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully, we will see you again soon!

Best regards,

Patricia Vieitez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely, clean hotel with amazing views over Barcelona city. Good location right next to the metro station. Very good breakfast with fresh fruits and very good coffee. Large comfortable bed. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia V, Director General at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Gran Hotel Torre Cataluña.

We are thrilled to read about your exceptional stay.

We appreciate your endorsement and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Patricia Vieitez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayen one night and had chosen this hotel because it was very close to the railwaystation. Whish means easy acess from the airport, and straight on the TGV to Prpignan the morning after. Friendly velcome in the reception. A large, spacious rom. A large bath area too, with a separate shower and bathtub.
The breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia V, Director General at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel!!

We appreciate that you liked the Gran Hotel Torre Cataluña and I transmit your comments to the staff.

Best regards,

Patricia Vieitez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for 4 nights over the Easter weekend.

Excellent location as it is next to Barcelona Sants main railway station.
It has the 4* amenities/comfort and the in-house Spa is a good facility.

We were given a list of optional extras (room upgrade, breakfast, spa treatments) when we checked in, but make sure you know the terms before going for it as they can rack up the costs.

There are 2 levels of room upgrades - we opted to pay an extra 13.50 EU per night to upgrade from the 7th floor to the 12th. This was sufficient, as we were high enough and the views were excellent.
Plus, you can go to the 'Visual' restaurant on the 23rd floor if you wanted to see the city from a higher perspective.

We were given room 1202, a lovely spacious corner room. The bathroom/shower is big, and the beds were ok.

If we wanted to include breakfast, we could only get the reduced rate (16.50EU instead of 18EU) only if we committed to taking it for every day of our stay - this is not worth the money as there are plenty of cafes nearby where you can get breakfast for half the price.

We had a pleasant stay at Torre Catalunya, and would come back again.

I've not rated this 5 stars as negatives include:
- no menu for spa treatments on their website
- breakfast is over priced for what they provide (basic buffet-breakfast at best)
- restaurant is expensive but the food was mediocre.

Room Tip: a room above the 12th floor should give good views, don't waste money going for the top upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia V, Director General at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Gran Hotel Torre Cataluña.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel.

All feedback is gratefully received and used to both evaluate and improve upon the service we provide to all of our guests.

Kind regards,

Patricia Vieitez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I were excited about this hotel. The reviews were favorable and the "panoramic" views sounded great. Unfortunately our experience was subpar. Upon checking in we were scolded for using Booking.com to reserve our room. Apparently the staff doesn't like that. To make the point clear, they gloated about another couple checking in at the same time who got "the best room in the hotel" for a 100€ less than what we paid for the same nights. The receptionist advised we should have used the hotel's website instead. That's great, but it doesn't do anything for us now and makes us feel terrible because we overpaid. They said there was no ability to adjust our rate, again because we used Booking.com. The hotel didn't redeem itself later. The following are additional issues:

1. The panoramic views weren't what we saw in the online pictures. The room looked very different
2. Every morning we heard furniture sliding across the tile floors as housekeepers clean the rooms. It was loud and annoying.
3. The TV is outdated and the English channel selection consists of 24-hour news channels. Granted we didn't visit Barcelona to watch TV, but before bed it's nice to watch something. Other hotels at least had the Discovery channel.
4. Street noise was constantly heard. We were on the 17th floor.
5. Bed was cheap and uncomfortable (pillows were very good though)
6. No outlets nearby the bed
7. Water costs 3,25€ from the mini-bar
8. Music player plays CDs and Cassette tapes? (no way to play from iPod/iPhone or other device)

To be fair, the following was good about this hotel:
1. Pillows
2. Shower / Bathroom (Double Sinks)
3. Eclectic Bar
4. Proximity to Train Station
5. Elevators were fast
6. English speaking staff

Overall, this was the worst hotel of our trip to Spain, which included stays in Madrid and San Sebastián. We would definitely choose a different hotel if returning to Barcelona in the future. In fact, we loved the city and didn't let the poor hotel choice ruin our trip. I definitely recommend visiting Barcelona, but would advise a better hotel closer to the city attractions.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia V, Director General at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Gran Torre Cataluña. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Patricia Vieitez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.