We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view - poor spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off!
Ranked #46 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing view - poor spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good location. Just in front of the station "Sants", very easy to reach from the airport. Nice, spacious room, amazing view, very nice bathroom. The welcome at the reception was extremly friendly and helpful. The breakfastroom at the 23rd floor is really nice - the breakfast itself was ok, but not the best. We were very dissapointated in the spa. We were looking forward to some relaxing hours in a nice spa, but found a rather dirty pool area, with a window wide open directly to the garage, very slippery floor, rather dirty relaxing beds (not even enough for the ten guests that were there at the time, so we had to share one) right in front of the pool. We got one towel each, wich we also found not enough, if you wanna go to the sauna and the pool. We found the spa is definetly not worth the 6 Euro we had to pay for it and we would have expected something else in such a nice hotel!!
Nice hotel - amazing view - friendly stuff - poor spa and rather poor breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    931
    168
    34
    20
See reviews for
369
1,256
138
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good location close to my business appointment. Although I arrived after midnight sthe staff didn't complain and I felt welcome.
The rooms were clean and ready to use.
And I don't like to write a review for at least 200 characters. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ideal location, step out of the station and your there, can easily access all the sights from here. Hotel is clean, receptionist georgina was exceptionally welcoming and helpful in pointing out sights to see, we pretty much follwed her quick itenarary. Stayed 3 nights, had breakfast on one morning which was slightly expensive but good hot/cold selection. WIFI available and also an internet room. All staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room had all the facilities of a 5* room and very clean. Stayed on the 5th floor so not much of a view but good light due to huge windows. very comfortable stay would definitly consider staying here again but probably look for a package that includes breakfast.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have double sided windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉県
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is in front of the station. I stayed in double bed room for single use. The room was very clean and big. Above all, the bath room was very wide. There were bathrobes and slippers.

There was spa in the hotel. Guests can use sauna, Turkish hamam and bubble bath with 7 Euro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The reception staff were extremely helpful. We upgraded to an executive room and the bed and pilows were really comfortable, with a huge bathroom and tea making facilites, Molton Brown complimentary toiletries etc. We used the gym and spa - the former is free and open pretty much all day and the latter was 6 euros. I'm not sure how it would cope size wise if the hotel was full as we were there off season. Both are small but well equipped. We ate in the top floor 'Visual' restaurant where the views across the city were amazing and the food excellent. You pay a price for eating in the hotel but the views compensated and it was easily the best food we ate during our visit. The staff in the Eklecktic Bar were fabulous, friendly and full of great advice. In a day and a half we walked everywhere and managed to see Camp Nou (20 minute walk, very pricey but had to be done with a football fan husband), Sagrada Familias, Las Ramblas and Montjuic Castle. Montjuic Castle was free and we chose to walk rather than take the cable cars - it was steep but worth it and free to enter with panoramic views over all of Barcelona. Las Ramblas was just a shoping street - I guess it may be more entertaining in season but to be honest we weren't that impressed. Our only disappointment was when we arrived the Magic Fountain was broken so we didn't get to see a display, but this was only a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. Overall a great location, spacious and clean room and excellent facilities. We would stay again if we went to Barcelona and for those not so keen on walking the tourist bus stops by the adjacent station and there are metro and train stations on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Go to the top to avoid noise from the busy city streets and enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Maybe... the property was a little tired. Our view was not that fantastic. Still, the staff were friendly and helpful... they recommended a nearby, great little restaurant. The location was right next to the train station and tour bus stops, so we were able to get around easily. So, we would probally stay again, depending on the price ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just two nights . Very beautiful hotel . Startegic position , in front of Barcelona-Sants train and Metro station. Very very clean. Staff very committed to help you , atany time ,for any request. Restaurant at the top of the tower with a wonderful panorama of Barcelona. Very nice staff at restaurant as well. Room big with all comforts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.