We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Mas de Barberáns, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Average in everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. People were very friendly and supportive. Location is good because of the tube is close by. The restaurant is fantastic, amazing views from the city. We didn't like the beds. They weren't very comfortable. We woke up not in the best conditions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    810
    145
    29
    16
See reviews for
327
1096
125
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This four star hotel has an excellent location. It is half block away from the Barcelona sants station (especially if you take train from Madrid or any other city to Barcelona). The hop-on and hop-off tour bus stop is behind hotel. A few blocks away from the major attractions. The room is very big, clean and marble modern decorated. You can also take the public transportation right in Sants station (L3 gets you to the city center). Buy a 10-ticket pass so you can share. From hotel to airport is about 27 euro ride, 20 minutes and very reasonable.

We stayed there for three nights and the room service is also excellent. They remembered my birthday and sent me a birthday cake to the room. The restaurant is on the top of the hotel and has a great view of the city, especially in the evening. Very friendly front desk staff and helpful.
Definitely this hotel is recommended and rate high on my hotel list.

Room Tip: choose a room face to the sants station and it has a very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Torre Catalunya for 4 nights. This is one of our favourite hotels in Barcelona and we stayed there before. We like the area a lot – not too central, but very close to all the places of interest. We stayed at the suite on the 20 floor with an amazing view. If windows were cleaned properly, the view would be even better. I celebrated my birthday in Barcelona and we got a bottle of cava and a piece of cake from the hotel – very nice touch. The room is very spacious, good bed and great bathroom + extra toilet. 2 TV’s with many channels. We had breakfast once and it was very good – a various choice of everything you need. But we still find the breakfast quite expensive (12 Euros). You can eat for 5 euro in many nice local bakeries just 5-10 min. walk from the hotel so we did it instead of eating at the hotel. We also used SPA once – it is small, but it is good if you just want to relax for an hour after a long day in the city.

The only negative thing was Wi Fi problems which were never solved. It was not working and we had to call for help a few times, but the solution we have got was 1 hour use of internet ( we have got it 3 times), but they never managed to fix it properly.

One day the maid forgot all the garbage in the middle of the bathroom and forgot to refill shampoo/shower gel. A kind of unprofessional…but it can happen…

Anyway we enjoyed our stay there and we would stay there again. But not top score because of WiFi problems and dirty windows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you do not mind travelling by metro for a few minutes to get to the city centre, then this is really a good choice. The hotel is in opposite of the train station Barcelona Saints and the metro station, perfect location!
We had an executive room, on the 15th floor and we had a very nice view of the city.
Breakfast and restaurant is on the topfloor, with also an amazing view!
The room is spacious and clean. Staff is friendly, they even sent us a birthday cake, nice gesture.
Great price-quality if you want to escape from the city centre madness.

Only one thing, when we arrived in the afternoon (after check in time) the room was not ready yet. But they offered us a free drink, that was nice.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I went for a week to Bcn in May 2012 and we decided to move a bit closer to the train station from where we were staying (Eixample) so that it would be easier to take the train to El Prat the following morning. Their suites have excellent value so we decided to treat ourselves to one.

When we arrived the reception couldn't find our booking, so she asked me to go downstairs to the business centre to print the confirmation. We had to wait a while after that, for reasons I no longer remember (either she didn't see the booking or the room wasn¨t ready, but we were there late in the afternoon). She gave us two coupons for free drinks at the bar whilst she sorted it out, which was nice. The bar is really lovely and the staff there are nice, and we got our room in about 15 mins.
I was just surpised of the difficult checking in, as this was the most luxurious hotel we stayed during our trip in Barca & Sitges, which were only around 1 star and had very easy check in.


The hotel as a whole is really great. It is a business hotel, so it is slightly impersonal, but i would stay there again in the future for a few days. If I were staying for a week or more I would probably opt for an apartment either in the same area or near the beach, as I find apartments more comfortable anyway.

The location of the hotel is really nice and the area is quiet and safe. If you stay in this hotel, definately get a high floor room. The views at night are amazing! They also have great toiletries.

And I really recommend trying out the breakfast buffet. It might be a bit pricy, but there's plenty of everything and the views are yet again breathtaking. It was a bit sad though eating breakfast early the next morning with the city beneath you, since we knew we were leaving lol. But the dawn from the breakfast room is very romantic as well, and the vision will always stay with me.

Room Tip: The higher the better! If possible, go for an executive or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed at Torry Catalunya 5 or 6 times now and it's always a pleasure coming back to it. The staff is very friendly and the service excellent. The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Worth mentioning is also the 40 different TV channels, everything from CNN and BBC World to the regional channels of the Basque country, Galicia and the Canary Islands.

The hotel is really excellent and it's very hard to find anything negative to say about it. Maybe the location is a bit of a minus for those wanting to visit La Rambla, MareMagnum and the areas normally frequented by tourists. On the other hand it is next to a metro stop and Barcelona's main railway station Sants, with easy access to the airport.

It also has a very good gym for a hotel and a clean and well functioning spa. I can warmly recommend this hotel, it's certainly very good value for money.

Johan Häggman
Brussels

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra to have a room on one of the top floors, the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.