We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Be Mar Hostel

Save Saved
You added Be Mar Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Be Mar Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Carrer de Sant Pau 80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 669 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Saint-Etienne, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

First of all, we reserved 6 nights in an apartment with kitchenette and private bathroom. We have done this in another city so we expected our experience to be as good as the first. Three days before we arrived in Barcelona, we received an email saying that due to technical and maintenance problems we were being moved to a twin room (2 twin beds) with a shared bathroom. There was no mention of any discount or free night so I emailed back saying that we would appreciate the first night free since this was out of our control and not what we asked for. They responded saying that we would have to pay the full price for the twin room instead of the price for the apartment (no mention of even a discount). I emailed back saying that we could not, in good spirit and principle, accept to pay full price for a room we didn't originally reserve because of problems out of our control. It wasn't until THEN that they said, ''Ok we will give you 50% off your first night.'' We weren't too happy that it took us bothering them enough just for the offer.

Upon arrival we wanted to pay with our card, only to be surprised that if you pay with a foreign bank card they add 7 % to your total, which was never explained anywhere on their website when we booked. We had to leave in the middle of checking in to go get cash and come back and then wait while someone else was being checked in. The lady at the desk didn't smile once and it wasn't a very warm welcome at all.

We arrived a bit early so they let us go to our room to leave our luggage (with the understanding that it wouldn't be clean yet). We left our luggage and came back many hours later to find the apartment only semi-clean (from how we had seen it in its previous state). The floors hadn't been swept, objects had just been removed like trash, etc (there was still a pair of socks from the previous renters).The bathroom smelled horrible. While the sheets smelled clean, there was a big yellow stain on the duvet cover (on the underside so hopefully we wouldn't see it?). Also the towels weren't very clean. We went to complain at the front desk and they said they could give us new sheets and towels etc. but that they couldn't have anyone come properly clean it until the next day and that WE had to pass by the front desk to remind them the next morning. No thanks! Not very professional if you ask me. For the price we were paying for our private room, we expected to be treated as if it was a hotel and not a hostel (seeing as the apartments are down the street from the actual hostel). I guess we will think twice next time.

For us, we were on the 4th floor, the noisy street wasn't a big problem. It just added to the ambiance of being in a vibrant and busy city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    24
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
21
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Was disappointed overall with this hostel. We stayed as a group of 6 for the gran Prix weekend. Accordingly we booked a 6 bed dorm for group privacy. On arrival we were informed that they had all been allocated which I found unacceptable. The rooms are very small and cramped and the a/c must be kept on at all times as a result. The mattresses in the bed were extremely uncomfortable and the sheets provided were threadbare. Overall the standards were not what you would expect from a European hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My sister (22 yrs) and I (19 yrs) stayed in the be mar apartments April 2013. We are travelling around Europe and this was by far the worst of the places we stayed. The only good thing was location: train close by, that there was a wok to walk right next door and las ramblas very close.
The room was shocking. First the plates, glasses, cutlery, sink and bench were not cleaned and still had food stuck to them. Also one of the mugs was even broken and left in the cupboard. The fridge was barely cold and not working. The cupboard still had a mans shoes in it, I'm guessing the previous guest. The shower water starts off great but after about 2 mins goes cold and is shocking. The roof in the bathroom leaked everywhere, possibly because it was raining when we were there but either way it was always wet on the bathroom floor and toilet. We were only provided with two towels. No floor mat for the bathroom floor or tea towels for the kitchen. The bed sheets did not look like they had been cleaned either. The remote for the tv was missing also. Kitchen was tiny. Basically a small hallway. Street extremely noisy and couldn't sleep. There was a big fight between two other female guests in the middle of the night that sounded both physical and verbal which went on for hours ridiculously loud. The lift was not working when we arrived. Had to carry our suitcase up 4 flights of extremely narrow steep stairs because we were on the third floor. Lift when working doesn't even go to ground level, only level 1. The stair case was barely wide enough to bring our suit cases up and was very difficult. Staff member, cannot remember her name, was very rude to us when we informed her checking out of the issues with the room, did not care or even apologise in the slightest.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the apartments here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at the Be Mar Hostel from April 21st to 24th 2013. The location is pretty near the Ramblas. The staff is vey welcoming and the place neat. I slept in a 8-beds dormitory. Beds are fine and you will get a good night's sleep. When checking-in you get a card that gives you access to your dorm and personnal locker. No need to bring a personal padlock. Your stuff is secure and you can leave it in the locker during the day. The toilets and showers are shared ones and are kept clean throughout the day.

For the price of the room, breakfast is included (orange juice, cereals, chocolate spread, marmelade and bread) + free wifi (3 computers in free access if you do not bring your laptop).
You can also try 2 of the free city tours in English operated by Tour me Out (Gaudi Tour/Gothic Tour). I did both and I think it gives you a little bit of historical background about the city. One of the tour guide, Conan, is really enthusiastic and I guarantee you will have a great time.

All in all, I paid 46 € for 3 nights at the Be Mar Hostel and I believe that's a bargain for the quality of this youth hostel.

Try it, you won't be disappointed !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed in April 2013 2 nights in apartments and 1 night in twin(shared bath). Location near Rambla street-excellent! Very polite and friendly english-speaking staff! Clean rooms! Good price...have the best rest with BeMar!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It has a good location, just ten minutes walk from Las Ramblas, but you have to walk through not the best neighbourhood in Barcelona. It is a clean youth hostel to travel with a low budget. Don't expect a great thing, but if you are aware that you go to a hostel and not a hotel it is very much right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was the place i loved during my entire stay in Barcelona. Ver near to all the important attractions in Barcelona. Very neat and clean with Bfast Served. Excellent staff/Reception. I would strongly recommend this as it very peacefull and great place, NO pool/room service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Be Mar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Mar Hostel

Address: Carrer de Sant Pau 80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 669 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Be Mar Hostel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right where you want to be!Best location, cool and famous Hostel in Europe!!! Be Hostels Mar is the perfect Hostel for you right in the city centre!!! Well located and close to the most important spots. Five minutes from les Rambles, the Port and the Olympic Park. We have many years experience welcoming travelers from all around the world, so we understand what you want!Find in Be Mar Hostel:- Free breakfast- Free Internet and WIFI access to keep connected with the world- Free fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Be Mar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Mar Hotel Barcelona
Be Mar Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Mar Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.