We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Itaca Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Itaca Hostel to your Saves list
Itaca Hostel
Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
London
1 review
“Helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff were excellent. Whenever we needed help, they were there to assist us.

Showers went from hot to cold quite frequently.

Easy to reach the centre. Probably no more than a half an hour walk from the main attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    82
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
56
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in one of the apartments a few minutes away from the hostel itself. The apartment and room was very nice located just a few minutes from the cathedral. Free breakfast was basic bit good and there's a fully equipped kitchen for anyone who may want to cook.

The wifi didn't work well in the room itself but was fine in the apartment's common areas. The room had a ceiling fan but was still quite warm.

Good stay, would visit again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamnik, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

It was a pleasant stay, we were in 10 bed dorm, but rooms have really good bed arrangement, so you don't feel like you have 8 people in the room.
The stuff was extremely nice and we loved that they let you use the common room and the kitchen even after check out.
Location is really nice, close to the centre and to the beach.
The only down sides were that hot water really needs ages to come out in the shower and that apparently they also rent the common room, because it was occupied both mornings when we were staying there, so you can't really use it in the mornings.
All in all we had a really nice time there and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaItaca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Itaca Hostel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for taking your time to leave a review. We have a spacious rooms with balcony. About the showers, we know the first person that use the shower have to wait a little bit to have hot water, but then it works normally. We apologize about that. We don't rent the commoon room, but we use it in emergency cases like someone missed their flight and we don't have beds available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

it is really a very nice hostel. it is clean, location is good, staff is very helpful and friendly. the breakfast is included in the price and it was good, tea and coffee are available all day. they have a kitchen for cooking your own food and a comfortable common area. i definetely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaItaca, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Itaca Hostel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for recommend Itaca Hostel to other people. It's difficult to keep everything clean and comfortable to everyone. But we have lovely guest like you ;). Thanks for visiting and we will waiting you to come back again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was my first ever experience of staying in a hostel and my first time travelling alone as well. When I arrived I felt very welcomed by the staff who worked at reception and I soon had my key to my room, I was staying in a room with 5 other people. The room was great, it had all the basics such as a locker, which had a plug socket inside. The shared bathroom was always clean and so was the rest of the hostel. The hostel itself is located in an amazing area, it's down a little side street just by the cathedral which makes it very easy to find if it's your first time in Barcelona. In the morning there was a free breakfast, which was very basic but this was very convenient for people who wanted to get up early and get out exploring in Barcelona. There were also plenty of kitchen utensils so you could make your own food and there was also a fridge to store food.

I think my favorite room had to be the common room, here I met people from all over; New Zealand, Australia, Serbia, America, Sweden and this was just in 3 nights of staying here. It's a really nice atmosphere to come back to after a long day of venturing around Barcelona, a great place to chill and share stories in the evening. So to sum this up if you're ever planning on visiting Barcelona stay in Itaca, the prices are great and so is the hostel. I definitely think I'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaItaca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Itaca Hostel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks very much for taking your time to leave a review. We're glad to hear this, the hostel experience is unique, you can meet people from around the world, and Itaca has the perfect conditions to love the hostels. We hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights rooms were quiet hot to sleep in, wifi only worked in the common room and reception area, bathrooms were pretty average but overall hostel is great for what you pay for. The hostel is close to restaurants, cafes an amazing icecream place and beautiful Barcelona buildings and a 10 minute taxi from Barceloneta Beach however noisy early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great place to stay and met some great people. Our private room was very clean. We found one beetle but were able to get rid of it! Otherwise, Itaca was wonderful and would definitely stay there again in the future. Front desk service was excellent and provided us with recommendations for tours, shows, and food!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Itaca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaca Hostel

Address: Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the Gothic area of Barcelona, in a quiet pedestrian street next to the Cathedral square.If you stay with us, in just a few minutes walk you have all the main cultural atractions (Picasso Museum, Cathedral, Music Palace, Gaudí’s arquitecture, MACBA, CCCB, Ramblas…) the beaches, traditional tapas bars and areas to enjoy the cosmopolitan nightlife of Barcelona.We guarantee you are in the centre, where everything happens but you will have peace to sleep well!!In Itaca we don’t allow people to stay who don’t respect the right of others to rest. For those (like us!) who like to enjoy the nightlife but also the wide cultural variety our city offers, Itaca is the ideal place to stay. For those who look for getting drunk and out of control, well, we suggest that you head to one of the many ‘Party Hostels’ that exist in Barcelona!Itaca has a maximum capacity of 30 people, this allows us to have a more personal touch with you, and between you. We are able to give you the attention and help that you need to enjoy your stay with us.Our installations are spacious, clean and welcoming. All the rooms are exteriors with balconies. We have dormitories, double rooms, family rooms and apartments.US….Inspired by our travels, we opened Itaca en August 2001 with the intention of bringing together the things we liked best from other places, creating a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. A place to socialize and rest, where you will feel free to discover our culture at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Itaca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itaca Hotel Barcelona
Itaca Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Itaca Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.