We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Itaca Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Itaca Hostel to your Saves list
Itaca Hostel
Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was a great hostel. I was fortunate enough to stay in both the hostel and the apartment building down the street with the private double rooms. Both were fantastic in different ways. The locations for both were superb in the Gothic area. The hostel was very quiet and very secure. They had 24 hour reception and everyone I encountered there was friendly and helpful. You can leave your bags there if you arrive before check-in and not worry about them.
The apartment building was also very secure. The rooms, bathrooms, and toilets were all very clean.
I hope to get back to Barcelona one day and to stay here again.

Room Tip: The private double rooms in the apartment building were wonderful. I wish I could have stayed there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    82
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
56
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Itaca is a small hostel. It's clean and the staff is really helpful. Its location is just great, because you can walk in 5 minutes to three different metro stations and it's close to the Rambla. It's more expensive than most hostel, but the location worths it. And you can buy a good breakfast for 2,50 (really better than the usual hostel breakfast),

Some of the guests were not really respectful, but it's not the hostel fault. If I come back to Barcelona, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Itaca is a nice small hostel, with very friendly staff, decent bathrooms and nice, fully equipped kitchen. I loved the central location and quietness of it. Also, it was reasonably close to get to the airport bus stop.

I stayed in one of the rooms with bunk beds - rooms were spacious, had lockers with padlocks and felt safe.

Overall - I would stay there again if travelling solo and/or on the budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is a smallish hostel, very close to the Cathedral, in the Barri Gotic. There was wifi in the lobby, a decent sized kitchen and a pretty friendly staff. We had a private twin room with a bathroom, but no shower. The communal showers were the kind that turn off automatically after what feels like 2 minutes so you have to keep pushing the button. I hated that. But otherwise, nice hostel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in the apartment just off Pere Mas Baix off Via Laietana. Excellent location in the city, in the heart of it all. The staff were great. The apartment had shared bathroom and kitchen which wasn't a problem. The fan in the room helped keep the temperature down. Compared to other parts of Barcelona the location was quiet too when considering its location. The bins/beds weren't emptie/made on a daily basis which is only a minor complaint. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed in the Itaca with my daughter for 4 nights.
The place is very well located, very close to the Cathedral, in the Gothic area.
Very clean, fully equiped kitchen which allowed us to buy groceries in the local supermarket and prepare ,eals for ourselves, thus save money on that as well.
The staff is very friendly and willing.
We shared a dorm with other people, which was also nice. People from all over the world, from different ages, which made all very interesting :-)

In general, it was a great experience and I highly recommend it!

Keren And Tamar from Israel

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, NV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Three of us took two double rooms in Itaca's flat in a building a couple of blocks from the main hostel. Four double rooms there share two showers and two toilets, and a kitchen. Rooms and facilities were very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included with the price of a double room. The building we stayed in has just had its entry hall and stairwell renovated. The central location is really convenient...very near the cathedral in the Gothic Quarter. I'll go back there and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Itaca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaca Hostel

Address: Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of the Gothic area of Barcelona, in a quiet pedestrian street next to the Cathedral square.If you stay with us, in just a few minutes walk you have all the main cultural atractions (Picasso Museum, Cathedral, Music Palace, Gaudí’s arquitecture, MACBA, CCCB, Ramblas…) the beaches, traditional tapas bars and areas to enjoy the cosmopolitan nightlife of Barcelona.We guarantee you are in the centre, where everything happens but you will have peace to sleep well!!In Itaca we don’t allow people to stay who don’t respect the right of others to rest. For those (like us!) who like to enjoy the nightlife but also the wide cultural variety our city offers, Itaca is the ideal place to stay. For those who look for getting drunk and out of control, well, we suggest that you head to one of the many ‘Party Hostels’ that exist in Barcelona!Itaca has a maximum capacity of 30 people, this allows us to have a more personal touch with you, and between you. We are able to give you the attention and help that you need to enjoy your stay with us.Our installations are spacious, clean and welcoming. All the rooms are exteriors with balconies. We have dormitories, double rooms, family rooms and apartments.US….Inspired by our travels, we opened Itaca en August 2001 with the intention of bringing together the things we liked best from other places, creating a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. A place to socialize and rest, where you will feel free to discover our culture at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Itaca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itaca Hotel Barcelona
Itaca Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Itaca Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.