We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Budget Choice in Barcelona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Banys Orientals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Banys Orientals to your Saves list
Hotel Banys Orientals
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Argenteria 37, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia, France
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Classy Budget Choice in Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Pros - Liked our room - sleek, modern, comfortable, well-equipped. Loved the roomy shower and nice amenities, and the speedy free WIFI.
Cons - the room was on a back lane and was not as quiet as we'd like. Often there is only one person at the minimal front desk which means you have to wait to check in or out or ask a question. But neither one of these things would deter me from booking a room there again - the location, comfort, and price are great

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    295
    69
    55
    19
See reviews for
79
312
32
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you're looking for a hotel to stay at while in Barcelona, I truly recommend Hotel Banys Orientals.
The central location of the hotel is fabulous, and easy to get to any part of the city. The rooms are small but quite ample and the price it right. There was free WiFi as well as free bottled water and fresh apples. The staff is friendly and willing to help in any way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Simply read all reviews below: this is a fine hotel on a great location. In the middle of where it's all happening (Barrio Gotico & El Born) and walking distance from Barceloneta and the beaches. We were travelling with our son (14) and rented a suite; suites are located in a separate building some 2 blocks from the hotel. This feels like you're more an inhabitant of Barcelona instead of a tourist/visitor/hotelguest since you've got more or less an appartment. With free bottles of water and fresh fruit every day, and properly working wifi, which all makes you feel well taken care off. We would certainly recommend this place to anyone visiting Barcelona..!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel Banys orientals is a great hotel located in central Barcelona, near the port and many attractions. Spacious rooms, decorated in a beautiful, contemporary style. The rooms are meticulously cleaned and maintained, all staff are friendly and helpful beyond expectations. A nice bonus/gesture is free apples and bottled water, located in fridges on each floor. Literally, just outside the hotel, there are numerous bars, restaurants and shops - Bareclona on your doorstep. The rates are absolutely reasonable for a hotel of this quality - the best value for money I have ever experienced. Only negative is that the hotel does not have any gym facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I spent the night there, very good and friendly customer service. Got in from a long flight and was extremely tired, asked for directions to a good place for tapas. The friiendly receptionist obliged and pointed me in the direction of a great little spot not too far from the hotel.

Free WiFi and Free Water. The situation is perfect, a lot of nice restaurants, shops and bars around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Loved the hotel. The location couldn't have been better. We really had no idea what was what in Barcelona but the Gothic Quarter was perfect. Winding alley ways, filled with nice shops and restaurants and close to main streets with metro stops and near Las Ramblas with the fabulous food market and all the stores. Hotel was very clean, staff friendly and helpful, and the value was excellent.

The bigger of the two negatives for us was the bed. I could only find one other reference to how hard the bed was in these reviews and can't believe that other people haven't commented more on this. Maybe everyone else likes super firm beds or maybe we're just soft Americans, but after walking all day, all over that wonderful city, we ached. Sleeping in that bed became almost painful and it was difficult to get a good nights sleep.Because we woke up so often, we were also aware of the street noises that others have written about but frankly, I kind of enjoyed them and think I would have slept through them if it were not for the bed. You could always ask for an inside room like others suggested.

The bottom line: if you like a very firm bed, definitely stay there. If you don't, don't. I learned my lesson and will be inquiring on tripadvisor on future European trips as to the quality of the beds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location of this hotel in Barcelona is perfect.

The service is very good and the rooms are in a building and are private apartments. You feel like you are living in an apartment in the city. The rooms are huge and have lots of character. Very clean and the rooms have free bottles of drinking water and free wifi.

I believe the area el born, where the hotel is, is one of the most beautiful parts of Barcelona. Will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Banys Orientals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banys Orientals

Address: c/ Argenteria 37, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#186 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Banys Orientals 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In El Born district in Barcelona, symbol of the city´s history, surrounds this familiar, modern and cozy hotel constructed in an antique building.The hotel is located in an absolutey remarkable position, on a pedestrian street in the very centre of Barcelona old town. Ramblas are only 500 metres away from our hotel that also lies right half-way through the stunning Barcelona Cathedral and the historical Santa Maria del Mar church.Surrounded by our city´s history in one of the most modern district, our guest will enjoy not only their accomodation but also the infinite relax and entertainment possibilities Barcelona offers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Banys Orientals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banys Orientals Hotel
Hotel Banys Orientals Barcelona, Catalonia
Banys Oriental Hotel
Banys Orientals Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Banys Orientals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.