We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sant Sever, 5, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent four nights at this charming hotel and it was perfect. The location is superb, right in the heart of Old Town Barcelona. It is a pedestrian area with all the charm of old Europe. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building and is perfectly run. The rooms are spacious, modern and well equipped. The small breakfast room was charming and the food was good. The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    90
    31
    12
    12
See reviews for
39
222
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed there for a long weekend (thursday - sunday) to explore Barcelona. My partner has never been to Barcelona before, and I couldn't have picked a better place. The location is absolutely perfect. Located in the middle of the Gothic part of Barcelona. Couldn't believe how quiet it was. Could easily sleep with the windows open. Advise you to ask for a corner room, which allows you to have two small balconies. The staff was very friendly and helpful in any way possible. Definitely worth taking the breakfast. Really made with love, all small plates assorted on a tray. Really nice and yummie! The roof terrace was simply magnificent. You can order what ever you like up there, and even enjoy a nice nap in the two hammocks which are in one of the corners of this big and beautiful terrace. Also the rooms are equipped with the best thick curtains, which allow you to sleep in if required. The bathrooms are super clean and we had this amazing nice rain shower. Only thing I would do is always take out the electricity card when not in the room. The lamps really heat up when left on. This hotel will definitely be our pick for any future visits planned to Barcelona. Thanks again to all the staff!!

Room Tip: Pick a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Neri is a not-cheap-even-in-February but really nice small hotel in a fun building in the old historic quarter of Barcelona a few minutes walk from La Rambla – if that’s what you want! Some rooms are much nicer than others – ours on the 3rd floor wasn’t great – and the breakfast is a bit eccentric. You have to scrabble about in a dark cupboard trying to operate the Nespresso machine [and read the Nespresso labels in the dark] but the cake is terrific. There’s no sitting room but any [v.mild!] moans are much more than outweighed by the sheer niceness, friendliness and professionalism of the staff – faultless in every way. They all deserved 11/10 ... if not a bit more. So yes, the Neri is REALLY nice.
[We didn’t try the restaurant but heard v good reports of it]

Room Tip: Be fussy - there is a lot of difference between the nice rooms and the less-nice ones even at the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are currently visiting Barcelona and staying at the Hotel Neri in the Barri Gotic. The hotel is is an old palazzo on a charming street and very centrally located. After reading about difficulties getting a taxi to the hotel, we called the hotel and booked a car to pick us up at the airport.
We were graciously received, offered refreshments while checking in and promptly taken to our room. While it is a little small, it is beautifully appointed and has a wonderful, private terrace.
Every detail in the hotel is well-considered and intimate in scale. There are only 22 rooms and is of the quality you would expect with a Chateau and Relaix property.
The service is prompt, polite and wonderful in every way-- always eager to help.
We are eager to check out the restaurant, which is well-known and highly recommended.
This is a charming, well-run hotel that is warmly welcoming. It is a great find.
We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 306 is great. There is a view of a church tower on the private terrace which is complete with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the hotel Neri in Barcelona. Located in the Bari Gottic which is the center of Barcelona’s old city. It is the best location to stay at and close to everything you want to see and do in Barcelona. Like all the buildings in this area it is old and quaint but the rooms are nice and modern. The balcony in the room gives you amazing views of the old city. It is really fun walking around the small streets near the hotel and trying out the different Tapas bars. The staff at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. Kudos to Yakovo for being so nice!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Director General at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guests,

It was a pleasure for us to have helped you in all it was in our hands to make possible a lovely stay.

We thank you for your post and we hope to see you again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in January 2014. It's a beautiful little hotel and ideally located for getting around the sights of the Gothic area and beyond.
It's fairly awkward for taxi drivers to get right to the hotel but it's only a short walk from the square and the drivers will normally offer to take your luggage for you.
You get a warm welcome from the staff and are well looked after during your stay.
Rooms are very comfortable and, although we had to pay extra for our breakfast it was well worth it.
If you are looking for a boutique hotel in Barcelona the Hotel Neri will be very hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Director General at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such kinds reviews about your stay with us.

Your posts will be useful for other travelers who are trying to get to know us for their stay.
We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Although I had to unfortunately cancel my reservations for our stay, the customer service I received from Claudia in choosing the "perfect room"at this establishment was exceptional! I only hope we do get the opportunity to one day visit this little gem in the Gothic Quarters.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minerva L, Director General at Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
First of all thank you for your opinion,
For hotel Neri’s reservation team it is very important to know how our guests feel about us.
We hope to see you and have the opportunity to satisfy your expectations.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux

Address: Calle Sant Sever, 5, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter, combines echoes of history with a sophisticated and contemporary style. Boutique Hotel with 22 exclusive rooms and a gastronomic restaurant offering a treat for the five senses. Sensual and unique. Services: coverage, free Wi-Fi, towelling robe and slippers, bed Linen and pillow menu,in-room massage menu, plasma television, Hi-Fi and DVD, CD and DVD directory, individual air-conditioning, mini bar, safe deposit box, laundry Service, shoe polishing service, 24h room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neri Barcelona
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.