We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , clean and tidy .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medium Monegal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Medium Monegal to your Saves list
Hotel Medium Monegal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pelai 62 | Plaza Cataluña, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #388 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    122
    111
    44
    22
See reviews for
36
128
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was located perfectly for us. Check-in was quick and efficient and we were allowed in our room at 9 a.m. and it was big, clean and everything worked. Our view was right on Las Ramblas and that was always entertaining. The hop-on hop-off bus stop was across the street (highly recommended) plenty restaurants, fast foods and a market a block away. Breakfast was adequate and we were very well taken care of. Keep in mind this is a charming old building but everything was in good working order. Outside noise was a bit loud but we were in the busiest area of Barcelona and I loved it!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. We needed to add an extra third bed, but that was no problem. The hotel added an extra fee of 34 Euro. The location was perfect, and the breakfast gave you a good start of the day. The staff was very friendly and service minded. We paid 100 Euro a person, I don't know the price level in Barcelona, compared to other cities I think that is a good price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- Very central location on corner of Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas.
- Reasonably priced for location. We booked online 3 days before stay for 4 nights.
- Mostly friendly staff (perhaps 1 was a little shy with English) who help with suggestions and advice.
- Clean common areas and rooms.
- Quiet. We chose a non-smoking room at the back. The trade-off was no view of the placa, but we were only there to sleep and shower, so didn't bother us (room 220).
- The shower has good water pressure.
- A good sized room, with enough space.

Cons:
- The lift. Pretend the hotel has no lift and you'll be prepared! Use it to take your luggage up, but take the stairs the rest of the time. It is small and very slow. Very, very slow. If you must take it, enjoy the music!
- They use something to wash the towels that smells like vinegar. Not nice on your face as it smells bad.
- The hotel could do with an update in terms of decor.
- I've had a better feeling from other budget hotels than this one - it's missing the small things that make a place charming.

Overall, I would recommend this as a great budget hotel, especially if you are going to Barcelona for the first time as the location makes your stay very easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location overlooking Placa Catalunya but it wasn't until I arrived that they told me all single occupancy rooms are in the interior of the building and offer no view whatsoever. To add to the "fun" I was given a room (303) next to the "breakfast room" where I could hear the staff clanging dishes around and talking at about 7:00 am through the paper thin walls. My room was barely large enough to swing a cat in, and the TV offered CNN or BBC (I like to hear the news at night) with such poor quality, I could barely make out the images. The elevator is painfully slow and reception is cramped and often busy. On the upside, the staff are friendly and they have a luggage storage room down a set of lethally steep stairs where you can leave your bag if necessary. Weighing the pros and cons, I wouldn't stay here again. 67 euros a night for the discomfort was definitely too much.

Room Tip: Noisy. Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Medium Monegal, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Andrea
Many thanks for your kind and polite review and for your positive comments about location, staff friendliness and free luggage store. We would like only to point out that Single rooms are named in almost all websites as “Interior Single Room”, stressing that they are not facing to the street. They are also small, of course, as the vast majority of the Single rooms in the city. Please consider that a Single room is in practice a room without enough space to be a Double: that is what happens in all hotels. In your particular case your room had a big bed, this means, at the same time, more comfort for the rest at the expenses of less free space in the room.
Many sorry if TV did not work well during your stay. We have just checked it and have not found anything wrong: it must have been a temporary error. Thanks for inform us about that and please accept our apologies.
With some objectively “weak points” (slow lift, small reception) we offer a good value for money product in the expensive centre of the city. We sincerely hope you may stay again in our hotel and change your opinion. Many thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

location is the best-it is in catalunia square,many shops and resturants,near most city attractions.
rooms are clean,small and basic.
all staff were friendly.
elevator is tiny.
the lobby is 1squared meter after clock shop.
we took two rooms and enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Friendly, Helpful receptionists! Brilliant location, requested a view and we were on 2nd floor overlooking main street, traffic noise yes, didnt bother us! Dont expect much from this 2 * great value room only deal! You will be pleasantly surprised! It had clean bedding, heated room, shower barely basic but hot water and did the job, safe stay, tucked away through a nice watch/jewelry shop. I asked for extra pillows they arrived, crisp & clean within 5 mins with sweets too. Im glad id googled address to help locate this hotel, although its the same address as McDonalds 62...not too easy to find if you dont have an image of it. I took my own hairdryer but noticed a selection of them on a shelf! Luggage store too if you didnt want to cart the bags around too early before you leave! We would return to this hotel. Staff smiley and pleased to see you! Staircase was grotty but we didnt spend too long on them, a tiny lift did its job!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front 'to take in city life'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Medium Monegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medium Monegal

Address: Pelai 62 | Plaza Cataluña, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medium Monegal 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel medium monegal hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona, in Plaza Cataluña, with privileged views over the Ramblas and very close to the Gothic Quarter. A classic facade and functional interior to create an inviting environment, with rooms with very convenience and a lounge to relax in and recover your strength after a day touring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Medium Monegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medium Monegal Hotel
Medium Monegal Barcelona
Hotel Medium Monegal Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medium Monegal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.