We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Comercio Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Comercio Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Comercio Barcelona
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Escudellers, 15 | C/ Nueva de Zurbano 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is in perfect location for Las Ramblas! supermarket on your doorstep and located a stones throw from Placa Reial (bar square). Can get noisy at night time for this reason. The room was very modern and looks like has been recently refurbed. Rooms are spotless and bathroom nice and modern with a decent hot showers only problem i had with the room is the size, we were in a triple and found it to be quite small. Staff at the hotel are really helpful. Overall id give this place 8/10.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    62
    41
    25
    19
See reviews for
22
68
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craiova, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is very well located. Close to everything! A little noisy at night due to its position. The rooms appeared recently renovated and very clean. Breakfast was poor but what can you expect from a budget hotel. I highly recommend it for those of you who want to visit Barcelona on a short budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The room (503) was modern, comfortable, clean and the maid service excellent. Our room also appeared to be brand new, I wish I had a modern bathroom like this one at home.The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to La Rambla and it can be noisy at weekends but we just closed the windows. The only downside to our weeks stay was the group of schoolchildren who arrived after 4 days and kept running up and down the corridors and slamming room doors all night, but this was not the fault of the hotel.
After reading previous reviews we were dreading staying here but I must say that we were very pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was a self-service buffet and there was more than enough for you to eat, coffee excellent. We would definitely stay here again. Remember a friendly smile, a "hola" and a few words of Spanish go a long way.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very good located...close to La Rambla where is many bars and restaurant,but many people walking by so is very loud noise on the street!!Personal is nice there.... room was nice and clean (203)...breakfast was very basic...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Roma Reial but got moved here. The room was disgusting. There was holes in the roof, the walls were coming apart and there were cockroaches on the floor. But the very worst thing was the smell. It smelt like a sewage plant. Utterly disgusting. I don't know who could stay here. It's the worst place in the world.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The view from my room was great, but many of my peers had views of walls, air vents, giant cylinder tanks. One of my friends said " The stench from outside was terrible, and the window was broken so they couldn't keep the smell out". In my room there was damp on the walls, the shower took 10 minutes to heat up and the sink leaked at one point. There were a lot of leads showing and there was about two plugs . The leaver on the toilet kept coming off and the towels were never changed.

Room Tip: The top left hand side of the hotel as terrible rooms. The nice rooms are 404...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lost our 3 night booking, though agent & fully paid. 1hr later given room in their adjoining hotel, which is fine. Room in Comercio for 2 nights -small, walls need repainting. Bathroom air vent not cleaned this century - disgusting. Toilet very hard to fush. TV did not work at all. Air Con not working either. Breakfast buffet a wild scrum with too tightly packed tables. Low quality and litle of it. Even staff advising to eat outside. Some staff friendly, some not interested. Great location of course, but must be better available for the money. Booked for double bed...given singles each time..they just 'float' apart.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Comercio Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comercio Barcelona

Address: Escudellers, 15 | C/ Nueva de Zurbano 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Comercio Barcelona 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Comercio Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Comercio Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Comercio Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.