We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel let down by uncomfortable bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aranea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aranea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Aranea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Consell de Cent, 444 | esquina Nàpols., 08013 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Bridlington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel let down by uncomfortable bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel in mid March. The location of the hotel is just outside the center of Barcelona in a residential area, only 10 minutes walk to la Sagrada Familia and 20 to 25 minutes walk to the city center. There are three metro stations very close by. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the sheets and the towels were changed every day. The staff are friendly and helpful. The one thing that did let this Hotel down was the mattress on the bed (room 301) which was extremely hard and lumpy, making it difficult to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mr Graham,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your visit to our Hotel.

Your opinions are important to us, to constantly improve our facilities and services.

The mattress in room 301 has already been renewed. We regret that it may have seemed hard and lumpy for you . If you had told us during your stay, we would have changed it before.

We appreciate your congratulations for the service and cleanliness and look forward to seeing you again in our hotel again in the future.

We invite you to visit our website where you can find deals and valuable information about the hotel and the city

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies Director Hotel Aranea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    269
    110
    33
    21
See reviews for
41
197
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Was here for consecutive 8 nights last week. First highlight is that the front office staff are all very friendly, courteous and helpful.

There is no iron/ironing board, no kettle, no coffee making facility in the room. There is a vending machine at the lobby and a small cup of cappuccino (~150ml) cost EUR1. There is no room service, and you can only get coffee after the restaurant is open at 7am. No they won't send to the room, its self-service. I just don't understand why the hotel can't supply a kettle in the room. This is one super irritating experience I had.

The location is OK, 20 minutes walk (8 blocks) to Passeig de Gracia. There 2 supermarkets around both sides of the hotel. There is also a very good patisserie called Joan's on the right side when you walk out from the hotel. This is a definite must go place. Have breakfast here instead of at the hotel.

Breakfast at the hotel was a disappointment, only a few choices and in general is of el cheapo and low quality except for the bacon which is quite good in taste. The bread and pastries are really bad, everyday!

The restaurant opposite the hotel has quite good kebabs, but open only later of the day.

The bed is of low quality, makes "springy" noise when you move. You can hear footstep of other people walking by your room, open their room door, turn on tap. Overall OK place to stay if the price is right for you, just skip the breakfast at the hotel. There is a 50/50 chance I may return to this hotel, if the rate is right.

Try to flag down a taxi at the roadside, or call the taxi company yourself.
DO NOT ask the hotel to call a taxi for you to the airport. Mine took me on a further route, with fare of EUR45.55! to Terminal One. On the trip from airport to hotel was only EUR31.50, both around the same time at 7am. This is a rip off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mr Song,

Thank you very much for your time and interest in sharing your opinions and experiences about our services and facilities.

We're glad you enjoyed the hotel, our 3-star facilities, very competitive rates and especially of our central location in the days in which our city received one of the most important World Conference on Mobile.

Rest assured that all your comments are important to us so we can improve our services every day.

Although we would like to tell you that your observation about the hotel and taxis is wrong. We do not control the fees and the services of taxis. Simply call a cab if the client requests it. If you think you have been scammed, your bill should have asked the driver, and having made ​​the claim pertaining to the cab company. We regret that may have seemed a scam taxi service, so you have every right to complain.
Unfortunately this happens often here and other major cities with visitors. And are facts which make a very negative image of the city.

Sincerely,
Josep A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to Barcelona for a weekend and this hotel was reasonably priced, close to La Sagrada Familia where we were able to get the tour bus and the metro. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and suited our needs. I would actually rate it as good given the option as it is above average. The only thing that let the place down for me was the breakfast as it was not to my taste but probably good if you like Spanish food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the city and we take note of your comments in order to improve our services.
Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies. Director HOTEL ARANEA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have visited several times this beautiful city and definitely the best place to stay is at this hotel. Looking for a good price and good service for us is the best hotel. Its location is perfect, right in the center, metro very close. There is a slight downside, the rooms on the seventh floor, if you are near the elevator, you hear the elevator machinery. Otherwise it seems perfect, small and very friendly staff. Cleanliness is very good. With free wifi and open to all. Congratulations to staff.

Room Tip: not 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
it is nice to know that we are having clients that like to stay again in our hotel. Thank you again for your kind words and for sharing them with the rest of travellers.
We are proud when satisfied guests take the time to tell us. You help us for the actions we take to have our team members motivated to work even better for ours guests.
Yours faithfully
Jose Antonio Pamies - Hotel Manager HOTEL ARANEA -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Housekeeping - GOOD JOB ! The room was always clean and made up nicely !
Reception staff are friendly especially IVAN-always helpful :)
The bad thing about hotel itself it's very thin walls , you could hear everything whats going on behind the wall and on the corridor. Personally I would also change matterace in bed because is quite hard, you can feel the springs and you can feel every movement you and person sleeping next to you is making. Add more pillows too !
Now come to the worst bit ... Restaurant .. Breakfast ...
Food- tasteless ! Scrambled eggs looked like they few days old, not much choice to go from.Most of it it was just cookies and muffins ! Who eat sweets for breakfast ? Only good thing was fresh bread rolls !
Cleaniness- OH MY GOD ! Every day we sat on different table and every day i found my cutlery very DIRTY ! Once it was covered in chocolate! My partner picked up spoon from buffet it was disgusting dirty too ! No wonder , when girls dropping cutlery on the floor and picking it up putting straight on the table thinking nobody seen it ! I'm working in the restaurant myself and that's a NO,NO ! Also picking up glasses by fingers on top of them! Can you imagine how many bacterias is on that when you touching food later ? Change the restaurant staff for more professional or give them a good lesson because that's very very bad what they doing in there ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your words and comments about your experience at our hotel. We take note of its opinion, especially regarding the breakfast service. Our purpose is to correct and improve everything that our customers tell us, and comments like yours help us a lot to do it.
Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 25-28th of january and i really dont understand why some of the people are complaining about... The staff was really nice and helpful, the guy from reception gave us a map and marked all nearest metros, tourist attractions, even made a reservation in a very nice hotel at the night time. I wouldnt have done that by myself as i dont speak spanish or catalonian languages. The room was ok, smelled nice , the bathroom was very clean and nice aswell. When we asked for an extra duvet they were happy to help us. The noise from the street was quite big but i can imagine it is the same in all barcelona as there were a lot of bikes and they make huge noise. But at the evening it used to get better and quiter so we had no problems sleeping.
They offered breakfast buffet which includes food that i am used to so i really liked that. Also they have spanish omlete and a lot of fruits.
To sum up, i would stay at the same hotel next time because it is in nice location, have nice restaurants and coffee shops around, staff speaks english and is very nice, the reception is open 24/7 and its nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Customer,

The hotel is very grateful for your visit and for your kind reviews. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and took the opportunity to share with other travelers.

Being aware of this makes the staff continue to work with enthusiasm and offering a service with a good competitive price and quality in the heart of Barcelona.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Jose A Pamies - Director Hotel Aranea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the property in December during the holidays. While it's close to Sagrada Familia, it's quite the hike to other parts of the city. Worked around it (after having the same taxi trips cost us four different prices....!) by using the affordable and convenient Barcelona Bus Turistic. Hotel staff is cordial, not the most fluent English speakers, but were caring and very helpful. Bathroom smelled dank despite having window open during day. Internet service in room was very spotty; there is a community computer in a more secluded business service lounge. Was concerned about finding dining nearby in the evenings; many of the small places were either closed or pretty sketchy. As a tourist, would probably select other accommodations the next time. When our room wasn't ready for check-in, we had to pay for a locker on the premises to store items until later in the day. hadn't experienced this at other lodging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELARANEA, Gerente at Hotel Aranea, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and opinions about your visit to this great city and our hotel.

We are glad that your visit has been pleasant and you has had unforgettable experiences in Barcelona. We hope that many travellers will know to appreciate your advices.

Also, we like receiving all this from all our guests and especially from people that like to provide valuable information for us. This helps us to improve our services and facilities every day.

Sincerely,

Jose A Pamies, Director Hotel Aranea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aranea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranea

Address: Consell de Cent, 444 | esquina Nàpols., 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cozy hotel located right in the middle of Eixample, just a short walk away from Sagrada Familia and Passeig de Gracia. The perfect place if you are visiting Barcelona for pleasure or business The Hotel Aranea have a nice restaurant specialized in Mediterranean cuisine, a business centre with internet connection, two meeting room up to 25 persons each one, TV room and solarium terrace on the top of the building. Parking on requestThe 84 light rooms are equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hairdryer, TV with international channels, safe deposit box, minibar, exterior telephone line and wire less internet connection. The meeting rooms “Girona” and “Ático”, are totally sound proofed. They both have natural light, audiovisual equipment and high speed internet connection. They are the perfect place for your business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aranea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apsis Aranea
Apsis Aranea Barcelona
Hotel Aranea Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aranea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.