We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation with 4 Star rating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel HCC Regente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel HCC Regente to your Saves list
Hotel HCC Regente
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla de Catalunya 76, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
German
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation with 4 Star rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

A lot of rooms with no view and nearly all rooms around the escalator. I stayed in February and the heading was extrem. No way to get a normal temperature in the room. Breakfast room without window and very little variety

Room Tip: Get rooms above 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    159
    41
    19
    7
See reviews for
66
144
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The location of the hotel is fabulous for shopping, sightseeing and bars in an evening. Wish we'd of upgraded the room as our room was compact although still big enough for a four night stay. The breakfast was adequate with a decent selection.

Room Tip: Room 308 is the smallest on that floor, try and avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in HCC for 7 nights in January.
First of all the hotel is in excellent location, 5 blocks from plaza Catalunya. It is located in a very nice area with lots of good places to eat.
Stuff of the hotel is very helpful, even gave us the rooms to see and to choose before check in. We upgraded to a room with terrace - much recommended, as you get great room, balcony and amazing view. The rooms and the hotel in general are very clean

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view or a terrace, otherwise you will see a wall out of the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorval, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am an older woman and travelled alone to Barcelona in Dec 2013. I was a bit apprehensive reserving a hotel on line in a city I really didn't know but I was pleasantly surprised. The Regente is in a wonderful location for visiting the various famous Gaudi architectural stuctures.
I walked everywhere and was very comfortable, finding it easy to get around and returning to a safe haven at night. I spent an extra 15 euros per night to get a terraced room on the 6th floor front and spent the evenings watching the activity on the Catalunya las Ramblas. The people at the front desk were very helpful and extremely nice. I ate breakfast at a cafe a few doors up the street because I don't eat a big meal in the morning. One night I ate at the outdoor terrace almost across the street from the hotel and it was great. I agree with others that the toilet is in a very awkward place but hey it works. I would definitely recommend this hotel for people like me.

Room Tip: I was in a single room number 604. With the terrace doors closed I slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location. We upgraded our room prior to arrival for €33. We are so glad we did. The room may not be larger but we got a balcony and it was on the 6th floor with amazing views. If we leant over the balcony we could see the Sagrada Familia. The balcony did add to the stay. Breakfast was mostly continental but if you wanted you could request hot food i.e. Scrambled eggs, omelettes. Our safe broke but it was fixed by the time we returned from our day out. Ironing boards are available upon request. Hairdryer are available in the room but they are typical hotel dryers. There is a convenient store one street away. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Would definitely recommend if in an upgraded room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were in Barcelona recently (November 2013) and had a splendid stay, a weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday and a brief but fascinating homage to Antoni Gaudi.
We were thoroughly delighted by the Regente Hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Placa Catalunya with its wide variety of transport facilities.
The staff in the Regente were friendly and professional in every respect, speaking excellent English and applauding our attempts to speak Catalan.
We were offered an upgrade (E15 per night) and took it, a room with twin beds overlooking the "Other Rambla", the lesser-known Rambla de Catalunya. The traffic noise was well muffled b y the double glazing and three curtains.
The Bathroom was pristine and the towels changed every day. There was ample storage for our clothing.
Breakfast was excellent, with the usual Continental items and hot food on demand. The fried eggs were the best I have encountered in many years. Snacks were available throughout the day in the bar. Restaurants and tapas bars almost surround the Regente, a member of the HCC group
The stall opened the door to the roof-garden and I enjoyed a few minutes in the sunshine, taking photographs of the city skyline. For obvious reasons the swimming pool was in hibernation mode.These were the only brief moments of sunshine ona very wet weekend.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Regente to any would-be visitor to Barcelona........just try to avoid November!

Room Tip: We were up-graded from Standard to Balcony but cannot comment on the rppm we never saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We arrived at 2:30 pm, exhausted and starving. Check in was easy and off we went in the lift to the sixth floor. The first thing that hit us as we exited the lift was a bad dampish smell. Luckily it didn't follow us into the room. The room was ready for us and although small, our room was clean. Sheets were adequate however the pillows were hard as rock. The building is very picturesque, however the rooms have thin walls. We could hear neighbours next door.
All in all we had a comfortable night’s rest. No kettle in the room was annoying for a 4 star hotel. The free safe was welcome. Breakfast is served on the first floor up to 11. It's the usual continental affair, however if you want anything cooked you have to ask. Nice omelettes are available. If you like sausages beware as these are like hot dogs.

It’s a nice hotel, just a few minutes' walk, 6 blocks away from Placa de Cataluyna. It was very convenient for sightseeing. 2 minutes to the Casa Batllo and the metro. If you like Italian the best restaurant we ate in was just off Las Ramblas in the Placa Reial called Rossini.
To summarise it is a nice hotel to use as a base, centrally located for everything as regards transport to and from airport as well as visiting all the main sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel HCC Regente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HCC Regente

Address: Rambla de Catalunya 76, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#163 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel HCC Regente 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel occupies a modernist building constructed in 1913 and given the name "Casa Evarist Juncosa". The building retains its original façade and modernist elements, which include the colourful glass and the wrought iron work. Hotel HCC Regente is located on one of the main streets in the city centre, Rambla Catalunya, in Barcelona's historical, business and shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel HCC Regente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hcc Regente Barcelona
Hcc Regente Hotel
Hotel HCC Regente Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel HCC Regente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.