We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big and clean apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Apartments Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Town Apartments Barcelona to your Saves list
Old Town Apartments Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Fontanella 18, Principal - 2 | Office at Fontanella 18, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    18
    8
    18
See reviews for
53
25
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Arrived in Barcelona after a long flight and arrived at the address as advertised only to find that our apartment was not there but was a 'short walk away'. It was at least 20 minutes uphill in the heat. Arrived to find a double bed in the bedroom, and a fold-out bed in the living room with no sheets to fit and no pillow case for one of the pillows. We had asked for twin beds.
We were promised wifi and a second set of keys that didn't arrive.
The kitchen had two hot plates and very limited equipment, cutlery, china and glass ware. We had a 6-day booking and expected to cook - no chance. There was a Miele washing machine in the kitchen but otherwise poorly furnished - not like the photos.
The bathroom was spacious but the shower head could not be set in any position.
The apartment was within walking distance of La Rambla and Gaudi house and a main square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, General Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry the apartment didn't meet your expectations. I believe the problem is you booked by our partners website and you didn't notice that it gave you the possibility of booking a type of apartment, not a specific apartment. It must be that's why you were confused by the apartment location. Unfortunately we didn't get the information about your preffered bedding arrangements. We are so sorry you were not satisfied with that. In one bedroom apartments 2 people can sleep on the double bed or twin beds in the bedroom, and on a double sofa bed in the living room. The linen for the sofa are in the wardrobe always. I apologize for not delivering the wifi and the second set of keys. Please be assured we consider your complaints and will do our best to host you perfectly next time you stay with us. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very clean apartment with a good kitchen and plenty of utensils ,it was on the fith floor and had a small lift very old building. Beds were a bit small but had good mattresss but made a noise when you moved.very easy getting into apartment was given a code by email,had taxi from the airport stright there, when we checked out we left our cases at the main office and plcked them up when it was time to go to the airport everyone was very helpful,you can get a bus just around the corner from the office to the airport.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, General Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your opinion! we are so glad you had a nice stay in our apartments. Hopefully we can host you again! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booking was easy and we were well received and everything was ready for us. The location was perfect and it was easy to find. The appartement was clean and had plenty of space and the beds were fine. We were satisfied with the stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, General Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience! We are so happy you were satisfied. Hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is fantastic! Great location (one minute walking from La Rambla de Barcelona), really clean and comfortable, with everything we could think of wanting already there (fully equipped kitchen, flat TV’s, good air conditioning…). We especially liked the folder with the information about public transport, local restaurants, etc. Very thoughtful. Downstairs there’s a nice, non-stop grocery store, and few restaurants around the corner. Great place, great staff, great price, would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, General Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
That's so wonderful! thank you so much for this review! and hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbiategrasso, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I went there with my son and some friends, underground Passeig de Gracia is close, bus stop just in front of the apartment. Apartment was very clean and with all the necessary. Air conditioning was availble and ok. Apartm. at the 4th floor (with lift)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, General Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion! We are so glad you liked it and thanks for the photo!
Hope to host you again soon! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The apartment as mentioned by others, is a long way from the office and well away from where we wanted to be. The weather was hot and the air conditioning did not work. We called the office and were told a repair man would be over to fix it. Three fans in the apartment seem to tell the story that the AC never works. We had to leave the door/window open at night and the street is very noisy. We called back several times and tried the emergency number but it did not ring. We wanted to change rooms but without management on site, it was not possible. Stayed two days so no time to go back to the office and demand a room change.

No big deal but the TV did not work either.

Apartment was clean and has washing machine, fridge, etc.

Closest underground is two blocks away so not too bad. Car parking is 25 Euros/day and is about a block and a half away.

Would recommend a hotel that has onsite management to change rooms if necessary.

Room Tip: If on a budget, stay further out as underground/bus passes are about 15 Euros for two days and with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjosUS, General Manager at Old Town Apartments Barcelona, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and we are really sorry you were not satisfied. We always try to move the reservation in such cases (sometimes repairs and technitians in Spain take so much time....), but as you were staying during the high season, we had no other alternatives as we were alreadyfully booked. We now have regular maintenance checks of the a/c in all our apartments and it should avoid such problems. Hope we can offer you our services again and do much better!
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Apartments Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments Barcelona

Address: Fontanella 18, Principal - 2 | Office at Fontanella 18, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Apartments Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Old Town Apartments Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Apartment Barcelona
Old Town Apartments Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Apartments Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.