We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best roast chicken in BCN and not far from the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Els Pollos De Llull

Els Pollos De Llull
Calle Ramon Turro, 13, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica)
+34 932 21 32 06
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,505 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Free Wifi, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Description: We're specialist on roast chicken.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best roast chicken in BCN and not far from the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The roast chicken here is done on a spit and is seasoned richly and served with delicious drippings with baked apples in it. Sound strange? It's delicious. And this is one of the few places in Barcelona where you can get French fries cooked crispy. Ask for them with the house special spicy sauce (salsa especial). The salads are served dressed with a special vinaigrette with nuts in it. There are a lot of other dishes, mostly related to chicken (croquettes, grilled veggies), chicken broth) all of them good. Probably this restaurant has benefitted from specializing. Near the zoo and about a ten minute walk from the beach.
Oh, to drink? The sangria, of course! Made with red wine or cava (champagne).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a chicken restaurant with awful "chicken croquetas"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I used to go to this place when I was really young, I remember having good times there, the downside came last week when I decided it was time for another visit (after maybe 5 years).

We ordered escalivada (a traditional catalan dish with vegetables usually server cold), the problem was it wasn't cold, it was frozen. When we complained they told us that was the way they served it...

Then some chicken sticks, nothing really amazing. The worst part came with the croquetas. They tasted sour and a "plastic smell" quite disgusting.

When explaining this to the owner they didn't agree. Okay then, good bye!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Temptation - Sin Gluten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Loved It Again!!!

Deliciously succulent
Fresh and juicy
Lean and Green (organic)
Gluten Free Chicken and Chips

Great, value for money, consistent customer friendly. simple dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gluten Free winner winner chicken dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A great value for money lunch or evening meal. Buzzing with happy families and happy helpful staff. Worth the taxi ride out of town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfort Food in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic family restaurant. We arrived shortly after they opened at 1pm, and started with the santgria, which was refreshing and delicious. We ordered their lunch option which came with a consomme, a warm broth that was warming and flavorful. We had ember baked potatoes and french fries to go with our 1/2 chickens. The chickens are slow baked and spiced perfectly. The meat fell off the bone, and was fantastic. Strongly recommend the ember baked potatoes. They are also slow cooked and served in olive oil. Delicious! The manager/server was warm and friendly, and made us feel welcome. Great value for al the food as well. Our average price per person was 10 pounds, and we were very full when we left. And if you need to use them, the bathrooms were very clean. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Els Pollos De Llull also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Els Pollos De Llull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Els Pollos De Llull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.