We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medicis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Medicis to your Saves list
Hotel Medicis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castillejos 340, 08025 Barcelona, Spain (Horta - Guinardó)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is within walking distance from Sant Pau/Dos de Maig metro station (5 mins). The metro line that serves this station can take you straight to Sants station for the train to the airport. With one or two changes it can take you almost anywhere in the city.

The staff were really polite and pleasant and very fast in providing solutions to some minor problems we've encountered (the system for the magnetic card on the door was faulty). The room was very clean and tidy and was looked after daily.

The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful. Toiletries were provided. The room had an open wardrobe with hangers and a small table with a chair. The balcony from our room was facing a busy street, but the noise didn't bother us.

Overall, a basic but good value for money hotel. Would probably stay again on our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    95
    49
    9
    2
See reviews for
14
110
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

The hotel was really well located, close to the metro and Sagrada Familia. Staff were really pleasant and gave us some handy info when we arrived. Room was really clean and tidy but was really warm and we didn't know how to turn off the heating! There seemed to be some construction going on in a room above early in the morning which disturbed our sleep a bit and the beds were a bit uncomfortable.
All in all though, a good stay and great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed there for three nights in a room on the last floor with a terrace and a view from the site. Since it is an isolated room, you have to go by elevator to the last floor and get the stairs to it. It is a problem when you are caring heavy luggage, but it nothing impossible.

The room was small but functional and the bathroom was clean and ok. It is offered breakfast, which is good and included. Wi fi worked at my room. I didn't have much contact with the staff but everything went fine.

The hotel is located a few minutes from the amazing La Sagrada Familia and subway stations, tha can take you to anywhere. There are a few fast food and restaurants next to the hotel. The location is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Lovely place and really good location. Walking distance to San Pau and Sagrada Familia (although we didn’t get in as the queues to the cathedral were horrendous). We loved Barcelona and the hotel, it’s a small hotel with small rooms and a very small breakfast area, but we didn’t mind we were there for 1 nigh only. Plenty of places to eat in the area, the Tapas bar downstairs was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

A very nice hotel , good location, clean, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, only small negative was room was small ((601)). Almost forgot, there was a lot of noise about 8 am we think from cleaning staff, annoying if you wanted a lay in........

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This hotel was booked at the last minute, and for the £91 per night there is room for improvement.

It is in a good location, close to La Sagrada Familia and the nearest metro stop is only 5 minutes walk away (San Pau / Dos de Maig). There are plenty of cafes and shops nearby. The area felt safe and there was always someone at the main hotel desk. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was facing the main street but it had black out curtains and the noise from the street wasn't too bad. There was a lot of noise from other bathrooms (you could clearly hear other people using the bathrooms throughout the night, probably due to the airconditioning system). There was also significant noise from people walking up the tiled stairs and closing doors etc.

The bed was comfortable and firm. The bed linen seemed clean but there were hairs on the pillows and sheets. Again, the bathroom wasn't dirty but there were hairs on the floors and showers, and mildew on the tile grouting. It gave the impression that the hotel was unloved and could do with a bit of repair to the wear and tear.

The toilettries were basic (bring your own) and the 2 sachets of coffee weren't replenished during the stay so buy elsewhere. Free wi-fi available, which worked well. Could do with more power sockets in the room.

I have stayed in better hotels (including Barcelona at the same time of year) for less money. It felt like it wasn't value for money at £91 per night. I would stay here again, but not at this price.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Lovely hotel, very helpful and friendly staff, rooms cleaned thoroughly every day, towels and sheets changed daily, good location, 1 min walk to metro which is just 2 trains to ramblas, 5 min walk to sagrada familia. Easy to get to the beach and city centre once you get your head around the metro. Tip: closest metro station is sant pau dos de miag, take the cartagena exit, up the stairs out of the station turn right, go over the first cross roads, take the second road to your left at the next cross roads, walk along the road and you'll find the hotel on a corner of the next cross roads.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medicis

Address: Castillejos 340, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Horta - Guinardó
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medicis 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and intimate hotel situated in the vicinity of the Hospital de Sant Pau and La Sagrada Familia, well connected to the center by subway and buses day and night. Our facility is stipulated Nonsmoking, we do not allow pets or children unless accompanied by parent or guardian. Our rooms have satellite TV in several languages, telephone, air conditioning and / or heating, kettle for tea / coffee, hairdryer, hot and cold water. Optional buffet breakfast service. Parkin payment prior consultation availability. 24 Hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Medicis
Best Western Barcelona
Hotel Medicis Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medicis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.