We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medici” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medicis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Medicis to your Saves list
Hotel Medicis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castillejos 340, 08025 Barcelona, Spain (Horta - Guinardó)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Medici”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Only stayed one night at we were cruising the next day. Good value if all you want is a room to sleep in. Good amenities and a very good breakfast was included. The dining room was a bit pokey though.

Room Tip: Has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    84
    46
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
98
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel ,it s very clean and modern , i had breakfast ,too which was good!The staff was very helpful !the rooms were cleaned every day!the hotel is only 10 min. away from The Sagrada familia, the bus station is just around the corner ,no. 47 takes you right to Plaza Catalunya - centre of Barcelona ,no.92 to the Guell park, the bus fare is 2,15 euros per person one way !i had a wonderful time and i wish i go back there one day really worth it!

Room Tip: choose a sew view room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Good points:
Inexpensive: 250? for three nights.
Decent breakfast included
Air condition worked well
Friendly staff
Good location - a three minute walk from the top of Gaudi street, ten minute walk from Sagrada.
Clean room, comfortable bed.
Great shower
Drawbacks:
A bit noisty from outside cafe, but just till 1AM
Hear rooms next door, including talking and TV
Room smelleddofsmoke

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the interior rooms. Firstly I have to make correction . One of the reviewer wrote that "Good location the old town can easily reach less then 5 min walk. " It is not correct. You can reach to metro station "Sant Pau Dos de Maig" less then 5 min walking. Or there is a bus stop 50 meter away from hotel and "bus number 45" takes you to port easily. (Or H8 bus to Nou Camp) Its almost 2-3 metro stops to old town. Interior room was quiet but very very small. Convenient to sleep only. Only place for two beds and one small table. Bathroom was ok. Hotel Staff were very nice and helpful.
Especially when returning, metro or bus is a must to reach hotel from central areas if you are tired of exploring the city. T10 ticket was the solution I found because it could be be shared and used for single 10 journeys which was valid at metro, bus and trams.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were not in the best of spirits when we arrived not realising Castilejos is a VERY long street and of course having approached it from the wrong end (it is close to the Sant Pau | Dos de Maig metro station for future reference). The reception staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. The room we were given was very noisy and we managed to swap to a quieter, internal one with no fuss. We lost the balcony but gained peace. The breakfast is amongst the best I've ever had in a tourist hotel, so much choice with the bonus that it is served up to 11:00. The only complaint was the paper thin walls and noisy air con, light sleepers beware. But a great tourist hotel, spotlessly clean with fantastic staff and well placed for the metro/bus.

Room Tip: If you don't mind an internal room I'd recommend them for the reduction in noise level. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The best value for money. The bathroom was stunning and spotless. The room was well equipt and clean. Good location the old town can easily reach less then 5 min walk.
we would like to stay here again!!!


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location is great; just 5 minutes walk from the metro station Sant Pau. and close to the Sagrada Familia as well. I stayed in a twin room with my friend, and I must say that the room was not very spacious. However, the bathroom looked great and clean. Adequate charging points for your cameras/cell phones. Laundry service available, though we never used it. 24 hour checkout service.
Tip: please add a refrigerator.
Overall: Great choice for short stays

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Medicis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medicis

Address: Castillejos 340, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Horta - Guinardó
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medicis 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and intimate hotel situated in the vicinity of the Hospital de Sant Pau and La Sagrada Familia, well connected to the center by subway and buses day and night. Our facility is stipulated Nonsmoking, we do not allow pets or children unless accompanied by parent or guardian. Our rooms have satellite TV in several languages, telephone, air conditioning and / or heating, kettle for tea / coffee, hairdryer, hot and cold water. Optional buffet breakfast service. Parkin payment prior consultation availability. 24 Hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Medicis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Medicis
Best Western Barcelona
Hotel Medicis Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medicis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.