We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“zoorooms Barcelona in July 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zoo Rooms to your Saves list
Zoo Rooms
Mallorca 209, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hiroshima, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“zoorooms Barcelona in July 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 3 days in July.
Steve, the owner, is very kind. He helped us with luggage, called taxi, gave any advice we needed, and even offered us barbecue on saturday night (it was a private party but he kindly asked us to join, many thanks again!) -
Position is very good. Room is OK. Balcony is fantastic!
Cooking place and two big shared fridges also available.
Not cheap as B&B itself, but cheap to stay in the center of Barcelona.

Plus 1: free wifi
Plus 2: big cooking place and big fridges
Plus 3: nice position
Plus 4: balcony and amocks

Minus 1: unconvenient courtain in shower: water goes out easily on the floor of the bathroom.
Minus 2: the door on the street is small and cannot stay opened (no good with big luggage or babycar)
Minus 3 (very minor): no elevator, but, honestly, rooms are on 1st floor, so there are few stairways to climb. It is no good with big luggage or babycar, otherwise please don`t mind.
Minus 4: small locker (cannot store notebook or iPad)

4 minuses ==> 2 points to service. I don`t mean the service from Steve. It is the "infrastructure" which deserves 2 points. Maybe Steve can fix some of these drawbacks in the future]

Tip 1: Please be prepared: Steve (or the other guy who helps him) is not in the house everytime, but in the mornings (9-11) and evenings (21-23). He will send you e-mail one or two days before your arrival: better to answer him and also call him when you arrive at the airport.
Tip 2: taxi from airport to ZooRooms is about 27 euro and takes about 30 mins. If you have a lot of luggage, it is better to skip the airbus or train and take taxi directly from airport to the Zoorooms.
Tip 3: ask to have new tovels every day. If not, they will be provided every 3 days (but Steve informed us, it is not secret!).
Tip 4: there are about 7 rooms. Some people may be noisy coming back at night so better to use the complimentary earplugs if your sleep is light!

Overall, a nice experience.

Thanks Steve!

Paolo (Japan)

Room Tip: Choose the room with door on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Almaty City, Kazakhstan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We, two my friends and I, really enjoyed staying in Zoo Rooms. First of all, because of Steve, the owner. He's very friendly and kind, speaks Russian and always ready to advise what places to visit, how to get there and there and not to get lost in the city. Secondly, the placement is really good, on Mallorca street. At third, the rooms are clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed spending time on hammocks (there are 3 of them). If I ever decide to come again to Barcelona, I will stay in Zoo Rooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I lived and worked in New York for 8 years as an Interior Designer and 1 of my favourite areas was West Village. When I arrived at Carrer Mallorca 209 and stepped through the beautiful antique Spanish wooden entrance doors I knew I had made the right decision to stay here. The layout was simple and elegant but yet still eclectic. From the custom jelly fish lights to the beautiful terracotta patio you felt that you had been transport to a hidden gem. But I truly feel that the look and atmosphere of any establishment comes from the top down and this is why Steve and Johnathan deserve all the praise. From there relaxed, friendly laid back attitude to the amazing recommendations for food and drink within the area you simply cannot go wrong. I highly recommend zoo rooms to anybody even thinking of staying in the Barcelona no matter what your budget happens to be.

Room Tip: A room leading out to the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We picked this hostel during a quick search the evening before getting to Barcelona and were ever so pleased with our choice. Easy to get to from the airport, we took the airport bus there and the train back to the airport when we left. Comfortable and clean rooms, a kitchen where we could make our own breakfast and a fantastic roof terrace with hammocks, tables and sofas where we could hang out after a full day of sightseeing. If Barcelona wasn't so full of places to visit, I would have love to spend more time just hanging out at the hostel! The owner, Steve, is very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of good suggestions for places to eat and drink. The hostel is in walking distance from Las Ramblas, but the location also gives you the feeling of being in a local neighbourhood. Steve also told us where to rent the cheapest bikes in town and we had them for three days as it was such an excellent way to cover larger distances in a short time. We definitely want to go back to Barcelona and would stay in ZooRooms again.

Room Tip: Rooms leading on the roof terrace will probably be quieter than ours that had windows onto the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Zoo Rooms, with a very cozy room towards the patio on which we had wine and tapas - absolutely marvelous. Cheers to Steve and Johnathan for some great ideas where to go for, yes, more tapas and wine (we just couldn't get enough, really) and places to go which are not in everybody's guidebook. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have recently spent 4 nights at Zoo Rooms (with young family and grandmother) and we all absolutely loved it! The guest house is stylish, while also feeling like home. The terrace is so spacious and such a pleasure to spend time in. I have never stayed anywhere so clean - and that's a big plus for me.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating - we changed our plans at the last minute and asked to stay an extra night which was no problem! They also stored our luggage and arranged taxis for us and were full of tips for eateries and tours.

We got to experience both the terrace and street side rooms due to our change of plans and all were fantastic. Our sleep wasn't disturbed by any noise (maybe due to all the wonderful tapas and mojitos!!)

We loved the location! Zoorooms is in a fantastic neighbourhood which felt very safe and had a lovely choice of restaurants and shops nearby.

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location is nice, staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are clean and they are modern. The rooms on the street side are noisy, though. The roof terrace is nice. It is actually a very quiet place with no staff around in day-time (which is also not necessary).

Room Tip: Pick a room with a terrace, so you can sleep well. It's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zoo Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoo Rooms

Address: Mallorca 209, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZOO ROOMS offers stylish and budget "chic & cheerful" accommodation to a new generation of culturally sophisticated visitors to Barcelona who want a certain level of independence mixed with top-quality service, style and comfort at an affordable price.Hotel? Hostel? - Oh?tel! Our rooms meet guidelines for hotel standards, but our prices are closer to a hostel. we are a unique boutique guesthouse, combining the quality you'd find in a fancy hotel with the personal services offered in a hostel - you can cook your own meal, mingle with other guests, chill out in the living room, drink on the terrace, and all at an affordable price.The location of our little city oasis, in the heart of the Eixample area, was carefully chosen so our guests would get a better city experience and level of comfort and relax that you just won't find staying in the old town. We are situated in a prestigious area of the city, next to the city's most hip restaurants, bars and just walking distance to the city's finest sights: There are bars and clubs just around the corner if you want to go out dancing, the best of the city's restaurants - with prices to suit all budgets - are all within easy walking distance. Gaudí's masterpieces La Pedrera and Casa Battló are also just a few blocks away.The area is safe at night to walk around in - you will not be harrassed by beer-sellers, thieves and drunkards like in the old town.Did we mention the TERRAZA? Our privileged guests will soon discover our large sunny terrace with hammocks and tables and lounge chairs where guests can really chill out and take a break from the hum-drum of the big city. We organise weekly BBQ's in the evenings during the summer months serving a wonderful array of the best Argentinean and Galician meats, fresh fish and grilled vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Zoo Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoo Rooms Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.