We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot for food. Very reasonably priced. Authentic Irish pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Payne

The George Payne
Plaza Urquinaona, 5, Barcelona, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,649 of 6,428 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
County Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent spot for food. Very reasonably priced. Authentic Irish pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I have visited this place on about 5 occasions but am only getting around to writing this review now. I am very fond of this spot. Rates are unbelievably reasonable even for Spain. Burgers are to die for and the portions are massive. Nightlife is excellent as the place is popular with exchange students, tourists and locals alike. A great establishment altogether. Would certainly go back.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    6
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best nachos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

the GP is a huge bar which shows loads of sporting events. The best thing about it though, is the nachos. A huge plate, positively smothered with sour cream, guacamole, salsa and cheese. The chicken wings aren't bad either.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great irish pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This pub was right across the road from our hotel so was very handy
The food was very nice and great selection of drinks
Good for sport with loads of tvs

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay o, Manager at The George Payne, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for such kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed yourself with us and hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The unprofessional bartender and bouncer...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We often go here with my friends,, but last night it wasn't a good night for us.. It's our first time to go up. The bartender up with a curly hair has a bad service if he is tired of his job he can resign,, And he doesn't speak good in English that can lead to misunderstanding,, he is a f*** liar! Most the bouncer shout at us, we are not animals, don't be rude!!! we pay what we order, we are not the type of costumer who gonna sit down, stayed long on the table with only one drinks, they should be calm,, even how the costumers annoying or behaving bad they should keep the professional attitude! Actually the glass accidentally fell and it was accidentally kicked by my friend.. It wasn't intentional... It saddens me because we like this bar...

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay o, Gerente at The George Payne, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hello! I am very dissappointed to hear you had a bad experience in the pub.
However, the camera footage shows clearly very dangerous behaviour from people in your group as glasses were flying in the bar!
I'm sure you understand that for everyone's health and safety, security had to take preventive action and ask your friend to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

Awesome service and great atmosphere! Everyone is friendly and the pub is awesome! We got free shots! Food was great and the manager Diago is lovely and charming!!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kay o, Gerente at The George Payne, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Thanks for your kind words, Cassie! We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Payne also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The George Payne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Payne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.