We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DO to your Saves list
Hotel DO
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Little Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There is nothing like a warm welcome after a long journey. That is just what we got when we arrived at the DO. We darted through the courtyard and entered the world of the DO. Ilaria greeted us and we knew we were in good hands. The lobby is welcoming and offers a quiet spot to sit and plan an excursion. The rooms are lovely with an endless supply of cold drinks. The linens are exquisite both in the bedroom and the bath. Indecision may strike as one decides whether to take a soaking bath or a rain shower. In either case, there are wonderful amenities to use. The breakfast is superb and one can eat on the terrace and both savor the perfectly prepared food and watch the people stream by. One can easily walk to the harbor, through the old town and up to the Cathedral and see other Gaudi buildings. We know we will be welcomed back when we return.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    50
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
277
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for 6 nights and found it hard to tear ourselves away from this hotel. Firstly, the staff cannot be faulted. They are friendly, unobtrusive when necessary and all do their jobs to such a high standard we salute them. Nothing is too much trouble to the staff and their number one priority is their guests.
Our room faced the lane connecting the square to La Rambla...occasionally noisy but with double glazed windows and shutters, hardly a problem. Our bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was wonderful. My husband's only suggestion for improvement was the need for a comfortable chair (a stool was provided though)..but that was a bit picky!
Cleanliness is important to us, and the room was clean and kept clean every day of our stay..and special treats appeared like fruit every day, and other sweet treats.
Breakfast was excellent with a great menu choice and could be eaten in the peaceful downstairs room, or on the terrace onto the square.
The square can be noisy, and the performers ever present, but this is what visiting Barcelona should be like. The hotel is situated close to La Rambla, an incredible array of great restaurants and a hidden treasure Palau Guell within meters (a don't miss Gaudi construction).
Don't miss a chance to stay here if you travel to Barcelona.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This elegant boutique hotel right off La Rambla over-looking Place Reial is a gem! From the location, the wonderful amenities offered, the wonderful staff and service - this hotel is it! And did I mention the bathroom and the shower? OMG! Fresh fruit each afternoon and a special sweet treat each evening. Food wonderful and the breakfast exceptional! This will be our hotel for Barcelona!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

With consistent and exquisite attention to detail this boutique hotel is just so! Quality design throughout ranging from Bang & Olufsen phones, to Loewe TVs to elegant art, to beautiful joinery finishes. And so DO goes.
And then there is the location. Just great to gaze out over the square with its constant parade of pedestrians, performers and prancers.
And the food is of a par. Quality. Ambience and attentive, informed but never intrusive or overbearing.
Just a great all round show at DO.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is smaller than what we expected from the photos but it's at a great location (we walked everywhere from the hotel without taking a metro), staff are wonderful, the room has nice furniture and generous closet space, the security is excellent, and the foods are absolutely fantastic (compliments to the chef!!). We stayed there two nights after a month cruise in the Mediterranean and this was a very nice ending to our vacation. We really come to love Barcelona (we'd been there a few times before but didn't feel the same way). Thank you very much for the wonderful experience. We highly recommend this hotel to the travelers who come to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a small boutique hotel just off Las Ramblas and overlooking the Placa Reial. The location is excellent, there are lots of restaurants nearby, the metro is a stones throw away and if you are happy to walk, you can walk all the way up to Ave Diagonal or down to Barceloneta and the beach front.
We had a Superior Double room and it was well equipped with comfortable bed, lots of storage, in room safe, bath, double sink, shower with good water pressure and good wifi.
For breakfast you could choose anything on the breakfast menu and at night we would get a treat to eat, left in the room each night.
The hotel is situated on a busy square, but once the shutters and windows are closed and the heavy curtains are drawn, there is no light and no noise. We had no problems sleeping at all.
I would definitely stay here again if I am ever lucky enough to return to Barcelona, thank you DO Placa Reial for the very enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A small boutique hotel in the gothic district right off the Rambas. It's an easy walk to so many places. The staff was so helpful with directions maps etc. The room was so comfortable, a great bed!!!!!!Wait til you see the bathroom!!!! The bathroom gets a 10 out of 5 . This is way boutique hotels are the way to go. We loved it

Room Tip: It's location is in a "square" so there's always a lot of activity. We stayed on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.