We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively spot in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DO Placa Reial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DO Placa Reial to your Saves list
Hotel DO Placa Reial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lively spot in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Traveled to Barcelona May 2014 and stayed at the Hotel DO Placa Reial for 3 days. It was quite easy to get to via taxi from airport and reasonably priced fare. It is a small hotel with the entry several steps back off the street and when you check in at the small desk they offer you a drink and are very friendly. The hotel is nicely decorated and the room was large with an even larger bathroom. It was clean and very comfortable. Our room had a small balcony off the bedroom and bathroom facing a square lined with restaurants and bars. For some this might prove to be a problem as the night activities start late, go until the morning hours and is very joyous. There was a restaurant connected to the hotel and we got a little breakfast brought to the room. It was very good. It was very conveniently located to the tour bus stops and was walkable to many sites.
I would stay at this hotel again and would absolutely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    44
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
216
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our room was immaculate, well designed and very comfortable. Great design and finishes,
The location is also great - in a lively plaza, which opens out onto the middle of Las Ramblas. There are loads of mini streets and alleys leading off the plaza which are also well worth exploring.
Many people had complained about the noise - our room overlooked the entrance to the plaza, we were aware of a murmuring from the plaza, however it was not a loud enough noise to disturb us.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here a weekend and the hotel was fantastic. Perfect location, very clean, pleasant staff they will make your stay be fantastic. The views are wonderful and the noisy of the city don't disturb you due to the windows can be blocked.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a few days here on business. I have been to Barcelona several times over the last 2 years and this is the best place I have stayed so far. The rooms have a wonderful view overlooking the square with windows and shutters that easily block the noise when you are ready for some quiet time. Top notch service and a very pleasant staff. I will be staying here again during my next visit for sure.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fancy Gap, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently spent 3 nights there prior to a cruise. Was upgraded to room #47 which is probably the best in the hotel because of its location as the only room on the fourth floor. Very quiet and has a plunge pool on the patio. Couldn't get up enough nerve to try it in November! Every positive thing that has been written by others is true. Staff and service were fantastic and the meals at the downstairs restaurant were superb. Perfect location.

Room Tip: Always ask if #47 is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely eligant, perfectly located, service was terrific. Just a few blocks from the beach very close to museums and entertainment. Restaurant right on the plaza very good food. Just down the street from a great food market.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from one of our best hotel experiences in all of our years of travel at the Hotel DO Placa Reial! The staff were so welcoming and helpful. You really feel as if you are staying at the home of really good friends or family. Our room was located above the hotel entrance, which was nice and quiet at all times. The room was a good size and had everything you could possibly want, including very comfortable beds, fluffy duvets, lots of pillows (including a pillow menu), a fridge with a variety of free drinks that are refilled each day (and more often with just your favourites upon request), a safe, TV and a large bathroom. In the bathroom were Molten Brown products to use in both the bathtub and large walk-in shower. There were also bathrobes and slippers supplied to use during our stay. The included breakfast was another wonderful experience to look forward to each morning. During the winter months, you can take breakfast in the basement restaurant or in your room and we greatly enjoyed both. The breakfast menu had a wide choice of hot and cold food and drinks. Everything was freshly prepared to order and so yummy. I really enjoyed the scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh fruit mix, fresh baked pastry basket, fresh orange juice and thick Spanish hot chocolate. The location of the hotel is also very beautiful in a palm tree lined square. Everything you could possibly want to see and do is a short walk away. However, if you do want to travel further around Barcelona, the Metro is only a few minutes away. This hotel and it's staff must be very highly praised for all they did to ensure the best possible experience. We look forward to returning and will be recommending this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if you want to ensure a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel DO Placa Reial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO Placa Reial

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO Placa Reial 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Plaça Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Plaça Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Plaça Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boquería market, the Palacio de la Música concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Güell, Santa María del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel DO Placa Reial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Placa Reial Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DO Placa Reial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.