We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Calm Refuge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DO Placa Reial

Save Saved
You added Hotel DO Placa Reial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DO Placa Reial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 518 hotels in Barcelona
Torino
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Calm Refuge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were were so happy to have this well-located refuge in a busy city. Our room was large, extremely quiet and comfortable, with a great bed, plenty of room for storing things, and a lovely view of the Placa. We liked that the toilet could be shut off from the rest of the bathroom, and, in a town where so many people smoke, the lovely room spray was most welcome. Breakfasts were unbelievably delicious and generous and fortified us for long, art- and architecture-filled days. (Art lovers shouldn't miss the Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya, as well as, of course, the works of Gaudi and his contemporaries.) As others have mentioned, the welcome beer/Cava at reception was gratefully accepted, and the before- and after-dinner snacks were special treats. Despite reading everything provided, we never did master the complicated lighting system, and, except when one of us inadvertently turned on lights in the middle of the night, we found the room generally dark at night though very sleek. This was somewhat offset by two comfortable chairs under a reading lamp and a bright desk lamp, but we needed our flashlight to see in the closet. While the receptionists were extremely personable, none were able to translate our interests into exciting, walkable restaurant recommendations. (The hotel's restaurant, La Terasse, was recommended and a disappointment as we hoped for a traditional paella and got only rice and some not-so-tasty lobster for quite a lot of $$). We did bump into two restaurants that might have been interesting had they not been closed for Christmas Eve, the last night of our stay, but we now know they are there.

Room Tip: Room 32, even though next to the elevator, was completely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
181
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here this month. We stayed for 4 days and could easily have spent two weeks with Hotel Do Placa Reial as our base as it is a good central location to walk to many attractions and has easy access to buses, taxi's and metro.
The staff were warm and friendly and put us at our ease from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. On one occasion I couldn't get the safe open. I phoned reception from my room and within 10 minutes it was repaired.
We had a lovely spacious room with balcony looking out onto the square with a lovely en suite bathroom, separate shower, large bath and toilet. Our room had a huge bed and I had the best nights sleep I have had in months. There was also a free non-alcoholic mini bar in the room. Extra touches such as a couple of tangerines or strawberries dipped in chocolate and a weather forecast for the following day were left in our room which made us feel spoilt.
We had no idea what to expect from the restaurant and chose the tasting menu. It was the best meal we had during our stay. Each course was a feast for the eyes as well as the tastebuds and we were very happy to shake the chef's hand and thank him in person after our meal.
We enjoyed a visit to a jam session at Jamboree Jazz Club just a few steps from the hotel and next to that is a venue for Flamenco dancing.
Thank you Hotel Do Placa Reial, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great boutique hotel with excellent location in Barcelona. We were coming from Marrakech (stayed at the Riad Monceau hotel which was pure gem) and on our way back to UK ;the stop we made at this lovely boutique was a good surprise.
Our room was overlooking the Placa Reial and was spacious and beautiful. Staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
All in all a great experience even though our stay was very short. Will definitely return and spent couple days there if given the chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Everything about our five nights at this hotel was perfect. Room, facilities, food and especially staff was top notch. The location is perfect for exploring the sights, the shops and the port side. The extra little touches (fresh fruit to the room, complimentary mini bar and excellent breakfast) made our stay extra special. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was stunning. Staff were friendly and humble- especially considering they were waiting hand and foot on two teenage girls! The location was 3 mins from the local metro station and directly in the hub of the old city. The square itself is absolutely beautiful and after 3 days walking around Barcelona I can safely say we never saw anything that compared. But I think it was the freebies that really seduced us: biscuits, chocolate covered strawberries, macaroons and a free minibar were part of an array of little treats left for us over a period of 3 days. Oh and did I mention that the sauna was free?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went for a long weekend to this lovely hotel. Perfect location and very close to las ramblas in Barcelona, ideal to explore the city. Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and nicely fitted rooms and perfect service. A wonderful roof terrace to overlook la plaza real. Amazing weekend!!
Thank you very much .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I just spent the week-end at Hotel DO. I've been to Barcelona many times but this hotel was the best I've stayed in. Overlooking the Placa Reial we were treated to an amazing spectacle from our balcony on Sunday morning of Los Gigantes gathering in the square to celebrate Sant Fermin.

All the staff were great (especially Louis from Streatham!!) and the breakfast to die for (especially the Xoca - doughnuts filled with creamy custard!). We'll be back - very soon if I get my way. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel DO Placa Reial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO Placa Reial

Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO Placa Reial 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Plaça Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Plaça Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Plaça Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boquería market, the Palacio de la Música concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Güell, Santa María del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel DO Placa Reial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Placa Reial Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DO Placa Reial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.